We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical place with wonderful staff and owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
“Magical place with wonderful staff and owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had my wedding at Hotel Marincanto August 2013. There are no words to explain how wonderful the staff and ownership is and how beautiful this hotel is. Everything from the rooms to the views were exceptional. This hotel has best views of all of Positano and the restaurant was amazing. We had a five course meal with wine pairings for our wedding and the most beautiful photos. Antonella and Enza are beautiful and were so helpful, I don't know what I would've done without them. The owner, Luca made sure everything was perfect and catered to our every need and went beyond any expectations. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    208
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
152
765
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

FABULOUS in every way. Perfect location, gorgeous open lobby, comfortable spacious rooms, friendly staff, great service, truly beautiful views and patios, easy access to the beach and town. And they have a 5 star restaurant. We truly loved Marincanto and can't wait to go back. We travel all over the US and Europe and this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in...for so many reasons I mentioned (location, service, beauty, views of amalfi coast, cleanliness, etc..). Enza, at the front desk was so welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Thank you Enza, for making our stay unforgettable! You are a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a beautiful patio facing the sea. However, I don't think you can go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackBellaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We splurged a little on this hotel because it was a special occasion, our Honeymoon, and it was worth every penny. The location is GREAT, walk to everything in Positano. The service is amongst the best we've ever had. Enza, at the Front Desk, assisted us with all our questions and needs and really set the tone and Gianni, the Pool Attendant, took great care of us too - as did everyone else. The patio where you eat breakfast and/or lunch and dinner is super dreamy - white and crisp with flowers overlooking the beautiful blue sea. The pool is awesome, looks and feels like the water drops off into the sea below and the rooms are nice. We loved the place, it's romantic and elegant. *Check out my other Italy reviews for tours and hotels, I planned it off Trip Advisor and we had THE BEST TRIP!

Room Tip: If you can afford it they have two rooms with jaccuzi hot tubs overlooking the sea - AMAIZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taraOrlando_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very cute boutique hotel.....excellent experience....wonderful staff....beautiful room overlooking bay with a jacuzzi tub that opened out to large balcony patio. HUGE bedroom. Breakfast every morning served by the sweetest staff.....my cappuccino was perfect every time!!! They even had soy milk! lots of private terraces to sit and enjoy view. Tons of steps down to beach but worth it...you can eat and drink entire vacation and the walking part of vacation balances it out! Beach club down below was nice and had good food and great staff. Fee but worth it. Hotel location to town is perfect. Walk to shops and dining and church. Not one complaint! If we could have taken Enza home with us we would have! Her assistance and personality and smile was just wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: A view room is worth it...also pay extra and get one with jacuzzi tub that overlooks patio/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 4 nights. The location was great and we we're a short walk to town. The best thing about this location was the wonderful breakfast buffet and the pool with sun deck. The staff was very attentive and would clean our room numerous times a day! The only thing that disappointed us was that our balcony was not very private and we often saw people pass us on the stairs going to the pool. Other then that everything was great, staff was very helpful and views were breathtaking!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em2morse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Without going into too much details as we have raised the complaints numerous times, we did not enjoy our stay here. Other than the location, we were not happy with the fact that we were put in a room that was not what was described on our booking. Service was average at best in our opinion as i had to point out several times that the room that we were given did not have a balcony sea view which is what we booked. If that was not disturbing enough, having a housekeeper tell me "No" when i asked if she can check to see if the lock works on a door was to say the least unpleasant. They were very addiment that the pricing dictates the type of room we are supposed to be in regardless of what was written on paper. After bringing this up again, we were eventualy told that they can see if there is a room with a sea view available the next day, but no guarantees. We were eventually changed the next day but we were not happy with thier explanations as well as their inability to resovle situations quickly. In speaking with other travellers on busses and trains, they stayed at other hotels that were cheaper and location just as good...our advice is to keep looking. We wondered if it was just us as we stayed in 6 other hotels during our trek through Italy, but we have provided ratings of 4.5-5 to the rest other than this one. Given that it was highly rated, pricey, and that we were on our honeymooon, we had high expectations. I guess we cant win them all....

Room Tip: Confirm your Room Description prior to Checking In!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vlandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Upon arrival I was greeted by Enza. She was warm and inviting and provided exceptional check in service. I spent three nights at the hotel and received an upgraded villa with breathtaking views. Enza had fantastic recommendations and was very helpful. Gianni at the pool was delightful.

Room Tip: Villa 5 has a huge terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy041075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing