We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolute heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel in picturesque location! We spent four days of our honeymoon here and loved it- wish we had been able to spend longer here!

We ate at the restaurant for two of our nights and the food was delicious ! Having the option to have breakfast on the balcony of our room for no additional charge with the full selection of what was downstairs was divine!!

Enza, you made our stay incredible and sincere thanks for all your help with planning our little trips and your recommendations for Anacapri and the Pathway of the Gods! We loved it and will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    205
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
152
759
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I could have stayed in the room all week and watched the changing colors as they played out across the water, mountains and buildings of Positano. Also from the room you will see that there seems to be no end of boats of all sizes coming and going from Positano. But, there is so much more to this hotel than the view. The hotel staff were excellent. The breakfast was excellent and the servers made sure that our needs were met. The room was spacious which is surprising considering how valuable any space must be in Positano. Our bed was adequate, not the greatest, but OK.

The swimming pool was OK, good for a cooling dip, but not for any serious swimming. If you walk down the steps to the beach you reach a gate where you can buzz the desk and they will open the gate for you. The beach is covered with rounded stones which are hard on the feet. Suggest you bring water shoes for swimming. There is only a small area above and below the waterline where you can stand without footwear (depending on how hearty your feet are).

While at the Marincanto, take the Positano bus to the other side of town and walk back. Also, take the bus to Nocelle and walk along the path of the gods. You don't have to hike the whole path to have a wonderful experience. Any part of this path will leave you with a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in August 2013 with our two boys aged 10 & 12 as part of a 7 week trip. We had always wanted to visit Positano and wanted a cliff location with amazing views and a pool for the boys. This hotel certainly didn't disappoint. The views and pool were amazing, picture postcard perfect! The staff were so attentive and we were very lucky to receive a room upgrade which we were so grateful for. We had dinner the hotel restaurant on the terrace which was lovely, again with amazing views. Breakfast was same on the same terrace and the range and quality was excellent. The hotel is within a easy walk of the main shops and the beach below. We would highly recommend Hotel Marincanto and we cant wait to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I had done a lot of research before finally settling on a hotel that seemed right for our honeymoon. We had backpacked all over Europe for a month before coming to Hotel Maricanto and wanted somewhere that would allow us to relax and enjoy the serenity in being married. This hotel did exactly that; from the moment we stepped into the hotel, to the very moment we left, we were treated with respect and felt special.

Staff:
We found that the staff went well out of their way to provide us with anything that we needed, from answering multiple questions that we had, to providing some suggestions of places to see, things to do, and where to eat. There was one member in particular, I apologize I do not remember his name, that lives in Positano and was able to provide us with some insider suggestions. Our first night there we were given a bottle of wine as a welcome gift and congratulations, with a wonderful hand written note. The staff also helped my husband pick out an amazing array of flowers for our date night and had them delivered to our bedroom secretly.

Honeymoon Suite:
Our honeymoon suite was perhaps the best bang for our buck. We are both students who just graduated from university and had spent the previous month being very tight on our spending. Therefore, to spend that sort of money on a room was something we were concerned about; but the view and the setting was breath taking. Our room was always up kept and made to look like a palace. It was just steps (down a private stairway) to the beach below and was quiet. The room came with our own pool, which overlooked the coast/beach and made for a wonderful way to relax at any moment. This along with the balcony, the comfy bed, couches, fridge, and the many other things I could continue with made for a spectacular stay. Look at the pictures, as I believe images speak better than words, and you will understand how stunning the stay is.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was complementary and excellent. Fresh fruit, pastries, meats, and just about anything you could want was available to you. You did have to pay extra for coffees but their coffee was also very excellent and I think worth it.

Thank you to Hotel Maricanto and the staff. You managed to make our love stronger and more true than ever imagined and we are thankful that we were able to stay with you during this time.

- Jade & Sam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mclachlinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Even better than the pictures. The scenery and views are breathtaking, as well as the beauty of this hotel, inside and out, And most importantly, the room was immaculately clean :)
Staff was very pleasant, helpful, prompt and friendly. We loved our room so much that we cancelled our dinner reservations our last night and ordered room service that we enjoyed on the balcony. Our favorite, most memorable and romantic evening. You will love it too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Li Galli suite. If you want to splurge on a room somewhere during your trip, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Marincanto is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Absolutely unbeatable views and service. Was upgraded upon arrival and the room was well appointed and had a stunning jacuzzi and balcony with lovely views of the village. You could really sit there the whole day admiring the beauty of Positano. Breakfast was good and the hotel is a 10-15 mins walk to the main shopping street. Be prepared for a good workout in Positano. Plenty of stairs!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank moodyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We took the train from Naples to Sorrento and got lost along the way, had to change trains at Pompei station which delayed our arrival by 3 hours. Ouch! We were tired sweaty and not in the greatest mood. Arriving late afternoon at Hotel Marincanto we were warmly welcomed and checking in was fast and easy. Our room had white crisp linen on the bed and the most beautiful view and we were a couples of steps down from the beach. The balcony was awesome as we had one morning breakfast there and the staff brought the whole buffet breakfast to us. The view took my breath away and still to this day I just fall in love with this hotel whenever I look through our photographs. We had supper at Bruno's the first night which is just a couple of steps from Hotel Marincanto and might I ad that the fish, calamari and prawn combo was amazing. The second night we had supper at the Marincanto. Wow wow wow! The service was excellent. They had a pianist playing and it just added so much more to the overall experience, sitting on the terrace having this fabulous food overlooking the most beautiful view in the world. The hotel was nice and central and just a short walk from the main shopping street. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety. Also another plus is the pool, if you decide to spend the afternoon at the hotel, the pool has a nice area you can relax and also over looks the ocean. We had a lovely lunch alongside the pool and the service was very good, we even had a bottle of bubbly recommended by the pool waiter which did not disappoint. I will definitely be back and the only place I will stay in Positano is at Hotel Marincanto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#16 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing