We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissima!!”
Review of Hotel Maricanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maricanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hotel Marincanto is the BEST! The staff is so accommodating and eager to assist with any needs you may have. We enjoyed a beautiful Jr Suite room with a vine covered terrace surrounded by stunning flowers.The views from the spacious sun deck and infinity pool are incredible. The breakfast buffet included a large assortment of pastries, fruit, prosciutto, cheese, cereals, etc. with the best cappuccino! Loved having easy stair access to the private beach and to Music on the Rocks, Positano's live dance club.

When we return, we will definitely be staying here again... Absolutely loved it! Grazie Monica and staff for a wonderful experience! Give Pashmina a belly rub from us~

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giovannaluvsitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maricanto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in September. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The new pool area affords a view of the picturesque surroundings. The breakfast is incredible -- especially the pastries. The staff, Antonella, Franco, Monica and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socrates21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in early September. 2 nights in superior double, then moved to the Apartment. I've read some reviews that it's not nice, but it was even better than the regular room. The only thing it didn't have was a bathtub, but would never take a bath anyway. And for 100 euro less than a regular room and 4x the size, a kitchen, sitting room, and 2 bedrooms and better views, it's well worth it (perfect for family).

The staff is great too, but hands down Raphaella who does the dinner/drinks out the terrace is great! Brought a different snack out with each round of drinks! We will 100% stay here when we come back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfuofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We spent 5 nights in a junior suite with spectacular views. The room was spacious and had everything we needed but its terrace was our favorite part.
Slept well in the comfortable bed and the room was quiet at night.
Pool and sun deck were great Breakfast was excellent especially lemon tart and custard mini doughnuts-dessert for breakfast-how can it get better!
Staff were always helpful and very pleasant.
We only discovered the little three table bar run by two lovely young men just up the road behind the hotel with two days to go. Great cheap cocktails, coffee to go and killer views-a great spot to watch the sunset!
We would not hesitate to return to Hotel Marincanto.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jabbawocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed for a week as part of our honeymoon. Initially disappointed with the room we were given which was dark and damp smelling and had no view,but when we were given the room which we should have had anyway, the holiday 'took off.' The room was gorgeous and the view took our breath away-it was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff that worked there and maid service was twice a day.
The choice,quality and quantity of the breakfasts were fantastic and views from the breakfast terrace,again,were incredible.
The infinity pool is amazing.
We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel,loved it so so much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Unfortunately, my wife and I failed to read the lowest-rated reviews of Hotel Marincanto on Tripadvisor before we made our reservation and relied too much on room pictures on the Marincanto web site. Upon checkin for our Superior Double Room, we were told that Monica who runs reservations had made a mistake and that we would have to spend the night in an "apartment" the hotel kept for the first of our three nights.

The "apartment" was outdated, and one step above a hostel, for which we were charged 190 Euros per night . The bathroom had an old shower with supplies of half-filled shampoos and the kitchen had a rusty fridge and no sink.

We're reasonable people and know that mistakes are made but were also underwhelmed once we moved to the real room the next day.

Our Superior Double Room looked nothing like the pictures online and contained a recurring ant problem and leaking bathroom sink. The bath towels felt like old sandpaper. Basic customer service requests like calling a taxi were not completed.

On the upside, the beach access down the back stairs, sun deck, room balcony and views of Positano were fantastic and we felt that this was one of our favorite cities on our trip through Italy, despite our experience at Marincanto.

Don't risk staying here. It became obvious that Management simply doesn't care. Buca di Bacco, Sirenuse, or Poseidon all appear to be much better options and significantly better value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CollinWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Marincanto is a wonderfull hotel from every point of view.We enjoyed location , view , the new pool and very much the people, who work there. Everything is good quality and good taste . You can get to the beach very quickly, on the stairs .The new pool has a magnificent view . Breakfast is also good quality and the ladies who are working in the restaurant are helpfull and very friendly.We came with wonderfull memories and i can not say anything negative , which is rare...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maricanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maricanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $150 - $2,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maricanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Maricanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing