We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose Hotel Marincanto as a luxury hotel for our honeymoon, and we were amazed that our expectations were surpassed. The room was beautifully furnished in a simple style and the view from the balcony was picture-perfect. The infinity pool was incredible, with the breathtaking views across the bay. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and did their job with a smile, always looking to go the extra mile. Of particular note were Rita at breakfast, Gianni at the pool, and Antonella and Enza at reception.The breakfast buffet changed daily and was always excellent. We dined at the hotel restaurant twice and the food was wonderful, with a view from the terrace to match. Thanks so much for making our honeymoon so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indio, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just came back from a one month tour of Italy and Greece. Positano was our first stop in Italy starting our honeymoon. Hotel Marincanto met and exceeded our expectations starting with the location and the unbelievable views from the hotel terrace and continued with the staff and our room accommodations. The staff were very informative regarding our outings and the best way to go places. The breakfast was a beautiful spread of italian and continental delights and cappuccino with foam designs delivered to our table!! The view from our room was just as spectacular and the rooms were spacious with very comfortable baths.
The hotel was conveniently located for a trip to Capri from the dock down the beach and a multitude of restaurants were available at the beach front down about 250 the steps from the hotel. At first we hesitated but after one day we thought nothing of it.
It was a great place to start feeling pampered in Italy!!
We made trips to Pompei, Capri, Amalfi and Ravello with the hotel as our base. Great location for trips like that!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's was not so hot(in any sense)! First of week of May, my wife and I have spent a wonderful week in this coloreful Postitano, hotel management was so kind, we enjoyed very much an up grade "Honey moon suite", naturally in this season you cannot immagine. I'm not going to waste your time to repeat how beatiful it is, but I have to say this hotel is in a wonderful position, a lit bit far away from downtown but not that much, it's quite to sleep and after a delicious dinner from one of the charming restaurants in the beach, take a walk in that romantic road back to hotel, it will be very healthy. We have also made one day tours to Capri and Amalfi by ferry boat, Positano is a strategic island! Sorry , i'm late, but I was told never to late to write.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorgentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
441 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me begin by saying that this hotel is GORGEOUS! The views are unprecedented and the overall appearance of the property is very appealing. If you arrive via street level, you are lucky indeed! We came over from Capri and arrived at sea level . . . this is not for the "faint" of heart because during the summer months, you will feel that you might FAINT several times trying to get to the property. So, there's a handy tip! The rooms are all terraced along the side of the hill, so that means some climbing, no matter what. If you don't feel you will be able to climb steps . . . this isn't your place. However, if you are game . . . the place is fantastic! The pool is on one level with several large "sunning" areas on different levels. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite and was nice and roomy. There was a separate dressing area with jet tub, although we could never really figure out how to engage the "jets." The view from every window was spectacular . . . either sea, flora, or fauna! The restaurant was really tasty for lunch one day, and like most European hotels, the breakfast was included and offered each morning at the same location. The pool monitor was very kind and did a great job of keeping up with the towels, drinks, umbrellas, etc. The front desk girl was as cute as could be and offered lots of helpful tips. Most importantly, the baggage man didn't even whimper when he saw our four large bags . . . :-) There is a stabilamento/beach club at the bottom of the property (like 250 steps or so) . . . they are loosely affiliated with the hotel, and by that I mean you can get a discount for your chair and umbrella for the day. In all, this was a great experience . . . my only complaint was that the A/C was not working properly for our stay and the room was REALLY warm. However, with that repaired, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the Marincanto. Everything about the hotel, it's location, atmosphere and staff was faultless. We opted for the standard room but even this was more adequate with a very comfy bed, great bathroom and of course that amazing view. Breakfast was a great choice of dishes, all very fresh and beautifully presented. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, the menu was delicious. What made our stay however was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were so friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great staff. So nice. Gorgeous hotel and setting. Beach was really nice and the whole hotel is very clean. Gianni at the pool makes for a great experience. Great location in town. Great restaurant with reasonable prices. Will stay here again and my wife and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The staff is great. Everyone is so nice. Views are the best in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdpedlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the middle of July in the Gli Galli suite for 5 nights. It was amazing, the decor, space and quality of the room was superb. The towels were change twice daily and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
The views are fantastic with uninterrupted views over the sea and to the side Positano.

Breakfast on the terrace was a nice way to start the day and we had lunch on one occasion and it was very good.

A short 10 minute walk into town. I suggest the road and not the stairs as they were more tiring,especially after dinner.

Would thoroughly recommend this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reman-sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#10 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing