We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“On the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
778 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
“On the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated high above the sea. Our room had a fourposter king bed and was a good sized room. The bathtub was in a separate section giving you a private balcony type space giving you a spectacular view. Give yourself time to take the steps down the steep hill to the beach, Well worth it even the climb back up. The buffet breakfast is served on the balcony overlooking the sea. I recommend taking boats to the various islands towns, and busses to the inland towns. One of my favorites was Ravello. Walk down the hill and eat dinner by the sea. Enjoy it all.
Jeremy T

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    205
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
152
759
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

After 25 years of dreaming of a visit to Positano I was finally able to make it there last summer. We could not get a reservation at San Pietro so I booked 4 nights at the Hotel Miramare and 2 at the Marincanto. Thank goodness we did because it saved our trip. The Marincanto is clean and modern. The rooms are large and well appointed. It has an elevator that takes you and your bags up the hill. The pool is simply spectacular. Enza at the front desk took special care to make certain that our visit was perfect. The location and view are wonderful. It is truly one of the most wonderful hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrperfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Pros - View of Positano was great, room was big and clean, breakfast was a decent spread, property is well furnished. Hotel staff were polite, well informed and made great recommendations for dinners.

Cons - it's a 20 mins walk uphill if you arrive with luggage by boat but most hotels are located on the hilltop anyway. There is direct beach access by a very very steep staircase which takes 5 mins - it's not really a bad thing but just in case you have elderly or kids with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This may be one of my favorite hotels in the world because it is so beautiful. Be sure to ask for assistance with your luggage upon arrival and departure as they are happy to assist with the stairs. Breakfast was traditional European style on a beautiful veranda overlooking the ocean. Free Wifi in rooms was a great added feature. Staff was fantastic prior to and after arrival. A wonderful stay. If I could I would move there and live at the hotel in a heartbeat! Pool is so relaxing overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A very nice Hotel with spectacular views from your room balcony. A very attentive and courteous staff. Excellent choice to view the Amalfi coast. The hotel is very conveniently located to get around the city. The breakfast is also very good with a lot of choices. We would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merenge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just got back from a 1-week holiday in Positano to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday, and we were so lucky to have been able to enjoy this milestone at the Hotel Marincanto.

From the moment one drives into the hotel driveway, one is captivated by the stunning postcard-perfect classic view of Positano. With the sea dropping down below and the golden dome of the Santa Maria Assunta Church to the right against a vista of rugged cliffs and hills, one feels like the having arrived in heaven.

Upon entering the lobby which had clean white linen sofas against a backdrop of ceramic Italian tile floors, one is imbued in the ethereal lemony-vanilla scent that permeates the air. This unique, addicting scent was later discovered to be a trigger of pleasant memories as I again had the pleasure of whiffing it when I unpacked my luggage upon my return to Florida-- I felt as if I had packed Hotel Marincanto in a bottle, and for a moment I was transported back in time and space to the one of closest places I have to been to heaven on earth.

Service was impressively warm and personal, yet professional and efficient. The hotel created a suprise Positanean birthday cake for my sister and delivered it to her suite on the morning of her birthday, much to her delight!

The beautiful breakfast buffet to be consumed at the hotel patio overlooking the quintessential Positano panorama was a sight and experience to behold every morning. It was a sumptuous choice of prosciutto, parma hams, eggs, cheeses, patries, fruits, breads, fresh juices, etc... and of course your choice of coffee, of which I had the authentic Italian capuccino every morning.

Many thanks to its management and staff without whom this would not have been the spectacular holiday that it was. Grazie Antonella, Enza, Rafaella, Rita, Rosa, Lisa, Gianni, and Carmine. Amore!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sweetdreams007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel was incredible. The staff and service are incredibly friendly and helpful. Conveniently across the street from the bus stop. Worth noting that the beach is very close, but it takes 200-something very steep steps to get down to it.

Room Tip: The sea views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing