We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We love, love, loved our stay here. The staff was extremely helpful not to mention the ocean view breakfast every morning. My husband and I were contemplating on which hotel to choose since we had never been to Positano before, and once we arrived we were so glad to have chosen Buca di Bacco. They are located within 5 min walking distance once you get off the ferry. We took the ferry from Naples and once you get to Positano you'll see that everything goes up, so you'd need to walk (sandals or tennis shoes a must). We had 2 big heavy luggages so our 5 min walk to Buca was quite simple compared to other couples arriving.
They have 2 good restaurants also overlooking the ocean. Our room was gorgeous, we had our own balcony overlooking the ocean as well as 2 front lawn chairs where we were able to relax. Amazing Stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaTijiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    141
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
166
673
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a beautiful hotel with a stunning view and only steps from the beach! My husband and I loved our stay here and will absolutely be coming back. The customer service was amazing and something we really appreciated. We also had dinner multiple times at the restaurant as the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarisaWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Where do I begin? We had a beautiful room with a balcony / terrace, overlooking the beach, with a stunning view. The room was beautifully decorated, with the very best amenities. The service was second to none! They also had an amazing breakfast buffet overlooking the beach!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor. Upgrade to a balcony room. Ask for Room # 36! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great location & great staff. Once you get over the not so grand entrance the rest of the hotel is amazing. Wait until you see the breakfast area & the spread of food. Great place for honeymooners. Thanks Buca di Bacco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at the Buca di Bacco with my extened family for my 50th birthday and had a wonderful time. I stayed in a standard room as this was all that was available however they were of a good size, very clean, nicely appointed and had a breathtaking seaview with a french balcony. The breakfast which was included was delightful as were the staff. The reason why we chose this hotel was because it did not have too many stairs (like many of the properties in Positano) and was smack bang in the middle of everything. Would definitely recommend although the one "fault" was that it did not have a swimming pool so that may sway some guests towards an alternate property.

Room Tip: Always pay for a room with a view - wouldn't be the same without it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0ves2travel2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, clean and lovely in every way. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The view from our room was breathtaking. A room with an ocean view is a must and worth every dime. The restaurant provided an amazing meal with seating overlooking the ocean. The location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying all of Positano without being crowded with tourists. You are steps from the beach and the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. Take a day trip to Capri arranged by the hotel. We simply can't say enough about Hotel Buca di Bacco. By far our favorite hotel in Italy.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a view are a MUST. You can't miss out on the breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Bucca di Bacco for three nights on our honeymoon. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean ( absolutely worth the money!). The view is breathtaking! Everything about this hotel is perfect. The location couldn't be better, right on the beach. We had breakfast on the terrace and watched all the boats coming in and out. We were greeted every morning by the sweetest waitress who remembered our names and what we wanted to eat. We cant wait to come back, we truly fell in love with Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing