We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value. Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved, loved, loved Hotel Buca di Bacco. Could not believe the beautiful sea view from the balcony and the quality of the room for the price. Located right on the beach and in the heart of all activity. Lie on the beach, take a boat ride, have an amazing dinner or just relax with an appetizer and cocktail as you watch local artists painting scenes of Positano. Everything is right there. You can't go wrong staying here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GolferBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    151
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
182
738
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here July 9th-12th and loved our room. Request Room #43 if you have the chance. The terrace looking out over the sea is breath taking. It is close to everything in Positano, all the shopping, restaurants, beach and boating. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good. Location is perfect, rooms are great and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Friends recommended this hotel and we chose it instead of a hotel our trip consultant recommend mid-way up the mountain. We were very glad that we were at the bottom in the middle of everything ... shopping, restaurants, boating, beach, nightlife. If we were in the middle of the mountain and had to walk up or down for all of our activities, we would have been exhausted! The room was a classic, so in the middle, and it had plenty of room with a nice bathroom and king bed. It had a smaller balcony than the Superior room but we enjoyed it and did not notice the difference. We had the option to move to a Superior room, but we liked our location and chose to stay put. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We also took at cooking class at the restaurant and it was one of our most fun adventures on our trip! It did not hurt that while we were in cooking school, Woody Harrelson and his crew came to eat at the restaurant and he took at photo with the chef and told us all hello.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRWKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here in June this year, and couldnt fault this hotel.

The staff were amazing in Particular the breakfast staff - who always made us feel so welcome. We loved every minute of our stay here. We had a partial obstructed view, and there was absolutely nothing obstructed from sight!

The location of this hotel is incredible with everything so close to the door!

We loved our stay here, and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous stay at this hotel in Positano. The location cannot be beat...you are steps away from the beach with perfect views of the hillside. We were lucky enough to get a balcony that overlooks the beach so we had no complaints in that department. The only thing that was less than perfect was the size of the bathroom, which could not fit my husband and I in it at the same time. The shower was tiny! But that was a minor discomfort given all the wonderful things about the hotel including the staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in four different hotels while in Positano and Buca di Bacco was our favorite. Charming, nicely furnished, very pleasant staff. We thought the price for a sea view was very affordable compared to others. We did not have any noise concerns even staying so close to the beach, in fact we kept our balcony doors open a lot. Great location for a boat ride or a day on the beach. Lots of shopping and artists along the sidewalks. The daily complimentary breakfast was nice. They reserved us a spectacular table in their restaurant too. Try the mozzarella grilled in lemon leaves!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtrip022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at Buca di Bacco. We booked a Classic room and it was fantastic; very clean and spacious with a touch of quirkiness provided by the extravagant headboards. Our room had a fairly large terrace which overlooked the Mediterranean and the cliff of gelato coloured houses. Location was perfect, very close to the beach and easy access to the cobbled walking lanes which take you around Positano. Whilst the hotel is expensive, it's definitely worth the additional cost for the location and view it provides.

Room Tip: The corner suite was large and sunny with one big terrace which overlooks the ocean and two small ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#10 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing