We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What an awesome find! A colleague of mine recommended this hotel and it was perfect for all of our needs. The room was a good size and our bathroom overlooked the breathtaking view of Positano. The best part about this hotel is that it's right in the middle of town. I felt really sorry for the people having to walk up the hill in the blistering heat. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I also like the fact they had free WiFi. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room facing the view of the ocean. You won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_MC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    207
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
79
347
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hello,
My husband and I went to Positano for the first time in mid August in 2012 and we stayed at Hotel La Bougainville. My expectations from hotels in this region were not that high anyways; however I happened to love this hotel at first sight. We had a room with a balcony and we could see all the people passing by, the beautiful Positano slope and being at a walking distance to the center was amazing. The staff at the reception was extraordinarily kind; we had very nice recommendations for restaurants and some really good local tips. The bathroom was very clean (something that is so critical for me to rate any hotel). The only thing that could improve was the "breakfast" quality, taking into account taste of international people. A big THANK YOU to everyone in this hotel for making our trip such an unforgettable memory... (Asli & Bora Denizmen)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASLI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. The location was perfect and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everybody. The only suggestion I have is to ask for a front room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for front room with view and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusValentineNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just up from the main square very secure clean hotel. Small room with ensuite . I had a room without a view but is quieter. Room with balconies are better but in demand. Breakfast room has view but a shame you can't eat or drink your own food in there. Reception staff exceptionally helpful and speak English and print out bus and boat timetables for you.. Banco at bottom of hotel steps. perfect location as you can wheel baggage to the door from bus stop. If arriving by boat it would be a long way with many steps to get to the hotel you would need the Positano porter vehicle.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel to the beach and shops was great. The wifi was fast and much appreciated. We expected to only have a small room as we only paid for a double but the room itself wasn't too bad in size (however for some reason they decided to do an extremely rough paint job and only paint the bottom half of the room which looked terrible) There were a number of let downs though. When we arrived, there were a number of staff around yet none of them offered to assist my husband in carrying all the heavy luggage up the stairs. When we got to our room, the bathroom was not clean by any standards. The whole bathroom was covered in an inch of dirt, hair and dust and our toilet seat had clearly not been cleaned. We asked for it to be re-cleaned and we came back and nothing except the toilet had been wiped. The only other complaint is that the breakfast is very minimal and they do not replenish the food once it has been eaten. Get there early if you want to have something other than corn flakes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaZzA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djbob
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was a little concerned about the lack of parking in Positano, and the difficulty of driving there. Marella had advised me that Parking was guaranteed at Garage Russo across the street, at a special rate of $25 Euros per day. The drive to Positano has some great sights, but i cant say i thoroughly enjoyed the tight roads, tight turns, incoming buses, passing Vespas, etc... Upon arriving i left my Car at the Russo parking lot, and vowed not to take my car until it was time to leave two days later, which i did.

Check in was a breeze, and we were shown our room. The rooms look dated a bit, although my spouse thought the rooms had character, so i guess it all depends on your view. I was a bit disappointed to see i did not have sea view. Somehow looking at the website i thought all the rooms had that view, which often happens if the hotel is well designed.

Breakfast was correct. Not exciting but it made the job.

Staff was great and helpful.

Location is incredible. You go out of the hotel and you are right in the action. YOu walk 50 feet and go down the stairs, and now you are in a great passage with shops, vendors, stores, etc... all the way to the beach.

Value for the price cannot be beat.

Room Tip: ask for a Sea View. We did not and ended up with a room with a tiny window that looked at the cliffs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel was clean and perfectly located. It is one minute away from the pedestrian walkway leading down to the beach and all the main restaurants. It is about a five minute walk to the bus stop that goes to Amalfi, Sorrento and Salerno. The hotel does not have an elevator, but has stairs leading to the lobby and another set of stairs to go up to the rooms. The rooms aren't sound proof but the majority of our stay was quiet. My advice is to get a room facing the ocean. We did and it was amazing. The breakfast, as others have noted, isn't a full hot breakfast, but is perfectly adequate and got us through to lunch easily. The staff is warm and knowledgeable, and helped us get bus routes to Ravello and Amalfi, booked our boat to Capri, and gave us beach towels when we went down to the beach. Great value, would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey1123334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vittoria
Vittoria
#24 of 38 in Positano
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 38 in Positano
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing