We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Buca for 6 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect - right on the beach, just off the marina, very few stairs to climb! We stayed in room 11, which had a big balcony, and faced the water - just gorgeous. The front desk staff is great; Fiorella and Mario took excellent care of us. Fiorella provided great restaurant recommendations and even more importantly, gave us the shortcut routes to get to them! We ate dinner in their restaurant 3 nights that we were there, the food was so good. Their mussels are especially fantastic. Breakfast is also very good - especially if you have a sweet tooth. They have all the pastries you could ever imagine. They also always had fresh mozzarella, fresh cacciota cheese, and tomatoes & basil, which I could never get enough of. They also have a fresh orange juicer, which was fantastic. Chantal & Salvatore took very good care of us each morning at breakfast. They made our stay very comfortable and pleasurable. When it came time to leave, Mario made arrangements for a car to the airport and for our bags to be sent to the car - they make it very easy on you. Also, the maid service is fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the bay - you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nads8481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    140
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
166
671
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I travelled in July. We landed in Rome, rented a car and drove the four hour drive to Positano in the centre of the Amalfi Coast. You need to be a confident driver to manage the drive through naples and into Positano which thankfully my husband is. We proceeded to the hotel taking in the breathtaking Vistas along the way. We found the parking garage easily but having a car was an unnecessary added expense. Once in Positano we had no desire to leave. We were booked for four days and enjoyed every moment of it. The Hotel was perfect. Great location, Great views, and comfortable. We would highly reccomend it both it and Positano for couples looking for a romantic vacation spot. The reviews are reliable and accurate. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. We accepted their reccomendatiosn for restaurants and had the best tables at each spot and enjoyed the most exquisite cuisine and service. Fiorella, Lorenzo, Catello and Salvatore all deserve special recognition for adding to our experience. To truly enjoy Positano you should look forward to and enjoy walking. It is a great honeymoon destination. Also to our surprize we happenned upon a fantastic nightclub lounge venue just steps form the hotel and beach. Although the action in the club didn't start until 1 am the restaurant above it was a perfect spot to enjoy a bottle of wine or aperol spritz apres club! The partying didn't end until 4:30 am every night of the week. It was a fantastic stay at a fantastic hotel in an exquisite location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in July 2013. We were in room #46 with a balcony and sea view. They view is fantastic!! We felt like we were living in a postcard. The room was beautiful, and the balcony was priceless. The breakfast buffet was wonderful! We had lunch and dinner at the hotel, and the food was excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We mainly interacted with Mario and Chantal, and both of them made us feel like the most important people of their day. We highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was the bomb. We had been touring Italy 11 days before we ended in Positano and while Positano is a sleepy little town on the Amalfi Coast, it was just what we needed to relax. The hotel and our room was gorgeous. Mostly Americans at this hotel from what we could tell at breakfast. The breakfast was so delicious!! The beds were the most comfortable we had on the entire trip. The terrace over looking the sea and beach was spectacular. The bathroom and hotel room were beautiful. All the amenities were perfect. You are right on the beach and although the beach is rocky, it was pretty. We rented a boat for the day, which you can do right on the beach and it was fun!! You must rent beach chairs for the day as the hotel does not have a private beach, although the hotel does provide you with beach towels. We also hired a private driver to take us to Ravello for the day, all this was arranged by the hotel front desk; they were very helpful. Be prepared to walk up many steep steps to get anywhere, especially to all the shopping. Great hotel with the most spectacular views in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaliasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late June 2013. We had room 30, which is a double with a sea view balcony. The view is worth everything they charge, which was considerable, but a lot less than if we had made reservations for July or August. The hotel is small, a showplace of colorful Italian tile.....on the floors, in the bathrooms, in the common rooms, in the restaurant. It is steps from the Beach, and our room had a desk, mini bar, hair dryer, big shower/tub, table and chairs on the balcony (about 12 feet long and 5-6 feet wide) louvered doors so that you could have privacy and still hear the surf, comfortable bed and pillows. But the best part is the view....it overlooks the beach, and the hillside to the right, with the buildings marching down to the pier where the ferries dock. It is centrally located, the staff is very accommodating, the breakfasts are in a common room with access to a patio that overlooks the beach, the selection of breakfast foods is also excellent. And, for a special treat, we scheduled the cooking school....what a fun time. If you have the time, don't miss this treat....you make your dinner and enjoy it with your fellow students and take home a hat, apron and cookbook...to say nothing of the great memories. My only question now....when can I go back?

Room Tip: A balcony with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank india1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great stay. his hotel is all about making its guests comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good. We did not have a chance to have dinner in the hotel, but we heard it was very good. Lorenzo and Roberta were superb and helped us in so many ways explore Positano and choose great places to visit and eat. We only wish we could have stayed longer than the three nights. We can't wait to visit again. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIDGE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We selected the Hotel Buca di Bacco for our first time in Positano and it did not disappoint. Every aspect of this hotel was fantastic from the views of the sea and beach on our terrace to the great morning breakfast with some of the best homemade cakes we have ever had the chance to enjoy. The staff is all very friendly and goes out of their way to assist with any request. The hotel and rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. We recommend trying to get a room on the first or second floor of the annex building; rooms 42 to 48 have nice terraces with perfect views of the sea. We had the chance to participate in the cooking class offered by the Buca di Bacco restaurant which was an amazing experience. We not only learned some great cooking tips but we were able to sit down and enjoy one of the best meals of our trip prepared by ourselves that included wine. My only comment about this hotel to be aware of is that they currently do not accept American Express as a method of payment. The hotel needs to do a better job informing customers prior to their arrival that American Express is not accepted. It could be a real issue for an individual that may only carry an American Express card when they go to check out of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#3 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing