We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place is incredible!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Talamo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Talamo
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place is incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place has to be a hidden gem!! I cannot believe for the price the view we had! This was the best place ever!! We had this view where we sat on our balcony every night with cheese wine and bread and watched the sun set. It was also in a perfect location with so many great restaurants literally right next door. My one piece of advice is if you take the ferry in to find porters to take you to the hotel- we did not search much and ended up walking up 350 steps with huge pieces of luggage! Quite the adventure but it was a team building exercise! It was literally at the top of the steps. I loved this place! Cant wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristenOneil26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    76
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
194
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Credit where its due..the views are fantastic and are essentially what one pays for. The hotel is located close to the city centre (around 5-8 min walk). The room we were staying in was Mulini room 10 was too small to be a 'superior' room even though we booked and paid for one. Would recommend taking the rooms on the corners as they are bigger. Washrooms including the shower were small. Our shower head was broken. The beds are old and creaky which was not half as bad as when i found a dead lizard under my pillow one of the nights. The breakfast is very basic and we ended up eating out every morning. The staff though were helpful so no complaints there. Would I recommend this place? Probably not esp during the high season when you would pay a fair bit for just a view.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are presently guests here. We are preparing to go to dinner. All of our clothing is crumpled in our suitcases. The hotel cannot provide an iron. The hotel does not have a single, solitary iron.

Tonight is meant to be a special night, but instead, we are forced to wear the clothes that have the least crumples, rather than the clothes that we actually want to wear.

It may sound like a small thing, but this is very irritating. Yes, the view is lovely. But that doesn't compensate for feeling that like you look like a homeless person. Honestly, what sort of hotel doesn't keep an iron? Surely they have been asked for an iron before. This is baffling and very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Poitano and stayed here for a week. We loved the staff, location and the view. The room itself was very functional, but very workable. There is a family environment and the staff is there to make you feel comfortable. We loved it here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMac1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent one week at Talamo and enjoyed our stay. First the positives, the view is fabulous, it is in a moderate walk to all of the towns attractions. You can walk to the streets to the water or the 300+ steps. Service was adequate and staff was friendly. Downside is the cramped bathroom, shower in #2 was so small, the soap bar was a reminder of traveling in the late 60's at small hotels. Wifi was poor in the room and better in the lobby. No face/washcloths. Breakfast was good, tiring of the same thing after 6 days! I don't have a comparison, of other places in town, but I would check around.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fremont5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schomberg, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

It would be hard if not impossible to top this great family owned and run hotel.
It is spotlessly clean, in fantastic shape and the staff are all caring and knowledgeable.
The rooms are spacious, and the breakfasts superb.
We found the location great, and a real bonus is that while the view is stunning, the balconies are shaded so you can actually sit outside on the sunniest days and enjoy it.
The only downside of our stay here was that eventually, we had to depart.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Mesmerising location and helpful staff. The view from the room is something to kill for and we just couldn't get enough of it. The staff also gave us helpful tips on how to go around the town and what to see. The location also offers a good amount of privacy from the tourist hub-bub.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ssj2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#30 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#25 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Magia
Villa Magia
#33 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Talamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Talamo

Property: Palazzo Talamo
Address: Via Pasitea n. 117, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Talamo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Talamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Talamo Positano
Palazzo Talamo Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing