We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what kind hosts and lovely views - a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione Casa Guadagno
Ranked #25 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Very welcoming and kind hosts, very hospitable, wonderful coffee, helpful in finding a restaurant, spotless room and wonderfully dark at night. Lovely view over the sea and Positano from the balcony. You really couldn't ask for nicer hosts. NB The steps to it from the car park we used, and from the B&B to the beach, are VERY steep & with a suitcase, very hard to negotiate - but that's true of all accommodation in Positano.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemilia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Casa Guadagno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was the third time we stayed at Casa Guadagno. We like the quiet, out of the main town surroundings. Situated halfway up between the beach and Sita busstop "Bar International", the vertical challenge of going either way remains doable by foot.

The clean, no smoking rooms are big enough, the sea overlooking balcony a gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I had a great trip to Positano and stayed at the quaint Pensione Casa Guadagno. The location was just a bit outside of the main city center, but after all the pasta we ate it was a nice (and needed) walk! The only room available during our time frame was not in the main building but about a few minute walk down to a neighboring building. The room itself was very large and clean (with private bathroom and a beautiful balcony looking over the water!). The only problem was that the room was next to a family, and the walls are so thin we were woken up very early by all the bustling around. However the ladies that run the hotel went above and beyond with kindness, and that combined with the amazing views and space of the bedroom made this a really nice place to stay. The breakfast was very modest, only a croissant/breads and coffee/juice but I don't really expect a full spread in small european hotels.

Overall, it was very reasonably priced, with a decent location, run by very nice people, but the mornings were not as relaxing after being woken up with all the noise from the next door rooms. HOwever, this could very well be different if you are staying in the main house.

Positano in general, is a place that should not be missed!!!!

Room Tip: book early and ask for a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

So many other reviewers touched on the views and the charm, both of which are amazing. My favorite part of Pensione Casa Guadagno and the reason I continue to return to this beautiful hidden gem is that I always feel like family. I have stayed at the Pensione three times, the first in October 2007, then again in September 2008 and again in October 2010. I always request a room in the dependence as that's where I stayed originally and loved it. The rooms are part of a larger home and the wonderful Vanda will make sure you are taken care of. She even lent us her hair dryer when ours wasn't working, and lent me some bug repellent when the mosquitos attacked me. :) Annalisa and the rest of the staff will bring you lovely cappuccinos on the main terrace at breakfast along with cornetti and nutella, yum. The hotel is a convenient walk to a little market and lots of restaurants, and just a 10 minute walk down stairs to the small beach in Positano. Grazie millie a la famiglia Guadagno!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed here with a friend on the first leg of our holiday in Italy - we stayed here 4 nights. It was a beautiful place to start with and we were very happy with the choice I made in Casa Guadagno.

The family team who run it are welcoming, helpful and friendly - Annalisa is the main person who speaks English. The room was of adequate size for two friends (it's not huge, it's clean and comfortable, with its own bathroom, very good value for pricey Positano). Free Wifi access is very convenient, and really I think a must these days for accommodation. Gorgeous terrace where breakfast is served.

The balcony in the room was such a treat with its view of the ocean, and is big enough for a table and two chairs, great for a nice drink and relax at the end of a day (or any time really). The Fornillo area is not in the main area of Positano, and I actually think this is a bonus. The street that the hotel is located on is really a footpath, so there is no traffic - this means that the pensione rooms are quiet and calm at all times of the day (no traffic noise or fumes).

And yes, there are stairs (and it's all about the stairs and hills in Positano - it's part of the charm - and the views ;-) ), and it may be tricky to find the first time - my experience is that this usually happens every time you reach a new place. Once you've worked the location out, it's very close to the bus stop (Grotta), and I suggest that if you are arriving via the Sita bus and get off at stop Chiesa Nuova that you do take the local bus to the Grotta stop. There are really no footpaths on the main street (Via Pasitea), and trust me, dragging your luggage downhill on the road is not something that you'll enjoy.

So yes, recommended and I would stay here again without hesitation. Enjoy Positano!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We had a quadruple room, which offered plenty of space for the four of us, and a large terrace with view to the sea. The staff is very nice and helpful, and speaks sufficient english.

Very nice breakfast terrace with view of the city and the sea. There is free wireless internet access in the small lobby and the breakfast room. No connection in the rooms.

Positano is a wonderful and amazing city, with more stairs than roads. There are two beaches. The closest one is 397 steps away from Casa Guadagno. There are very nice restaurants only a couple of minutes from the pension.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianWulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is the perfect place to stay in Positano. Every room has a lovely private balcony with a beautiful view of the sea. Spotless, well appointed, and comfortable. Our room was small but didn't matter. It was perfect. Bathroom was nice size and well equipped. Great shower. Breakfast was served to each table...freshly made croissants, bread, juice, and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. The young lady who worked there was very helpful, even with her limited English and our nonexistent Italian. She gave us all the information we needed to get around and catch trains and buses. Could have been difficult to find but someone else gave great directions on Tripadvisor. Follow those. Be prepared to walk up and down lots of stairs. Wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suewhite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dimora Fornillo
Hotel Dimora Fornillo
#32 of 53 in Positano
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rosa Dei Venti
La Rosa Dei Venti
#3 of 30 in Positano
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday House Gilda
Holiday House Gilda
#2 of 53 in Positano
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Casa Guadagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Casa Guadagno

Address: Via Fornillo, 34/36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $106 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Casa Guadagno 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Casa Guadagno* was opened in 1957. Since then, the guesthouse has been family run, offering its guests the possibility of spending their holiday in a relaxing, pleasant and friendly atmosphere. In Italian 'Casa' means 'Home' while Guadagno is the surname of the family running the guesthouse. So, you really are treated as one of the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Casa Guadagno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Casa Guadagno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing