We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most charming place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Ranked #15 of 49 Positano B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most charming place ever!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Positano is the best place I've ever been to and to stay at Gippy's hotel completed the whole experience! He is so friendly and helpful and down to earth. We stayed at his hotel for two nights and then came up with the silly idea to visit st antonio abate... Turns out the 5 star hotel we were going to stay at wasn't at all what they had promised... I called up Gippy to ask if we could come back but his hotel was fully booked! As he heard the desperation in our voices he offered us to stay in his mum's house... Talking about thinking outside the box! :) It was fantastic! His mother was absolutely gorgeous and he made our last few nights in Positano go down as the best ones that year. Thank you for everything Gippy, can't wait to stay at your hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
106
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

TripAdvisor wouldn't let me post the correct travel dates, but we stayed at the Venus Inn from April 20, 2012 - April 26, 2012 to kick off our trip to Europe. The Venus Inn was exactly what we needed, and we'd gladly recommend it to anyone. We were looking for a hotel/B&B in Positano that was still relatively affordable, and this was it. Most every review you'll see on the hotel will mention Gippy (pronounced Jeep-ee) and how fantastic he is, and this review will be no exception. He was very helpful in planning our daily excursions, was quick with email contact, and makes his inn available at a very reasonable rate.

The hotel itself is a short walk from the one-way street that goes through the entirety of Positano. As you pass the Hotel Posa Posa on your right, you'll come to a hairpin turn with a grotto on the corner. That's your stop! From there, there's a brief walking path that takes you about 30 seconds from the main road down to the Venus Inn on your left! I might not recommend the hotel to anyone that can't walk some stairs, since the hotel itself was down two flights. However, most of Positano is filled with stairs, so it didn't make much difference to us.

There were three or four rooms in the inn, as far as I could tell. Each has its own balcony with a view up the hill at the town hanging off the cliff, and if you look off to the right you'll have your beautiful view of the sea! The balcony doesn't get a ton of sunlight, but we were hardly in our room during the day anyway.

Breakfast was offered, but we opted not to use that option.

The hotel is located about a 10-20 minute leisurely walk from the downtown area and main beach of Positano. We usually took one of the stair paths down, since they were quicker and more direct. But to get back to the hotel from downtown, I'd recommend walking the main road. The stairs may be more direct, but good lord there are a lot of them. The road takes you past pretty restaurants, shops, and scenic views, and it will be a much a more gradual, enjoyable walk.

There is a second beach in Positano which is also convenient from the Venus Inn. Just walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left, and climb down the seemingly millions of stairs. In about 10 minutes, you'll be at the waterfront of a pebbly beach. We were there in April so the water was still quite cold, but the beach itself was beautiful and more secluded than the main beach.

Gippy was really helpful in planning out our day trip to Capri! He let us know about the ferry to Capri from Positano, contacted the dock the day of to make sure they were running on time, and gave us a great estimate of how long it would take to get down there. And to think, we were originally thinking of driving all the way back to Sorrento to catch a ferry (it's only 9 miles, but I say "all the way back" because driving along those cliffs with the Italians nearly gave me a heart attack every time).

To summarize, Positano is a beautiful but expensive city, and this B&B can't be beat for it's value. It may not be right downtown, but it was certainly close enough for us, and you get a broader experience of Positano by passing some of the city along the way to town.

Feel free to contact me if you want any more detail!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Win S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights here and our stay was superb. The accommodation is unpretentious but is all one needs - clean, roomy, comfortable with a great view. And Gippy is the best host ever! We misunderstood his instructions on which bus stop to jump off at and he came and fetched us from the 'wrong' stop, drove us to the B&B and carried our luggage to the room. He is like a personal travel guide and nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Staying with Gippy(the owner) is like staying with a good friend. He is so genuine and happy to solve every problem. Good bed and breakfast at a reasonable price in a prime location. Surrounded by quality restaurants with steps (525) from the front door to the beach, where u will find reasonably priced food and drink and a good private beach

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONYCAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here.. Was very good value option for Positano. The host was incredibly helpful & welcoming. He really made it for us. The room was a good size & clean with its own balcony area. The bed wasn't terribly comfortable but wouldn't have noticed so much if i wasn't 6mths pregnant! The breakfast was basic & we often opted to eat out instead, but these were all things completely forgivable because of the price tag on the offering. We'd recommend it to anyone heading to Positano as a great comfortable & affordable option in a top location (right above the nicer beach).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizzywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was here for 2 nights in July. Despite the room not having air conditioning and being in the middle of summer, the room was cool and pleasant to stay in. The room was spacious and clean with an incredible view from my terrace. Do not expect a television in the room or a luxurious mattress and pillows. The lack of television is irrelevant as I never watch tv on vacation and the mattress was comfortable enough to sleep.

Positano is a very steep town, so the climb to and from the beach (which is beautiful but literally all rocks) will leave you winded, even for those that are young and in decent physical condition. This is however expected when visiting Positano. Luckily, this B&B is positioned high enough to get a great view but close enough to the base to get to the beach.

Gippy was friendly, always greeting us with a smile.

100% would stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Positano.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JMTO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to Positano this summer and we stayed att Venus Inn for 6 days. We loved the place from the moment we stepped inside and when the host Gippy met us we loved the place even more. He met us with open arms and told us Everything we needed to know about Positano and our stay there. He was very helpful and charming. The room was very Beautiful and we spent a lot of time at the terrace in the evening. There you could see the ocean and all the boats and you could also se a big part of Positano up on the hillside. From Venus Inn it was Close to Spaggia Fornillo, a wonderful beach that you went to by walking down many steps. It was easy to go down to the beach but harder to go back up the stairs. There were many good restaurants close to Venus Inn. We will recommend Venus Inn to our friends and family and if we will go back to Positano we will most certainly stay at Venus Inn and the Lovely host Gippy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonLaneborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#29 of 39 in Positano
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Inn B&B Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Inn B&B Positano

Property: Venus Inn B&B Positano
Address: Via Fornillo 9, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Positano Bed & Breakfast VENUS Inn The VENUS Inn B&B Positano is located in the historic center of Positano, in a nice quiet area to rest and practice being close to the Fornillo beach and to the main road where there is the Bus stop, affiliated restaurants, bars and shops. Recently renovated, has maintained the characteristics and colors typical of the place The spacious and airy, with nice decor and comforting, all equipped with private bathroom and flowered terrace. View of Positano and the sea view. You will find a familiar and you'll have all my willingness to give you the best tips and information for your vacation to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. I am pleased to be at your disposal to make your holiday easy and fun in relax and with reasonable prices. I expect you to Positano B&B VENUS Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Venus Inn B&B Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing