We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A bit commercial but still fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto)

Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto)
Book In Advance
$45*
and up
Half-Day Cruise to Positano from Amafli
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit commercial but still fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We hired a private boat for our family to cruise along the coast for two hours and our boat launched here to let us off to take the tour. We had two kids with us so they enjoyed the experience of getting into another boat, being in a cave and the underwater scene. To be honest there was another smaller grotto that our private boat went into somewhere between Positano and Praino that was much better - much less commercialized and the brilliant blue of the water was stunning. Best part, we had it all to ourselves! (it was very similar to the one in Capri but very secluded and natural to the surroundings without the commercialization). Only wish I knew the name to recommend but if you hire a boat off the main beach in Positano, I imagine it would be included as you cruise towards Amalfi.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonniebelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    160
    132
    100
    95
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was a memorable experience to cherrish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Grotto dello smeraldo was a amazing experience, water is so clear and how the sunlight can change the colour of water...its a must to see!
Children will also have fun time watching the Grotto and enjoying a small ride in the boat in the grotto.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tripadviser2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful but small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

the cave was nice with natural light creating visual delights on the water, but a bit smaller than expected. Luckily, the tour guides were funny

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank goujai2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay, but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We deliberately skipped the Blue Grotto on Capri after reading some negative experiences. We had a local driver for a trip down the coast and he asked if we could like to stop at the Emerald Grotto. He did not over-sell or pressure, but we all decided to join in. I would agree with some of the other reviews about the limited size and how the boatmen milk the time to their advantage. Still good fun and it won't break the bank at 5 Euros. Just don't expect too much if you've seen other similar sites.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The grottos along the Amalfi Coast must be seen to believe. The history people, food and natural attractions are like visiting heaven.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto) also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing