We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal Poolside Views”
Review of Hotel Maricanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maricanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Marincanto, only to realize that we had left our passports in Sorrento. Antonella solved this problem quickly for us, by arranging to have them delivered by a car service. She was so kind and helpful, as was Giani at the pool. Great customer service!

The views from the hotel are surreal. We spent our days alternating from lounging on the sundeck to floating in the pool, and just kept saying, "Wow," as we looked out at the ocean, the town of Positano, and the brightly coloured flowers and foliage.

Our room was huge, with a separate family room, walk in closet, and huge bathroom. It stayed nice and cool, offering a break from the intense August heat. Our only complaint would be that it smelled like mothballs for some reason.

You're in a great location at this hotel. It is very close to the main shopping areas, but not right in the heart of things, making it feel very private, and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maricanto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our experience at Hotel Marincanto was wonderful. The hotel's view was amazing; it was clean and very comfortable, the food was delicious starting with a wonderful breakfast (included) and we ate dinner there twice during our stay (my favorite place to eat in Positano). But what topped off this hotel was it's staff. Enza is as helpful as she is beautiful and the wait staff were so hospitable. Hard working people who were happy to do anything asked. I hope someday I will find myself back in this paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Marincanto was absolute paradise. It is hard to find the words to describe how much we enjoyed this place. Situated high on the cliffs above Positano, this hotel has a view that is simply magnificent from just about anywhere. There are multiple terraces from which to enjoy the view, and none better than the terrace of the family suite where we stayed. The family suite had two bedrooms, a living room area, two bathrooms, and the terrace where we spent most of our time just basking in the views. Downtown Positano to our right, the deep blue ocean filled with sailboats and yachts to our left, and the beach directly below us.

It is an easy and pleasant walk to the main part of Positano and yet isolated enough to where it is peaceful and not crowded. Be warned, if you stay in Positano be prepared to walk A LOT of stairs. we had to walk stairs to and from our suite and down to the beach. It was nice that we had direct stair to beach access though. You can get to the main part of Positano via the beach or the street level--fun walk either way.

The infinity pool at Marincanto was outstanding. Warm, but cool, and with unparalleled views of the ocean. It was absolutely gorgeous. No hot tub, but the poolside food/drink/towel service was a real plus. Everyone at the hotel bent over backwards for us. Service was outstanding. Al Marincanto, the hotel restaurant had an outstanding breakfast buffet which was included and the best dinner we had in Italy was at this restaurant.

The thing that sent us over the edge was the firework show (apparently this happens every time someone gets married). We have seen a lot of fireworks, but this was just mind blowing because the fireworks were fired from a boat out at sea directly in front of us. Well, we're hundreds of feet above sea level on the cliffs so when the fireworks launched the fireworks were practically at eye level. The explosions reverberated off the hills behind Positano and echoed back at us. Spectacular doesn't even begin to describe it. It was like we were in a warzone of explosions. The kids freaked out with joy...which is pretty much how I felt the whole time we were there. Best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My fiance and I just got back from a trip to southern Italy, and we stayed at Hotel Marincanto for 4 days. We had a great experience with the hotel. The rooms were lovely with amazing views, the pool/pool area was a great place to lounge (again with amazing views). You can easily walk down to the beach for a quick dip or relax by the pool. The staff was super helpful and accomodating. The hotel is a short walk from downtown, but is still in the mix of things -- and bc of where it is situated there are amazing views.

Room Tip: Im pretty certain that every room has an amazing view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I want to thank everyone at the Hotel Marincanto (especially, Antonella) for the most wonderful vacation experience. My first time to Positano with close friends and family this June could not have been more special, if not for this beautiful hotel and its lovely staff; HM is perfectly situated above all the other hotels at beach level, so it's quiet and peaceful at all times of the day or night. This is one of the best hotels I've been to in Italy and the service and staff were simply marvelous. We had the best time thanks to everyone and they really went out of their way to make my birthday extra special. While I'll cherish my time In Positano for many years to come, I would rather just return there tomorrow if I could. This was a trip of a life time and Hotel Marincanto was the best part. Mille grazie a tutti!!

Room Tip: The best room/views is li galli.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel; the views were incredible, and every room has a balcony that overlooks the sea. The hotel staff at the desk, in the restaurant and at the pool were fabulous, helpful and patient! This was my second trip to Positano and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I wanted to give this property a Very Good rating for two reasons. One, they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite and two, they shipped the clothes I left there back to the states! Most hotels would say they never saw anything and pocket the leave behinds. It's nice to be reminded that there are still good people out there.
That being said, even the Honeymoon Suite wasn't that impressive. It was just a bigger room with an uncomfortable bed and couch. The strangest part about the room was the bathroom and the open window next to the jacuzzi. Let me rephrase that--it wasn't an open window as there was no window there, just a square where a window should go. So we had to keep the bathroom door shut at all times as the humidity and heat coming from outside into the bathroom would infiltrate into our room making it almost unbearable. For the life of me I couldn't figure out why on earth they didn't just have a window with the option to open, but instead chose to have a hole in the wall open to the natural elements at all times. What's even more bizarre is that the opening was out to the balcony and not even out towards the ocean--so the view was of the balcony furniture! Poor design. We never could figure out how to work the jacuzzi.
In addition, the pool is small and if there are kids there then you can forget getting in as they take up the whole thing especially when they bring their rafts (should not be allowed).
Then there's the service at the beach. After walking a cajillion steps down to the beach, it would make sense to have service to your chairs considering there is a bar/restaurant right there. Instead if you want something, you will have to go get it yourself, unless you want to wait an eternity for someone to finally come by and then be rude to you.
The front desk staff was very friendly and completely oblivious to what was going on 500 steps below them. There just wasn't anything great about the property that really stood out other than the private beach (with bad service).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ForeverWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementMARINCANTO, Proprietario at Hotel Maricanto, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Marincanto for your recent stay in Positano and for taking time to write your review. I am pleased you had a nice stay with us and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. It is with great regret anyway we read that neither the room nor the hotel pool have fully answered to your expectations. But believe us, referring to the pool, it is always difficult to combine all of our guests’ needs whether they are at Il Marincanto for a romantic getaway or a relaxing holiday with family. We will do our best to improve that too. What we want to emphasize, however, is that hotel Marincanto cannot be held responsible for the bad service received at the beach below us because we only private descent to it but it is a completely different management form us.
I really hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future
Kind regards

the Management
Vespoli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maricanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maricanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $150 - $2,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maricanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Maricanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing