We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for an exceptional experience in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for an exceptional experience in Positano”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Positano April 9 -11. We found the hotel staff at Buca di Bacco to be extremely friendly and helpful, and we loved our room. The view off our spacious deck was incredible, we looked over the beach a few stories down and over the church dome to the colorful homes on the opposite side of the ravine. The room was quite large as was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet had lots of options. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    162
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
206
797
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited in April 2013. The hotel was in a perfect location for enjoying Positano. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the beach and sea. The service was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

From check-in to check-out, staff and service were superb. Add to this a great location right at the shoreline and a really good restaurant and its hard to find anything to complain about. We also took. Cooking class while here with the head chef, and it was unbelievably great.

Room Tip: Be sure you are OK with the stairs and ramps up to the street as cars can't take you all the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSchwenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our 2-night stay at the Buca di Bacco was incredible. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the staff helpful, the view from our balcony was beautiful, and the location was ideal, with many great nearby restaurants to choose from. Breakfast was included in our stay, and it was outstanding. Internet was not available in the room, but available in the reception area. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco on the recommendation of our local travel agent. It was a recommendation we were very pleased we took!

We stayed for 2 nights and had a fantastic experience. The walk down to the hotel from the 'square' with luggage was a bit further than anticipated, but well worth it. (Would suggest call ahead and get a porter).

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were of high standard for any traveller. The views from a room with verandah view are worth seeking out.

Do yourself a favour, and book a few days here if in Positano.

Do the walk up the mountain to get a feel for the beauty of this region

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with view of beach and French verandah.....you won't believe the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedbaek, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Situated in front of the beach, service the best lamb and risotto we have had since long - and with great wine, sunshine and a pleasant and informative waiter. We certainly enjoyed our lunch. As we stayed in Sorrento, we did not experience the Hotel Buca di Bucca itself, but the building, the interior decoration and the rest rooms could easily turn our focus upon Positano for our next trip to Italy. Thank you, very much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjarneNyboJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is review long time coming - stayed here twice in the summer periods. Truth be that anyweher in Positano is not cheap but this place was reasonably priced, the rooms where some of the best I have EVER seen and the servce was a real PLUS. IU would highly recommend it and I would definately go back. You will avoid any long flights of stairs and are close to the ferries to get to Capri/Sorrento/Amalfi. And if all you want is the beach it's infront of you or music by the rocks which is a 5 min walk along the beach. Too easy!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank JulietRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing