We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Positano!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Ranked #20 of 54 Positano B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although you can't control the weather, it rained on our first day arriving in Positano (the first time it rained in 3 months!). Weather aside, our stay at the Venus Inn was fantastic. While the first night we were in an extra room that was a little odd, this was because Gippy was allowing us to stay in the room with the private balcony for the next few nights because it was our anniversary trip (and a couple was staying in there for their last night the night we arrived).

The Venus Inn is in a great location, has amazing views, and Gippy serves one mean cappuccino in the morning. The one thing to remind yourselves is that this is NOT a full service hotel, a true B&B. However, with so much to do in Positano, all we really needed it for was to shower and sleep!

If we come back to Positano, we will absolutely stay at the Venus Inn. Great value, Gippy is really kind and helpful (almost like a concierge), and it met all of our needs. Thank you Gippy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Venus Inn for 3 nights as part of an anniversary trip. The room was clean and comfortable. The view and location were excellent. I'll never complain about the steps to the ocean (422)! The owner Gippy was a wonderful and accommodating host. His recommendations for local dining and help with our itinerary was invaluable. This room was a spectacular value. Just remember- it is a B&B and not a full service hotel!

Room Tip: Ask Gippy for the room with the private balcony! He should charge a little more for this room- but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just arrived home from our wonderful holiday in Positano staying at the Venus Inn and want to start by saying a huge thank you to Gippy for being such a great host. When we got off the bus Gippy appeared with a huge friendly smile and showed us to our apartment. He gave us lots of great tips on where to eat, where to visit, where to go dancing e.t.c and was always happy to answer any questions. The room was clean, bright, comfortable and had a lovely view from the balcony. We loved the location because it was just at the top of the steps leading down to Fornillo beach (better than the main beach) where we spent a lot of time on the sun loungers at the Pupetto beach bar which we would also recommend! Read these reviews and believe them - we had the best holiday ever! Hannah and Jen from Scotland! xxx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen_wilson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Venus Inn for 4 nights and really loved our stay. The location of the Venus Inn is excellent- it has a water view as well as a (somewhat more interesting) view of the town where you want look at the amazing landscape of Positano, and is on the less touristy and less expensive side of town. The terrace is beautiful and a great place to sit and eat lunch while looking at the amazing views. Gippy is a great guy who is very helpful and wants you to enjoy your time in Positano.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hugh2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Venus Inn for nine days in late May this year. Gippy was a wonderful host who was very pleasant and offered excellent restaurant choices and 10% discounts if we mentioned "Gippy sent us". The Mediteraneo restaurant was particularily good. Try the Risotto, best I ever tasted!
The Venus Inn location for us was ideal as it was near the best restaurants in our opinion but still close enough to the beach to make it accessable without getting into the crush of the cruise crowds.The room was very clean with a beautiful flowered terrace overlooking the ocean and town of Positano.
Gippy went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and even arranged for our cab ride back to Naples at a discount rate. Not only would we not hesitate to reccomend the Venus Inn we plan to return with two other couples to enjoy Positano as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Venus Inn is a great place to stay in Positano. Gippy is a wonderful host..always a smile on his face. Very helpful with any questions you may have. The BB has big rooms, very comfortable. Quite to sleep. They have a wonderful terrance overlooking Positano. It was an easy walk down the hill every day to the center/port of Positano. Buses stop also directly by the road.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mereteNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Gippy and his wife were very pleasant and hospitable. They offered us general info about Positano and referred us to two nearby restaurants that he said would give us a 10% discount if we said "Gippy sent us".....and they did. The weather was very cool and windy, so we appreciated those handy referrals which were a short walk away and really enjoyed both meals....they were: Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro (rated #5 of 44 on TA) and Ristorante Mediterraneo (rated #8 of 44). Gippy told us his grandfather had owned the hotel/villa and we wondered if their hearts were not in it to be B & B proprietors (they live in Rome and do not reside at the inn while staying in Positano for the season). Nevertheless, we appreciated their helpfulness with information and setting us up for a short stay.

The facility, however, was very underwhelming because it was spare, had dated (e.g. very used) fabric furnishings and a bed that sloped toward the middle (glad I carried my own pillow as the one on the bed was terribly lumpy). The room had a neighborhood view across the ravine, no soap or kleenix or anything extra in the room and it was not particularly clean (there were tiny bugs scurrying around the bathroom entry and wall - which I reported to the owners). The balcony was unattractive; there was a small plastic table and chairs, which we used for breakfast one morning and there were a couple of small plants. We had a key for the room and one for the building, and both were very difficult to use (my husband managed to make them work, but I could not).

Fortunately, we found some trail maps left behind by another travelor for hiking from Nocelle to Praiano - which turned out to be the best day possible.

I was glad we had not booked 4 nights as originally planned, because the quality of this room/place did meet our standards. However, the location was good, despite a long steep walk to and from the bus stop; and the price okay....so it may work for cost conscious travelors who don't mind a bare room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpediemroma, Owner at Venus Inn B&B Positano, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

I am a young boy, the son of a tourist guide who has worked in tourism for many years and that gave me the right advises in my job , including knowledge of 4 languages

I took a few years ago by my grandfather this structure that was left abandoned.

I am not rich but with passion in my work I try every year to earn some money to be able to renew to offer a good comfort to customers. The last major renovation was in 2009 and over the beds and bathrooms completely new I also replaced the doors.
Maybe I will not choose the right locks and mattresses?! ((

It 's true the decor in the rooms is simple but is all you need desks, chairs, sofa, wardrobe, bed, bedside tables and lights. Not luxus but otherwise would not be at a reasonable price.

I would be happy to have a terrace, especially if it is large enough for tables, chairs and flowers and with a panoramic view.
I remember it's a Bed and Breakfast !! It is not a 3 star hotel.

Anyway thank you for the review, I will try always to improve more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 38 in Positano
734 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Inn B&B Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Inn B&B Positano

Address: Via Fornillo 9, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $106 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Positano Bed & Breakfast VENUS Inn The VENUS Inn B&B Positano is located in the historic center of Positano, in a nice quiet area to rest and practice being close to the Fornillo beach and to the main road where there is the Bus stop, affiliated restaurants, bars and shops. Recently renovated, has maintained the characteristics and colors typical of the place The spacious and airy, with nice decor and comforting, all equipped with private bathroom and flowered terrace. View of Positano and the sea view. You will find a familiar and you'll have all my willingness to give you the best tips and information for your vacation to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. I am pleased to be at your disposal to make your holiday easy and fun in relax and with reasonable prices. I expect you to Positano B&B VENUS Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Venus Inn B&B Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing