We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel with great sea views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Talamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Talamo
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel with great sea views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at this small pretty hotel about halfway down the road through the town and a 10-minute walk to the beach. Our room was small as was the bathroom but both were spotlessly clean, and as with all the rooms here we had a balcony with a spectacular sea view. The air conditioning was efficient, there was a minibar in the room and the large shower even had a seat. The first three hours of WiFi internet are free, though the hotel charges for longer use. A big plus for us was the arrangement Palazzo Talamo has with one of the parking garages - we had a guaranteed place and one of the garage staff drove us with the luggage to the hotel and dropped the car off in front of the hotel when we left. Do not even think of coming to Positano by car without guaranteed parking, it will be a nightmare! The garage charges €20 a day but it is worth it. There was a reasonable choice for breakfast, with coffee to order. Two negatives: first, the soundproofing is not great (we were next to the reception and could hear people coming and going into the early hours); second, the hotel charges €5 for each personal item put in the minibar which seems unnecessary (we avoided this by not doing so, but we would have liked to).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
199
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Palazzo Talamo is a very romantic and quaint hotel where one senses the special care taken by the family members who work there. The room where we stayed in had lovely peppermint green curtains which added a soft feeling. Very clean, very neat. We got engaged in Positano and the hotel went out of their way to assist my fiancee to plan this surprise complete with nail appointment, dinner arrangement, flowers and candles. The breakfast room is sunny and bright and the food excellent. What a lovely venue!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in positano for 4 nights and chose to stay up on the mountain to get the beutiful views. The locatoion of this hotel was really excellent. Either way you walk ALOT in positano, but this hotel was sortof central. A 15 min walk don the hill to the beach via all the shops or a 10 min walk down the stairs next to the hotel. We loved the fact that this hotel was near about 6 really great restuarants and still in the main area but not in the centre where its a little overcrowded.
The room itself was nice, typical italian style, clean and decent bathroom. the shower was hot and strong but took a long time to drain so you landed up standing in a foot of water which was a little yuk but really not an issue for us. we ha da small balcony with a sea view but the view was slightly obstrcuted by other buidings but our the best thing was to chill on our balcony at about 5-7pm when your exhausted and resting before dinner so really that was a plus. the breakfast buffet was average - we were disappointed that it was in an enclosed room with a huge window rather than outside in the beautiful heat. The food itself was also average but not rerally that bad for europe buffet breakfast standards. Thge staff were friendly and helpful although sometimes the language barrier was an issue in getting accurate advice for travelling. My only downside was that because u have to pay to sit on chairs at any of the beaches (or actually pay to eter some beaches) it would have been ncie to maybe spend a few nights at a beach hotel that had this included, also if we were down on the beach we may have spent more time in the water - but the daunting walk but up to the hotel. having said that we found some beautiful little beach spots where we sat on the ground and swam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved this hotel. The views were spectacular, service excellent and rooms so very clean. There is a steep hill between this hotel and the beach, however the view makes the walk enjoyable. The restaurant directly opposite this hotel is also worth a visit. We loved everything about our stay at Palazzo Talamo.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a view from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I loved everything about the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room beautiful. and the views amazing!! My only negative was there is a $5E/day charge if you put your own drinks in the minibar fridge... (so I didn't do it) I have never seen that before, and I usually buy some drinks from the supermarket and keep them cold in the minibar to try to keep costs down. Only a little thing that detracted from an otherwise perfect stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#27 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Talamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Talamo

Property: Palazzo Talamo
Address: Via Pasitea n. 117, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Talamo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Talamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Talamo Positano
Palazzo Talamo Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing