We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemingway, Steinbeck and Yehudi Menuhin Got It Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hemingway, Steinbeck and Yehudi Menuhin Got It Right”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

They're not bad referees for a resume. They all stayed here and Steinbeck's response to the Nobel congratulatory note from the owners of the Buca at the time says, "I'd rather be sitting in front of the Buca. That would be better than a prize." High praise indeed but still well deserved. Welcoming, friendly, excellent restaurant and a great breakfast on the most beautiful balcony, clean, well apportioned and fitted rooms - I could go on. I need to add - a bit on the high side for price but we knew what we were getting in to.

Room Tip: The lift is a little slow so ask for Level 1 or 2 so you only need to use one lift, not two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    160
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
202
786
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Buca di Bacco was perfect from start to finish. When you arrive someone from the hotel meets you to take your luggage since there are no cars allowed in that part of the town. The staff was english speaking and very courteous. They allowed us to check in early which was very helpful. Our room was accessible by elevator and had it's own outside terrace. Inside there was a spacious room with plenty of storage for luggage so you could unpack and feel at home. There was a writing desk, a television, a queen sized bed, and a very spacious bathroom with a large bathtub and plenty of toiletries. Beach towels were also provided in case you wanted to go to the beach which was directly below the hotel, just a few steps away. The restaurant was amazing, and there is also a bar where you can purchase gelato, alcoholic beverages, and soft drinks or water. There is a fragrance diffuser in the hallway of the hotel, and the scent is called "Mellograno" - it smelled amazing and we even bought our own smaller version to take home, so now our bathroom smells like Buca di Bacco :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanniegraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

So many places to choose from in positano, but this has to be one of the best, nice service, right on the beach, well situated and good, clean rooms! No hesitation recommending this hotel! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipperAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is simply marvelous! We had an executive room with a view to die for! A huge room and an extremely large balcony overlooking the ocean and town. After traveling around Italy, once we hit Positano we decided to cancel sight-seeing (except for one little excursion along the coast line) and just relax and enjoy the hotel/view/town. Lots of excellent restaurants, including the one at the hotel. Would love to return one day. One word of caution, you cannot take a car down to the hotel. We had a car and driver driving us from Naples train station and he dropped us off and we walked down to the hotel, while a porter delivered our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, great location & nice rooms. We would recommend that you take a room on the third floor, if the people above you are heavy footed or drag furniture it will disturb you but it's a minor inconvenience. We would come back any time.
Park at the Migliaccio garage at Hotel Palazzo as this the closest parking for a rental car ($25 E/day) and you will be doing lots of stairs with your luggage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frenchconnections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First off, the location is unbeatable. Right on the beach, a 2 minute walk to the ferry port and next to all the restaurants and shops. Even if the hotel was not good, I'd recommend it for the location alone. But the hotel IS good, very good. Service is excellent, everyone is very helpful and friendly. Everyone from the reception staff to the maids and handymen all have a greeting and a smile for you. The room (we had a classic double, I think its the most basic room and least expensive room they have) and it was fabulous. It was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large as was the "small" (their words) terrace with a fabulous view. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did have drinks at the Terrace Bar which was a lot of fun. If you go to Positano, you have to stay here!

Room Tip: Not sure there's a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just stayed at Buca di Bacco for 8 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room was an executive room with lounge area and terrace and well worth the money spent. Our son stayed in a double with a view and was very happy too (although he was able to come and spend time with us which gave him privacy and space!). The hotel staff are very obliging and helpful. They recommended a restaurant and car service for a trip to Amalfi and Ravello and we had a wonderful day topped off by a very special meal at Villa Maria in Ravello. The views from our terrace were superb and the hotel is in the best position to take advantage of the beach, the better beachside restaurants and all boat trips. Pay the extra to get a porter to deliver your bags. We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 36 is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing