We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I recently stayed there and was very pleased with the service I received. The staff was amazing- every request was noted, granted and responded to. The front desk staff was wonderful and friendly. The breakfast was more than amazing with homemade items, cheeses, meats and more. It will surely not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    152
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
183
739
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days at the beginning of our honeymoon and everything was wonderful. It's right on the beach, and the view from our balcony was amazing. The room was very clean and we had no issues at all. The best part about the hotel was the staff, everyone was friendly, helpful and very charming. They helped us with everything from making ferry reservations to coordinating our transfer from Positano back to Naples. I highly recommend Buca di Bacco, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here July 2014 with for 6 days. We got a deluxe room with extra big terrace. This is a rock star quality room, Marble bathroom, stunning view, cutting edge large screen TV.
Most days after the delicious breakfast we walked to the ferry area picked a place to go for the day and got on a boat. Every afternoon we would stop at the deli up the road pick up some wine, Prosciutto, cheese and sat out on our terrace on our lounge chairs. Every night we chose one of a dozen restaurants at beach level. If you plan on staying here and exploring Positano I would suggest training on a treadmill on steep incline for a few months

Room Tip: Get the big terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed July 2nd-5tth and had two rooms next door to one another (one for the kids). The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and inviting. The terraces made for lovely views and a nice place for a snack or glass of wine. The location is perfect. It could only have been made better if there was a pool as the beach arrangements were not great (this had nothing to do with the hotel). I hope we have a chance to return, maybe as a couple as it is very romantic.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved, loved, loved Hotel Buca di Bacco. Could not believe the beautiful sea view from the balcony and the quality of the room for the price. Located right on the beach and in the heart of all activity. Lie on the beach, take a boat ride, have an amazing dinner or just relax with an appetizer and cocktail as you watch local artists painting scenes of Positano. Everything is right there. You can't go wrong staying here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GolferBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here July 9th-12th and loved our room. Request Room #43 if you have the chance. The terrace looking out over the sea is breath taking. It is close to everything in Positano, all the shopping, restaurants, beach and boating. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good. Location is perfect, rooms are great and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Friends recommended this hotel and we chose it instead of a hotel our trip consultant recommend mid-way up the mountain. We were very glad that we were at the bottom in the middle of everything ... shopping, restaurants, boating, beach, nightlife. If we were in the middle of the mountain and had to walk up or down for all of our activities, we would have been exhausted! The room was a classic, so in the middle, and it had plenty of room with a nice bathroom and king bed. It had a smaller balcony than the Superior room but we enjoyed it and did not notice the difference. We had the option to move to a Superior room, but we liked our location and chose to stay put. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We also took at cooking class at the restaurant and it was one of our most fun adventures on our trip! It did not hurt that while we were in cooking school, Woody Harrelson and his crew came to eat at the restaurant and he took at photo with the chef and told us all hello.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRWKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing