We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2007

A real little hot spot in Positano, we stayed there for 10 nights on our honeymoon, and overall, it really was a wonderful place. Great food, service, views and the hotel itself is spotless. Breakfasts were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for their friendly and accommodating staff. Positano is very hilly, so it’s superbly located just steps from the beach, yet on the third floor in the hotel, you feel so much higher up. Don’t even consider booking a room without a sea view! The website is extremely reliable; it does exactly what it says on the tin. My only reservation, and that's at a push, was the price, it's a bit dear at €250 a day, but it's worth it for a special holiday, and we did go at peak season, and have a spectacular view, so this is to be expected. It was the perfect location to watch the religious festival in Positano mid August, especially the boat launched fireworks display at the end of festival time, or simply just to have drinks on your balcony at night!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JWP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buca di Bacco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

Having just returned from a 10 night stay at the Buca di Bacco I can say that it is a truly gorgeous place to stay.

From the first moment we walked through the front door to the final walk out on the last day we were treated extremely well. The staff were always on hand to help out and always there was a very cheery Hello!

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary whilst we were in Positano and the hotel very kindly sent a bottle of Prosecco up to the room and a lovely note of congratulations - such a lovely touch and something which my wife & myself will remember for a long time to come.

The view we had out of the room was just so perfect too - we'd seen pictures before we left, but they just did not do the place justice. It was a very difficult place to leave!!

We will most definitely return to the hotel for another slice of perfection!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Si-and-Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Husband & I just returned from a trip to the Amalfi coast which included 2 nights in Sorrento and 3 nts in Positano. Buca was a splendid hotel...greeted at the door, room was ready when we arrived at 1pm. We booked a superior seaview room with terrace which was clean and perfect. When we opened the curtains, the view took my breath away. We were in Positano during the busy holiday of Ferragosto (sp?). The hotel was kind enough to get us an incredible table at their restaurant for that night. My only complaint (that everyone warned us about) was the amount of walking required. Since the hotel is right on the beach, we had to walk uphill (more like a vertical climb) up to the town in the 90-100 degree heat everyday. At least we walked off of the gelato that we indulged in! All in all, Positano is a magical place and Buca was a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steallm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

A travel agent booked us a room at the Hotel Buca de Bacco as it seemed the whole of Positano was booked out at the end of June so we arrived on the Amalfi Coast with no preconceived ideas. We knew it was steep but our drive from Salerno to Positano still amazed us as the car travelled around impossible corners and u-bends. Positano itself was almost vertical and as we descended we were pleased not to be in any of the hotels on the higher cliffs. Positano's "square" is actually only a very busy intersection and we regretted not using the porters who offered to take our bags as "across the square" to the Buca actually still involved a lot of stairs. As to the Hotel Buca di Bacco, I cannot believe this hotel is only rated 2 star. We simply loved it, loved everything about it, and the staff working there were warm and helpful and always obliging. We were hoping for a sea view room but what we were given took our breath away. We were taken to a beautiful outdoor garden walkway on the second floor that led to a shuttered room. I can't begin to describe the view that looked out over the sea and beach when those shutters were flung open - just magical. The room was very clean and well appointed without being lavish with an excellent air conditioner. It had an airy islander feel about it. The bathroom was similarly appointed with all that was needed, clean but not overly luxurious. Outside were two deck chairs and table, a lovely spot for a drink, to read or simply watch the daily life of Positano below. Breakfast is served in the most gorgeous Terrace with views equal to our room. Breakfast was generous with hot and cold foods available. This same Terrace was open all day and it is a beautiful place for a drink, a cup of tea or a light evening meal, something we did often in our five day stay. I would recommend to all to catch the little local bus for a euro or two to high up in the town (the bus does a continual circuit), then wander down slowly stopping in at many of the little businesses hidden away up there and maybe to stop at one of the restaurants for lunch. This is a lovely way to enjoy the whole of Positano. One of the waiters casually invited us to his village high up in the hills for dinner and we happily went there on one of our evenings and had a delightful time with a number of people from different hotels. Although the ferries to Capri do leave from Positano, the ferry to Amalfi and connecting bus to Ravello also leaves from here and if your time is limited I would highly recommend taking this spectacularly scenic trip. The Buca supplied free internet access on a half-hourly ticketed system which was generous and greatly appreciated. My only gripe, which is small, is that a closer watch needs to be kept on this to prevent a number of adults obtaining consecutive tickets for a child to play games endlessly, thus providing themselves with a babysitter but blocking use to adults wanting to check flights, funds etc. This is a sparkling clean hotel with extraordinarily excellent staff. The hotel is so close to the beach, the ferries, the shops, transport and restaurants while being quiet and due to the steepness of Positano, providing spectacular views. If you are thinking of going to fabulous Positano, don't hesitate to book the Buca di Bacco. You won't regret it. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed in Positano for two nights and this hotel was truely wonderful and a mere stones throw from the beach. Our room had a private terrace overlooking the sea and had all the facilities you'd want (with a nice big bathroom) and great air conditioning (important for the hot weather). The service around the hotel was great and we ate every breakfast and evening meal at the American bar/restaurant which was very, very relaxing. The waiter Raffaele was extremely courteous and accomodating - remembering all our choices from the previous night (creatures of habit etc). We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Positano. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank M&E_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We went there on a recommendation from my parents. What a bustling location!! We loved being right on the beach, loved the patio off of our room and listening to the waves at night and in the morning. The room was not large, but had everything we needed, plenty of closet space, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, satellite tv, well stocked mini bar, extra blankets and pillows, etc. There was free internet in the lobby and the breakfasts had plenty of great options. Francesco was so gracious and wonderful at making suggestions and reservations for us. The restaurant at the hotel wasn’t our favorite, I think there are much better options, but the view was lovely and the service was great.

The next time we go to Positano I wouldn’t even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelersfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

This is a nice hotel, conveniently located at the beach in Positano. I will start right off with the only negative comment. We had booked a room with a balcony, and when we checked in, the manager gave us a terrace room, which was clearly not as nice as a balcony room, and the bathroom vented right out onto the small sitting area outside the door. My husband returned to the front desk to get us the room we had booked, and the manager made a big show of telling him he was upgrading us to a "superior" room, which was 325 Euros per night (our room was to be $250 Euros), and he would give us the room for the same price as the one we didn't want (allegedly, 250 Euros). He told my husband we might have to move a different room the next day because someone had specifically booked the room we were being put into, but we would still get the expensive room for the 250 Euros price. My husband profusely thanked the man for his generosity, and we did pack up and move again the next morning. A few days later we happened to see the rate card at the front desk, and realized the original room they tried to put us in was only 240 E per night, and the "superior" room was actually the 250 E per night - what we supposed to get anyway.
Financially, we didn't pay any more than we expected, but we were angry that he seemed to think we weren't too smart and tricked us and we felt cheated.
Other than that one nasty incident, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel provides free Internet for the guests (you sign up for a half hour session at the front desk). There is also a great breakfast included.
The rooms were clean and well appointed, however don't put anything directly under the air conditioner because in both rooms we were in, the air conditioners dripped (a lot) if the balcony door was open for too long.
The hotel restaurant was excellent. We ate at the two other restaurants adjacent to the hotel on the beach (facing the water, to the right), and both were also excellent. If you like seafood, the offerings are pretty unusual!
The beach itself was a disappointment - it isn't sandy, but rocky, and is littered with cigarette butts and broken glass. I was a bit surprised by the number of children going barefoot on such a beach, but I recommend sandals!
We enjoyed a visit to Capri and Amalfi by boat, however I don't recommend the "Emerald Grotto" - a serious rip-off. It is a tiny one room cavern for which you have to pay an additional 5 Euros to tour on top of the tour boat fee to get there (it is near Amalfi). You sit in a rowboat and listen to the guide make cheesy jokes about the geographical location from which you hail. Then he gives you a couple of sentences on why the color of the water is blue/green, and points out how different stalagmites resemble objects. The high point of the 8 minute tour is the corner of this small room where someone placed a few dolls underwater and this is supposed to be a scene of the baby Christ with the Virgin Mary, and Joseph. The guide referred to this as the Grotto's "miracle". Then he requested a tip from everyone. There - I just saved you 5 Euros plus a tip!
Amalfi itself is a nice town to visit - and I recommend the local Limoncello - an after dinner drink made from lemon rinds, alcohol and sugar syrup, served chilled.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BirchIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $250 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing