We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We followed the reviews....No 1 in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We followed the reviews....No 1 in Positano”
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were extending our stay from being in Ravello and took the respected views of the TripAdvisor. We booked the hotel for three nights, all was great, Francesco (front of house) was alert and happy to perform miracles.
Thanks to the restaurant staff the meals were excellent and the fish superb.
We don't think you will go wrong BUT BEWARE...you will need you safe shoes on for the path to the hotel....it is safe but steep and only good for the abled rather than the disabled. But once you reach the Hotel thru the splendor of the small shops and the cafe bars and reach the sea..... it is a pleasure.

One tip...get the bus to take you around the circuit of the town (1.35euros), you can get off anywhere...we did...got to the top and had a fab journey walking thru ther small street seeing all the excellent fruit shops and clothes shops...bought some optical glasses (very italian) and then made our way slowly back to the beach...What a lovely afternoon...Drinks on the hotel terrace where the sun is last to go!! Dinner at the restaurant and to bed in our delux room, clean spacious and with a wonderful view.....We loved it and I think it deserves it's No1 award...which is proudly displayed on the reception desk as you arrive...Well done and thank you.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hills....well it's all about the hills in Positano
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WindsorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    156
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
191
763
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

This is not quite a luxury hotel - nearly. It probably does justify its 5 stars however. It is;

- Very well situated ..near the seafront, in the middle of town
- The staff are all friendly and helpful
- The bar and restaurant are good.
- It exudes charm and warmth.

I think you would only have a problem if you were looking for a fancy pool/lounge scene .. wrong town for that I think ...

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We just left Positano and yearn to be back! The hotel and the staff are absolutely wonderful! The location is the best and the restaurant is very enjoyable. Had wonderful pastry/desserts which a compliment to the chef/owner got me a private lesson with Carla, one of the owners (very gracious woman who previously had made many of the delicate desserts) and she shared some of her secrets with me! I'm hoping she might consider opening a cooking school. We walked the streets and did peak into several other hotels-Really, don't waste your time. Buca di Bacco is the best with wonderful service, quiet, beautiful, large rooms. The halls have orchids to adorn your walk, and the location is absolutely wonderful! I had been booked at another hotel, and then read some concerning comments(trip advisor) and asked to be changed to this hotel. So glad we did. After seeing where we would have been and looking at several rooms, we are so happy that we read the reviews and canceled our previous hotel. Buca di Bacco made us happy in every way!

  • Liked — clean, wonderful staff, wonderful food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wisc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband & I stayed at Buca di Bacco during our very first trip to the Amalfi Coast/Positano & what a treat that was!
The hotel is, literally, steps from the beach & we splurged & booked a sea view room. We were incredibly pleased with the views & large terrace which overlooked the water. We found ourselves reading out there & both nights left the door open so we could listen to the waves tumbling over the rocks.
The rooms are clean, spacious, up-to-date, tastefully done.
The staff at Buca di Bacco were very professional but at the same time warm, lighthearted & cheery.
Buca di Bacco is also quite easy to get to, which is a huge bonus in Positano. We took the train from Firenze to Naples, then another train from Naples to Sorrento & then took the bus to Postiano. The bus drops you off at the top of this cliffside town & there is a main street (apologies, the name is escaping me) which goes right down to the beach & right to Buca di Bacco. This was such a relief for me as I had a rather large & heavy suitcase to deal with. By the way, be sure to take the second Positano bus stop (when coming from Sorrento)...
Buca di Bacco welcomed us with a complimentary happy hour cocktail voucher (so nice after the long journey!) & their breakfast spread was the best we had in our 3.5 weeks in Europe. Crossiants, cheeses, meats, scrambled eggs & bacon (yes, really!), pastries/cakes, capuccinos, etc.
Last, if you go to Positano (even if you don't end up staying at Buca) have dinner at Ristorante Bruno. It's about a 5 minute walk back up the main street & doesn't have amazing sea views but it certainly makes up for this with the food. Their gnocchi was excellent as was the wine & service. Quaint place, reasonably priced.
Oh, and, we only had 2 nights in Positano & this was way too short, especially when you consider how long it takes to get there. We did a day trip to the hillside town of Ravello & if you want some beautiful ceramics (the stores ship anywhere in the world) it's not to be missed. I sorely wish we'd had time to see Capri.
One last piece of advice: we did the train/train/bus route on our way in & it was an arduous journey. On the way out we took the ferry from Positano to Salerno & then walked to the train station & took the train to Rome. THIS was the way to go. So peaceful to sit on the ferry, gaze at the towns & skip the windy, unpleasant bus ride. The Positano ferry is also incredibly close to Buca di Bacco.
Note though, that the ferry is seasonal. We took it in early April but perhaps it only runs April - October?

  • Liked — Location, views, friendly staff, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — A bit pricey with the weak dollar (but still worth it).
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Buca di Bacco in August of 2007. The hotel was amazing and included stunning views of the ocean and picturesque town.

We were greeted like family at check-in and promptly shown to our rooms. The room we stayed in was absolutely amazing with a wrought iron chandelier, an expansive private terrace with two lounge chairs overlooking the ocean visage, and a huge bathroom. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub (very useful upon returning from the beach) and included polished fixtures that looked immaculate. The TV was satellite and included several English language channels, as well as many other languages.

The hotel offered free internet in the lobby only, but it was fine to sit on the comfortable lobby furniture and have an impromptu chat with the desk staff while checking email. The staff was fantastic- everyone from the breakfast staff to the desk staff to the cleaning staff. We never came across one staff member who did not greet us with a smile. The breakfast spread was fantastic, offering a wide variety of bread and pastries, fruits, cereals, eggs, and other breakfast staples of Europe. The coffee choices were great, and waking up was made all the more sweeter by sitting with a cappuccino overlooking the ocean.

As far as the locale goes, it is fantastic (albeit expensive). There are some very unique stores for both men's and women's fashion very nearby the hotel. Just up the street, you can find some excellent art galleries, glassmakers, and other stores of the artisan vein. Being Italy, most of the restaurants naturally are tops, and we ate at both the hotel's fantastic restaurant and the charming pizzeria one level below. Personally, I never went to the beach, but it seemed that the free main beach was grossly overcrowded and dirty during the day. However, at night, it played host to a great big band concert during our stay. The town is nestled among some very steep cliffs, offering stunning scenery; some of my favorite photos I have ever taken were captured in Positano.

There are a few excursions you can take around Positano. We arrived in the city via driver, but it is also possible to arrive from Sorrento, Salerno, and other locations by ferry or hydrofoil. We took a private boat trip a little ways down the coast and were able to jump straight off the boat into the azure water, a truly amazing experience.

ONE word to the wise- there is no access to the hotel by car. You can only drive into the town so far, and the rest of the way, you must walk. This is great because it preserves the pedestrian air of the town, but a royal pain when dragging two months' worth of luggage (and new Italian clothes) down the steep streets. There are several porter services that can handle the luggage, but many are overpriced, and one of our suitcases was damaged by the porters. That was rather annoying when paying a Euro per bag, however, I realize that is certainly not to detract from the hotel itself.

Positano and Buca di Bacco are quite possibly the closest to paradise on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Liked — STAFF, view, food, rooms
  • Disliked — the accessibility options
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Cskopje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

In 2000, my husband and I took a 16-day trip to Italy. We saw Rome, Positano, Florence, and Venice. Positano is reached by taking the train to Naples. DO NOT make the mistake that we did, and take the bus(es) to Sorrento, and then down the steep hillside to Positano. Take the hydrofoil from Naples instead. Our 4-day stay in Positano was at the Hotel Bucca De Baco. All the rooms at the Bucca de Baco face the Tyrannian sea, and (we were there in July) when we got to our room, and opened the door onto the private terrace, I thought that I had died and gone to heaven! The room we had was very large, with an in-room safe, and a beautifully tiled bath. The place is a bed and breakfast, which not only includes an extensive breakfast buffet, but ALSO includes ANYTHING else which you may not see, but can request. The chefs there will make you anything, to order! The dinner restaurant, which overlooks the beach, is absolutely divine, and we ate there almost every night. If you visit Positano, you will be hard-pressed to find a better hotel, than the Bucca de Baco. It is simply, THAT GOOD!

Helpful?
14 Thank MsYackieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco from 15-18th October 2007. It was the most wonderful hotel in a splendid location in Positano. And the views were just breathtaking, whether from my room or from the breakfast terrace!!

To add to this, the staff were just so wonderful and helpful especially in helping me deal with the complete inefficiency and ineptitude of Alitalia who had managed to "lose" my bags on a flight from Rome to Naples! The hotel even has free internet!

So even though i had no baggage for my entire stay in Positano, the staff were just so wonderful that i managed to not really notice my dilemma and was able to have a great time there. On the last day when i checked out, the hotel had been great in making sure that Alitalia had my bags waiting for me upon my return to Rome later that day! Phew!

I would like to encourage anyone who is going to the Amalfi Coast for a holiday to definitely stay at this hotel in Positano for the hotel experience of a lifetime! I can't wait to go back one day and stay in this hotel, hopefully with my luggage! Lol!

  • Liked — The location and the superior quality of the hotel & its staff
  • Disliked — Could have been slightly easier to find - luckily i had a map and can ask for directions in Italian!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lizm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing