We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bucca De Baco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Bucca De Baco”
Reviewed January 1, 2008

In 2000, my husband and I took a 16-day trip to Italy. We saw Rome, Positano, Florence, and Venice. Positano is reached by taking the train to Naples. DO NOT make the mistake that we did, and take the bus(es) to Sorrento, and then down the steep hillside to Positano. Take the hydrofoil from Naples instead. Our 4-day stay in Positano was at the Hotel Bucca De Baco. All the rooms at the Bucca de Baco face the Tyrannian sea, and (we were there in July) when we got to our room, and opened the door onto the private terrace, I thought that I had died and gone to heaven! The room we had was very large, with an in-room safe, and a beautifully tiled bath. The place is a bed and breakfast, which not only includes an extensive breakfast buffet, but ALSO includes ANYTHING else which you may not see, but can request. The chefs there will make you anything, to order! The dinner restaurant, which overlooks the beach, is absolutely divine, and we ate there almost every night. If you visit Positano, you will be hard-pressed to find a better hotel, than the Bucca de Baco. It is simply, THAT GOOD!

Helpful?
14 Thank MsYackieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    160
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
202
785
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco from 15-18th October 2007. It was the most wonderful hotel in a splendid location in Positano. And the views were just breathtaking, whether from my room or from the breakfast terrace!!

To add to this, the staff were just so wonderful and helpful especially in helping me deal with the complete inefficiency and ineptitude of Alitalia who had managed to "lose" my bags on a flight from Rome to Naples! The hotel even has free internet!

So even though i had no baggage for my entire stay in Positano, the staff were just so wonderful that i managed to not really notice my dilemma and was able to have a great time there. On the last day when i checked out, the hotel had been great in making sure that Alitalia had my bags waiting for me upon my return to Rome later that day! Phew!

I would like to encourage anyone who is going to the Amalfi Coast for a holiday to definitely stay at this hotel in Positano for the hotel experience of a lifetime! I can't wait to go back one day and stay in this hotel, hopefully with my luggage! Lol!

  • Liked — The location and the superior quality of the hotel & its staff
  • Disliked — Could have been slightly easier to find - luckily i had a map and can ask for directions in Italian!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lizm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

If you want to enjoy your time in Positano, stay at this hotel!!! I had originally booked only one night at the hotel, but extended it to two after a bad experience on Capri. I am so glad I did! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is more than accomodating. Francesco, the manager, is so welcoming and helpful. The hotel has an excellent restaurant on site as well. I cannot say enough positive things about Buca di Bacco!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kmm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

This hotel was the last on our Honeymoon. We enjoyed everything about the Buca Di Bacco, from its location the friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful, lot of different things to chose, you never left hungry. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

What a shame we had only planned one night at this hotel in Positano. It was a little difficult to find and we ended up going around the town twice before we found it but it was well worth it. We had a magnificent room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The night we were there, there was a violent tropical-like storm and it was quite a sight to watch the lightning over the town and beach from our balcony. Positano is a very quaint place and we were very disappointed we hadn't planned more time there. The hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only drawback was the location of the parking garage and the expense of leaving the car there plus the high cost to use the porter service. However we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CLL040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We have stayed at Buca di Bacco in Positano many times and have enjoyed it more and more. A great location, right on the water’s edge. The staff is excellent with that extra touch, “tocca si piu”, that makes you feel special.

Special mention goes to the concierge, Francesco Di Martino, and our favorite waiter, Arturo Terminiello. Francesco can help you with whatever plans you have. Arturo can suggest delightful meals and quickly discovers your preferences. With all the great restaurants in Positano, we seldom eat anywhere else.

  • Liked — Food, staff and rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CamilloR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed three nights at this hotel and loved it! The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast on the terrace was to die for. We paid extra for a room with a sea view and it was worth every euro.

Our room had its own balcony and the view was stunning. The first morning there I came out of the bathroom into the spacious bedroom and it was one of those "is this for real?" moments."

We parked our rental car at 20 euros a day but if we go there again, and we hope we do, we'd go by train or bus.

There is a real contrast in Positano between all the little restaurants and boutiques and the fact that within minutes you can be walking in the bush on tracks up into the hills above the town.

We found eating not as expensive as we were lead to believe as a couple of nights we ate salads with items bought from one from one of the small local shops and fruit stalls along with a bottle of wine bought likewise. You can eat cheaply even in Positano.

Fresh beach towels from the hotel were a nice touch.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gavatron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing