We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”
Review of Hotel Maricanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maricanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Marincanto is a charming hotel with tons of character. We started our honeymoon here and stayed 5 nights. We enjoyed every moment of our stay! We had a Superior Double Room with a balcony, which had the most incredible views you could ever dream of. The reception desk was super helpful.They booked two tours for us (Capri and Pompeii) and organized our car service/taxis to and from Naples. On the property is a sundeck and pool, so you don't even have to leave! Breakfast is amazing, you don't want to miss that. My husband still talks about the breakfast :) The shower stall in our bathroom was small, but its to be expected while traveling in Italy. There is also a hotel cat, Pashmina who is super friendly. We wanted to steal her!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IheartSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marincanto in September for our honeymoon and could not have been happier! The hotel was gorgeous and the views--breathtaking- as are many views in Positano! The staff at the Marincanto is top notch. Enza at the front desk was incredibly helpful and so very pleasant to greet us each day! Gianni by the pool was also wonderful ! The pool and sundeck were amazing for some relaxation we were looking for during our trip. The breakfast each day was delicious as was dinner the one night we ate at the hotel restaurant ! Overall we would definitely stay here again- hope to make it back to beautiful Positano sooner rather than later! ciao !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBark414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although we only stayed one night, and wished we could have stayed longer, our room was absolutely beutiful, with lovely tilework, a beautiful private balcony, huge bathroom, and fabulous views. The service and friendliness were also marvelous and the breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: The villa has lovely private areas and beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad0ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a junior suite as part of out Italian honeymoon and it surpassed all our expectations. The staff were so friendly in all areas of the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was HUGE with a bedroom, living room (both with balconies) a large shower room, and a dressing room with full size jacuzzi! The pool was a true infinity pool with magnificent views of Positano and the ocean. The beach was a few (180!!!!) steps down the Cliff but wel worth the effort as it was quiet and had great swimming in the bay. Breakfast had different home made delicacies every day - we didn't try dinner as the town was only a few minutes away and the restaurants in Positano were all marvellous. Overall, a marvellous stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Junior suite was marvellous, but we sneaked a look at a superior room and the balcony and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just loved this place. We stayed in a Jr Suite that had a breathtaking view of Positano and the sea. Although we stayed in a number of great places on our almost 3 week trip, this was my favourite. The staff were extremely helpful, the food was great, the room was very comfortable and the pool (and view from it) was amazing. We were in a room (258) at the bottom of alot of stairs - we didn't mind this at all....we were in Positano, after all. Can't wait to go back and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 258 was amazing. Wow....great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel and excelent location.
Very friendly and co-operative staff-making every efort to help.
Beautiful and unique pool with breathtaking veiw.
Car parking-very important in positano.
Would love to come again.

Room Tip: Every room has the veiw of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stay here for 3 nights in late September. The hotel itself is very beautiful but when we got to our room (in the villa portion of the hotel), we were a bit surprised by how bare bones it felt, with inexpensive looking furniture and stuff. However, the view from our balcony more than made up for the slight disappointment. We had breakfast delivered to the room one morning and ate on the balcony overlooking the ocean; it was awesome. The location was good, close enough to the stores and restaurants, though walking up there from the ferry with our luggage did give us quite a workout. The breakfast buffet was over-the-top good! The one real complaint I had was that the wifi did not really work in our room, perhaps because it was in the villa part of the hotel. Maybe it works better in the main building? Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maricanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maricanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $222 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maricanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maricanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing