We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Positano Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Ranked #20 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Positive Positano Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We arrived at Positano by ferry from Salerno, after a train ride from Chiusi in Tuscany. From the port, we needed some help with directions, but the trick is to walk against the traffic for about 15 minutes, up the steep snaking road (Viale Pasitea). Via Fornillo is on the left. It is a walkway, not a road with vehicle traffic. It leads back down in the direction of the sea. There are some other B & B's in the area.

Gippy was not on site when we arrived, as he was checking in guests at his other property. We had to go back up to the main road to call him - he arrived in about 5 minutes.

The accommodations were basic, but cozy and clean. There was no TV, but this was not a problem. Our room had a little balcony, and opened out onto the common area, where there is a fantastic view of the sea and the ravine.

Breakfast is optional for 3 euros, and served by Gippy in the common area - a wonderful way to enjoy the morning sun and get the day started. It would be nice if the breakfast would include items such as yogurt and fruit; however there is a refrigerator on site for those interested in purchasing their own supplies.

There are many restaurants and shops nearby, and on the road all the way down to the port. 2 of the nearby restaurants, Mediterraneo and Saraceno d'Oro, are owned by family members of Gippy, and they will take care of you if you let them know you are staying at Venus with Gippy. We had 2 very enjoyable dinners at each restaurant during our 4 night stay.

The highlight of our stay in Positano was Gippy's hospitality, and we were sad when we had to leave. Gippy is an incredible host and we highly recommend staying at Venus Inn!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K&L092906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
107
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

VENUS INN B&B
About 15 minutes walk downhill from the bus stop towards Positano village is a hairpin called i think Grotto di Fornillo. On this very hairpin start walking down the narrow alleyway towards the sea. VENUS INN is small building on the left hand side. Actually i think is has just 4/5 rooms, all facing the sea/Positano with a nice balcony. Best advice we had was that the nearer you get to the village of Positano the more expensive everything is. We ate both nights in 1 of 3 restaurants just 300 m from the B&B, then walked in to town for a coffee, be aware that its a steep 30/40 minute walk back.

The Venus INN was actually quite nice, i think if i was going back i would pick this location again. Gippy is the manager and is very helpful with arrangements. Be aware that he is off-site and you should take the property phone number with you because he may not be there when you arrive (as we found).

He does offer a cheap breakfast, think about it because it can be very expensive in the village.

We paid 90€ Per night for the 2 of us, a little on the dear side, but this is Positano. We booked with Venere which specializes in Italian Hotels.

Postitano is a small village, with a beach not more than 400 yds wide, so we were happy with just 2 nights here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at the Venus Inn this past Oct for three nights. It was probably the coolest place of our month long trip. Gippy (jeep-eee), is a great host and a great source of information. Four very nice, casual rooms on a shared yet private terrace with one of the best views possible of Positano, the mountains and the sea. An awesome place to have the very good continental breakfast served by Gippy.
Excellent location on the less-touristy side of Positano with a bus stop and nice restaurants a few minutes walk away. The town center is a pleasant 15 min walk away with great views all the way. Coming by bus from Sorrento just get off at the first Positano stop and walk an easy 15 min downhill or take a local bus to the grotto stop and down a few stairs to the Venus Inn. I will never stay anywhere else in Positano.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bwdlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

lovely place to stay. The rooms are charming and clean. the views are amazing and the location is very central. The manager Gippy is so lovely and helpful. It was a pleasure to stay here and the highlight of our holiday. Sitting on the balcony drinking wine looking at the amazing view is just heavenly. I couldn't recommend this inn enough. it may not be luxurious, but its charming rooms and lovely host more than make up for this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne27Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Love Gippy - a really friendly, helpful guy, full of local knowledge. This is a nice little B&B & a good place to meet fellow travellers. The rooms all open onto a common terrace/balcony that faces across a ravine: great views of Positano (but not of the sea). Our room was large & clean. The bathroom, behind a sliding door was also clean. The room included a small cooktop and some basic equipment. We didn't cook, but we did go out & buy wine, antipasto and a take-away pizza to eat on the terrace. Because of the common terrace, there can be noise from other residents. There is no traffic noise, but parties, dogs etc. on the other side of the ravine can be heard clearly. Things quitened down later at night. Continental breakfast (3 Euros) is best given a miss. There is no internet at Venus, but we heard from other residents that it is possible to get the code from a nearby hotel and hook into theirs.
Note: If you come by bus be sure to get off at the stop "Positano Chiesa Nuova" (the first one if coming from Sorrento) not "Positano Centro" which is a long down and uphill walk away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eardstapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We went to the Amalfi coast without having accomodation. The only thing I knew was that I wanted to spend two nights in Positano. Was hard to find a place in August, but Venus Inn has the atic for the 3 of us. My sister and 27 year old nephew.
Once I understood how is Positano, with only one way road down the hill, I was pleased to stay at Venus. Not in the touristy area, on top of the hill with magnificent views and a terrace to enjoy it.
The only thing I complain about is that we were not served breakfast as previous reviews say, we were not alowed to use the fridge and the kitchen, and also I barely saw Gippy. Never saw his wife. He only received us, checked us inn, and then never again. His mother was there spending the summer and helping, who is such a warm lady.
Would have been nice to have a coffe before leaving each morning. The Bar close to the B&b is nice, and with tasty italian pasties.Not very expensive.
The entrance to the B&B is wild and beautiful. And the tiles and decoration of the B&B are very nice. Yes, Gippy seems friendly. and I understand that is impossible to be with everyb guest everday.
Wifi worked perfect.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I got married last month in Postiano and we and our families stayed in the Venus Inn - our family for two nights, and us for two weeks. We couldn't have asked for anything more from either a B&B or our hosts.

The B&B had a perfect view of the beautiful town and sea - sitting out on the terrace was breathtaking. The rooms were clean and well presented, and the B&B was well equiped with a shared fridge for use by the guests. During our stay we needed a few things for the wedding - scissors, secateurs for cutting flowers, and a vase - all of which Gippy was able to produce from his store!

The location of the B&B was ideal - close to the quieter, less touristy Fornillo beach, but still within ten minutes' walk from the main beach. There are a lot of steps in Positano, due to it being built on a hillside, but there is usually a way around the winding roads to avoid having to go up and down them.

Gippy and his wife Ildi were perfect hosts. They told us the best places to eat (and to buy take aways to eat on our balcony) and the way to the florist. They booked an excursion for us over the telephone and provided maps for us to borrow. They even decorated the B&B with flowers on our wedding day! Gippy and Ildi were very sociable - conversant in many languages - and spent as long as we wanted chatting, and explaining local customs to us.

We didn't want to leave, and I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

Rebecca

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Inn B&B Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Inn B&B Positano

Property: Venus Inn B&B Positano
Address: Via Fornillo 9, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Positano Bed & Breakfast VENUS Inn The VENUS Inn B&B Positano is located in the historic center of Positano, in a nice quiet area to rest and practice being close to the Fornillo beach and to the main road where there is the Bus stop, affiliated restaurants, bars and shops. Recently renovated, has maintained the characteristics and colors typical of the place The spacious and airy, with nice decor and comforting, all equipped with private bathroom and flowered terrace. View of Positano and the sea view. You will find a familiar and you'll have all my willingness to give you the best tips and information for your vacation to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. I am pleased to be at your disposal to make your holiday easy and fun in relax and with reasonable prices. I expect you to Positano B&B VENUS Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Venus Inn B&B Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing