We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Gem in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfectly situated in the main Piazza Mulini of Positano, Hotel La Bougainville is the ultimate score while discovering this amazing village. The personalized service, attentiveness along with cleanliness is above and beyond. Our room, #10, was the perfect size including a large bathroom with charming cobalt tiles with the best view of the iconic mountainside..all while relaxing on the terrace and in bed! We look forward to returning on our next Positano vacation!

Room Tip: Room #10 - Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at this small and beautiful hotel for almost one week. We had a nice view to the sea in our room! The location was perfect with only 2-3 minutes to go to the beach! The staff at the hotel was very friendly, and they helped us with booking of nice restaurants, or suggested other place to see! They also gave us very good tips for trekking routes. It was nice and clean in and around the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Talvikparken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here a week and don't want to check out tomorrow! The hotel is a perfect location; easy to beach and bus and restaurants. The hotel is simple. not grand, however has all the important things like beach towels for use, electric adapters we forgot, breakfast included, good air conditioning and free wifi for unlimited devices that actually works! But the best part of the hotel is the 24 hour staff at front desk. They helped us with dinner reservations, ferry and bus schedules and more!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony; million dollar view of Positano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a really lovely stay in Positano at the Hotel La Bougainville. The room was bright and fresh and we had the sea/Positano view which was really nice. Our room was on the small single lane road which runs through Positano about 1.5 floors up from street level. In the morning we would get out on the balcony and watch the town spring into life, it was was really nice watching the sun slowly hit the buildings at sunrise. It was nice to walk up and down this narrow road to view all the shops and restaurants whilst taking in the wonderful views.The facilities and bathroom were great , nice big shower and great sink with plenty of space on the vanity top (for wife's make up etc etc). In the morning we went down to the breakfast room which was again nice and bright. The staff were terrific,polite and courteous and Raphael made an effort to remember your coffee order for the following days. All the staff at Hotel Bougainville were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Andrea was a gem and very caring, when my wife was feeling sick, she brought her up some hot Camomile tea and lemon. Also she was a great help in helping us 'checking-in online' for our following day flight on the hotel computer and I would definitely stay here when we visit again one day. The only small area that I would say could be improved would be the breakfast variety but don't let something as small as that prevent you from staying at this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 24 which gave us a great view of the sea and Positano and of the streetscape and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable friendly staff ready to assist you with any questions. The location is the best near the beach, restaurant, and shopping. The panoramic views of the sea is breathtaking. The food at the breakfast buffet is good but the selection is just average. I have stayed at other hotels where the breakfast buffet was more upscale. Go and enjoy you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for the room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrina39081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hotel La Bougainville is in the heart of Positano. Its not too far of a walk from the docks/beach and high enough to have a nice view of the town and sea. The staff was very helpful. We only stayed one night and missed breakfast - took an early morning bus to Nocelle and hiked back to Positano (highly recommended).

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have a more of a town view, than a sea view, but beautiful either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beads97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We loved our stay in Positano and Hotel La Bougainville made for a wonderful place to rest. We stayed 4 nights in an ocean view room with balcony which I would highly recommend. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings and looking out to the ocean. The room was clean and simple but comfortable and the shower was quite large. The staff was friendly and gave us good recommendations on where to eat. The entrance to the walking path down to the beach is just across the way from the hotel which was ideal for us spending our days at the water. We would gladly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family visiting Positano!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emily_jsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#9 of 38 in Positano
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $99 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing