We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable hotel in a great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Belem, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Confortable hotel in a great location ”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The perfect location in Positano, right at the beach, within walking distance (and a few steps) of the main spots. We got a room with sea view from the balcony and there was space enough for us. It was simple, nice and confortable, but bed, pillows and sheets could be better. Finally, the staff was very friendly, especially Roberta and Mario (from the front desk), also Salvatore (breakfast).

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MuriloAzevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    159
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
198
776
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in the summer of 2014. Since it's the high season for European vacations, I think this gave us a unique perspective on the service of this hotel. It's easy to be attentive when the hotel is empty but it's not so easy when it's 100% full for a whole month. As soon as you walk into the reception area, you're greeted with a smile by a staffer. Everytime we needed something, they were right there with a smile. The first morning we slept in and we missed breakfast by 20 minutes. When I called downstairs to see where we could get breakfast outside of the hotel, they said not to worry because we will bring up something for you. In 5 minutes 2 butlers were at our room with a huge breakfast spread of pastries, jams, fruits, coffees and cappuccino to our room and this was all complimentary. It turns out, if you don't want to leave you room, they will put together a spread for you from the breakfast that day and bring it to your room. Talk about breakfast in bed! I was floored! We had a huge room with a balcony overlooking the beach and the coastline. The bathroom is huge compared to other hotels in the area and it had a tub, a separate shower, and full vanity. The room had two large closets for hanging and a TV that had 200 channels and the ability to switch languages from Italian to English to French. The accommodations were beyond extraordinary and just a few steps to the beach! We are already planning on coming back next year. Best hotel in Positano, you should not stay anywhere else. We definitely won't go anywhere else!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a room with a balcony, it overlooks the cliff and is well worth it during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmbangel710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Buca di Bacco for 4 nights in August 2014. It is the best location in Positano since it is right off the beach and near the town's small port (to facilitate day trips to other towns on the Amalfi coast and Capri). The rooms are extremely nice and every detail has been thought of. We did not get a sea-view room as no more were available when we booked and I did not regret this once given how nice the room was, the exceptional service, and the great views from the restaurant where we had breakfast (great selection for European breakfast) and dinner some nights (very tasty- especially the pastas). To think we almost stayed somewhere else just to get the view--- it would have been a mistake.
The staff was truly exceptional. Upon arrival, we spoke for about 10 minutes with Mario from the front desk and it felt as if all of our questions were answered and our whole stay was planned. They reserved a boat tour to Capri for us which we would highly recommend (a highlight of our stay). They also reserved lounge chairs at nearby beaches for our relaxing days, organized transportation to and from the Naples airport, and informed us how to take the ferry to Amalfi and what to see. We didn't need to lift a finger or spend a minute researching, which is such a welcomed change from most trips. All with a great smile on their faces and very strong english (as compared to other hotels we visited in Italy). Thanks Mario... and the whole front desk team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Honeymoon trip around Italy. We arrived by local Ferry from Sorrento and being laden with luggage were relieved to see the hotel is only 2 minutes walk from the port and located right at the bottom of the cliff side town.
As soon as you walk into the reception the place has a good vibe about it. Our room was a Classic Double with a small terrace and sea view. The room itself was a good size, very clean and comfortable with bright crisp décor and a small but nice terrace overlooking the beach and town.
The staff were all really friendly and professional throughout our stay and especially helpful in helping us at check out by ordering luggage porters and private cars to take us to Napoli Airport. The Restaurant terrace is also very nice overlooking the beach and town - we had our evening meal there on the 2nd night and the food was very good. Breakfast also offers a good quality buffet selection.
Overall we had a really good experience here, the hotel services and staff were excellent and Positano is a beautiful place. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Two days of paradise, highlighted by the most wonderful location in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, where the staff caters to your every whim, the food is divine and the comfort of our room made me wish for more time in bed. The view of the sea can't be beat. Enjoyed wonderful pizzas, gelato, seafood and salads on property. Dinner on the upper deck is in a wonderfully romantic setting overlooking the sea, but we arrived in t-shirts and shorts at 10pm and were welcomed heartily. Top notch in all areas of hospitality. I would not hesitate and can only dream of staying here again someday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband left his glasses at a restaurant in Capri. The staff made several calls to the restaurant and arranged for them to send them by ferry to the hotel. Then they fed ex'd them to us, free of charge. Couldn't have been more professional or helpful. Beautiful views from sea view rooms.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

3rd visit to this hotel, and once again we loved it. It is in a great location, so close to the water, and numerous restaurants right at your doorstep. Mind you, the bulk of our five night stay we ate at their restaurant, not just for the handy 10% off, or the delicious food, but for the wonderful staff, Francesca remembered us from our last visit, which was wonderful, and all the others were very attentive as well. The breakfast was once again delicious and a highlight of our stay, a special mention to Chantal and Salvatore for their wonderful service.

We had room no. 28 with a beautiful little balcony to sit out on, with comfortable deck chairs. Beautiful later in the night just to sit back with a glass of wine! The room was always cleaned beautifully.

But, my only concern, is that I have never noticed on my previous two visits how noisy not only our room seemed to be, but the Positano beach too. Now this is not the hotels fault, but you would think if you returned to your room after 1 in the morning, you would have the decency to take your heels off instead of walking around in them for half an hour (room above us) and not be scraping chairs across the floor. This happened four nights out of our five night stay. The noise from the room above is very clear, including all bathroom noises, very distracting! as is the people walking up the stairs (room 28 is opposite stair well) and it is quite noisy in the quiet of the night. I would add as well, even though there did not seem any more people around Positano as in our previous visits, it was a lot more noisier from the beach during the night as well.

Don't get me wrong, these points do not detract from the hotel one bit, just that in future we would most likely pick a quieter time, not late July.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Escapader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing