We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean friendly hotel with magnificent views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in room 20 for 4 nights, 5th-9th May 2011. Positano is built on very steep hiils, so be prepared to do the hard climb or pay a porter with a motorised trolley. We took our time, it is not that hard and that why we came. The hotel is operated by a charming lady with equally charming staff. Beautiful room, clean, comfortable and quiet when it was sleep time, from 2130 on for us. Nice breakfast and pretty good value for what is around. We went to Capri, Pompeii, by bus and rail (don't miss a bus trip on the coast road, your heart will be in your mouth) and also up to Nocelle by bus, magic. This was pure Amalfi coast for us. Restaurants and mini markets for every taste and wallet

Room Tip: Pay abit more and take a room with a terrace, go to the tabac shop, get some Morelli coldbeers and e...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Bougainville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 586 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel was great!!!! We had a very nice, clean and comfortable room with balcony overlooking the street and sea. Definitely worth trying to get one of these rooms! The location was great....centrally located, literally 5-minutes to the beach. The staff was excellent and as hospitable as anywhere I have ever traveled. Marella was able to help us out tremendously when the airlines lost one of our bags! Thanks again for that!

Great place to stay, would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a balcony with Seaview
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights here. The room was very comfortable & we had a fantastic view. The room was kept spotlessly clean. Large, bright bathroom, with a great shower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, clean, neat, comfortable. Will definitely be back again same time next year. Can't say enough good things about this place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rixie701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is well situated in Positano, close enough to get views and an easy walk into Positano town. The staff at La Boungainville were absolutely fantastic, so friendly and so knowledgeable. They were one of the most helpful and friendliest staff we met throughout our 4 weeks in Italy. The room was exactly how it was explained, we only wished that we had spent the extra and booked a larger seaview room. The breakfast was beautiful.

We got our dates mixed up and even though we had asked to stay and additional night (which they kindly accommodated) we had to advise them a little later on that we had made a mistake and were supposed to be somewhere else. They were very understanding and helped us with useful information on ferries to Amalfi etc.

We would highly recommend the Hotel La Boungainville to any future travellers, once you stay here you will know exactly what we mean!

Thank you to the friendly staff, you were incredible. We hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a seaview room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in Hotel La Bougainville for 7 nights and were made to feel very welcome. We were greeted with the news that we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony - and we were very glad that we were. After a long day at the beach (a short walk away) or out on the mental (!) but absolutely breathtaking roads, it was a delight to return to a well stocked mini bar that could be enjoyed while looking out to the classic Positano postcard view. All the hotel staff were warm and friendly and provided us with some great recommendations for both restaurants and day trips (the boat trip to Capri, while quite pricey, was an absolute must). The rooms were cleaned daily and were left immaculate. The rain shower was wonderful and had the best view you could have while washing!

The hotel is in a great location, close to the centre and beach. If you want a fantastic meal, check out Restaurant Max just 2min down the path towards the coast. The beach was fairly busy and a sunbeds for two for the day will set you back €25.

The Amalfi coast was better than we could have imagined and if you can brave it, we recommend exploring by car (Ravello and Pompei all definitely worth a visit). Note, parking is €20-25 per night.

The hotel was the perfect place to stay for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sights2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Bougainville in the days leading up to our wedding in Positano. My parents also stayed and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The owners and staff were lovely and friendly and incredibly helpful - they helped us with several things throughout our stay and went above and beyond to make our stay special. Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful tiled bathroom and my parents' room had a lovely large balcony looking out onto the town. The hotel is really central for the centre of town and the sea front and great value for money and I hope to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $98 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing