We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Perfect Location, Great Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Views, Perfect Location, Great Hotel!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Marincanto for 5 nights at the end of May. All I have to say is WOW, the views are spectacular! We couldn't believe how incredibly perfect every view was, from our room with a balcony, to the lounge chair area, the pool deck, and the breakfast dining area - it is just stunning. The staff at the desk, including Antonella and Enza were incredible, they were beyond helpful in booking our dinner reservations and recommending the best sights to see and the best way to get around. We also especially loved Gianni- he worked the pool area, and was awesome at giving us his favorite recommendations as well as giving the best daytime service! We 100% said we are coming back to Positano and we are staying here. For the price, the hospitality and overall hotel experience it was perfect. The breakfast was great- with a large variety, the location of the hotel was right by the bus stop and close to town and there were steps down to the beach. The rooms are nothing fancy they are simple, white and clean but with the scenary like who wants to be inside! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upgrade if they have availability they will try to accomodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    217
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
165
817
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When you visit Positano, stay here. You won't need to leave the hotel. The views are amazing - you can see everything. There's a pool, friendly service, a great restaurant (including a massive breakfast spread and endless cappuccinos), access to a private beach, and cool comfortable rooms. If you have to leave, it is not far to the center of town. Also, the staff is more than happy to make dinner reservations and arrange shuttle service to most places (a lot of restaurants offer this as a free service so you can save on taxis which are expensive). Seriously, the search is over. Just stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I spent two nights at the Hotel Marincanto as part of our European vacation. It was our first visit to the Amalfi Coast and I chose the hotel based upon the glowing reviews that I read on Tripadvisor. I can emphatically say that the hotel exceeded our expectations.
Prior to arriving I corresponded with Antonella about our needs and she handled everything that I requested perfectly, including a room request to accommodate my family, booking transfers to and from the hotel and arranging an excursion to the isle of Capri. Upon arrival she gave me a hand written note detailing the excursion she had arranged took us on a brief tour of the property and escorted us to our room, which had an amazing view of the Mediterranean.
Gianni is the pool attendant and did a fantastic job of not only taking care of our needs but also anticipating them. The entire staff is great. We were always greeted with a smile and made to feel like we were the most important guests at the hotel. Breakfast on the terrace was great, the room was comfortable and overall the stay was an A+++.
I'd like to say THANK YOU to all of the people at Hotel Marincanto for a GREAT vacation stay!

I also want to mention the transportation that was set up to and from Naples. I will provide a review for them but also wanted to mention that our driver really made the the trip a great experience. His name is Franco and his knowledge of the region combined with his desire to make sure that our vacation to Italy was the BEST really added a special touch to our vacation. Thanks for handling the transfer for us Antonella!

Room Tip: Room 260 was in a great location and was comprised of two rooms. Perfect location. Just below the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This review is going to be long - as the smallest details were of such importance! I don't actually know how to review such a wonderful experience, I was so delighted and fulfilled with everything in this hotel - and so sad when I was leaving. The hotel exceeded my expectations by far! The hospitality, service, & staff are truly spectacular, & so personal. We stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel on the 19th of May. First of all the hotel location is definitely the best in all of Positano, I don't think any other hotel would have this heavenly picture perfect postcard view, & its proximity to the beach, & to the center (especially if u use the path that's so near the hotel to get down). From all the hotel's premises, the views were to die for no matter where u were. Superb!! There's an elevator to get u down to the lobby. They also have a staircase which leads u right down from the hotel premises to the beach. I have to emphasize that the hotel staff are truly like none I have come across before (yes even in 5 star hotels). Starting with Anotella - what a wonderful host. So delightful, welcoming and warm. She goes such a long way to make your stay a perfect one, and puts so much effort - always with a bright smile. She went such a long way to make sure my husband didn't miss his football match, his team was playing and it wasn't coming on our TV. She got all fussed about it and contacted Sky and even tried to find an empty room where he could watch it, she even remembered to ask how his team did and apologized again for it not working - i mean after all the trouble we put her through! She even got concerned about problems we were having with booking.com & offered to help with it. Our room was breathtaking! We were in villa #5, it was like a dream. It had a huge beautiful terrace, and the views from it were to die for. The entire hotel has this wonderful Italian charm, but in the villa we stayed in you could definitely see it even more. The beautiful flowers climbing up the walls, the lemon trees & beautiful plants in the terrace, the beautiful simple-rustic-Italian interior of everything. The room was very spacious - went very well with the whole atmosphere of the hotel and of Positano. We loved the room, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little outdated...but facilities worked just fine. House keeping clean the rooms twice a day, with choco's waiting on ur pillows. It was so nice waking up & seeing the sweetest old lady taking care of the plants and lemon trees in the terrace - it made me feel the charm and vibe of the people living in Positano even more. The entire hotel grounds were spotless, everywhere u look someone's cleaning something. I loved the infinity pool and Jacuzzi where u could see the same dazzling view over Positano - it really felt like a dream soaking up the sun in the pool with that view, & the sun deck is great! This brings me to wonderful Gianni - another wonderful staff member, so cheerful and friendly. U can't help but smile when u see him - he's in charge of the pool grounds. He takes care of everyone's needs on the pool & sun terrace, gets lunches and drinks, checks to c that there's nothing else u need, gives u complementary snacks - total one man show! I don't know how he does it with such a shiny smile on his face. It's like he's superman! I have to mention the restaurant & lunch bar - the food was really delicious for the most reasonable prices. Morning or night, the outdoor restaurant is beautiful. And also with the loveliest host (Raphaella I think it was). She's in charge of both dining and room service, and she does it so well. U can feel how much care she actually puts into everything! Our terrace was so addictive that u couldn't help not order room service (which she actually brings herself) & gaze out at the view from there...once we ordered cappuccinos & got complementary delicious cakes with them. These little nice gestures really go a long way. The only negative point I had (which went unnoticed comparing to all the positives) was that their land line for international calls is expensive...but that's irrelevant to the hotel itself. So what else can I say besides thank u...totally worth it and I WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: Go for rooms in villa #5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AreejDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for six nights in a junior suite. The room looked out over the water and had a large balcony with resters, chairs and a small table. The views from the room, from the balcony and of course from other parts of the property were exceptional. The outdoor breakfast area also looked out over the water and was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy your morning coffee. We thought the hotel staff were exceptional and really made a positive difference to the quality of our experience. The location of the hotel is first class. The walk down into the village from the hotel was only about 5 minutes and without too many steps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stated for a week in July, the location of the hotel is fantastic and the views are breathtaking. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay, nothing was too much for them. The hotel has a real Italian charm with all of the modern amenities one would need. The food was really tasty and having breakfast everyday looking out over the sea and Positano was such a highlight. We are going back again this year and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckiLondon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, view outstanding, very nice staff all around. The unexpected extras like a bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival, lemonchello after dinner, pastries with after dinner drinks, etc, etc

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing