We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived at Positano from Amalfi by Sita bus. The stop was less than a block away from our hotel which is ideal. We are bed and breakfast people so didn't know what to expect. From check in to check out our star was great. The breakfast table had everything you need. Cakes, bread, fruit, meats, yogurt and boiled eggs. You could order any type of coffee and tea you like and there was a good seletion of fruit juice. The room was plain with a king size bed, a great bathroom and a nice terrace with a great view of the sea and positano. There were also robes and slippers which we had a good time with(insert imagination here). Everyone greated us with a smile and were always willing to help. A special shout out to Gianni the pool attendant. He was a hard worker and would do anything to make his guest comfortable. Positano was not a restful as Ravello as there is a lot of shopping. There are a number of good restaurants. Bruno is good and very convenient as it is just steps down the street. iL Ritrova was special. The grilled squid was great. Their house wine was very good. I really enjoyed the Mussels with Pasta and beats. The seafood was fresh and tasty. The complimentary Lemoncello will knock your socks off. We were picked up by the free shuttle at our hotel so we didn't have to drive. We also sat with a couple we met in the shuttle. Lou and Kim from Pinehurst - we forgot to get your address. It was a great night.
The little beach at the bottom of the stairs (about 180 of them ) was great. You do get a discount on the umbrellas and the chairs. It is a great place as it is not as crowded as the main beach. We baked and then jumped into the refreshing water. A great day at the beach. Marincanto is a great place to stay. We even tried to book an extra day but they were filled to the brim. Have fun at the Hotel Marincanto.

Room Tip: We had room 223 very close to the pool and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    214
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
159
799
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I are just back from our two-week Italian Honeymoon and we LOVED our stay at Hotel Marincanto. From the very helpful emails leading up to our stay, to the welcome we received upon arrival, to the amazing room/hotel and views...we were in heaven. We took the advice of others and requested an unobstructed sea view and we were THRILLED with the room/view we received. We could see the sea and the village from our balcony. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We asked for dinner recommendations for the three nights we were there and we really enjoyed two out of three. The location is great, too. Almost 300 steps to get to the beach, but well worth it. Also, you can walk into town (without using the the 300 steps) within five minutes. We spent most of our time at the hotel/in Positano, but we did enjoy a day on Capri, too. We hope to be back someday!

Room Tip: Request an unobstructed view of the sea and the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgwchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Hotel Marincanto was in a perfect location! Not too far up the mountain for walking and exactly perfect for the most amazing views of the sea and the city. You can walk down their private descent to the beach and Spiaggi Grande's ground level then take the local bus back up for E 1.80. The staff at the Marincanto were professional and so friendly they truly made us feel like family. They all went out of their way to insure that we had a wonderful stay...and we did! The rooms are all beautiful, charming and special. One of our rooms had a small, private courtyard and a separate French balconey. The other was a suite that had two beautiful ocean front terraces and a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi overlooking the sea. We felt like we were 2 Steps from Heaven and can't wait to go back. Book it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a wonderful room (215) with two terraces that overlooked Positano. The infinity pool is sublime - wonderful to swim with a fabulous view! There are private steps down to the main beach of Positano. The staff are so helpful....couldn't be nicer! We ate lunch by the pool - bruschetta with mozzarella and tomatoes...fantastic. This hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Positano so is very handy for shopping, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a perfect spot. Half way up the mountain in a large room with a day bed, balcony and spa bath. The bed was huge. A little hard, but not too bad. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good. The swimming pool was great, and the day beds on the balcony made this a place of relaxation. I would definitely recommend marincanto as a place to stay.

Room Tip: It was value for money. If you're going to positano don't go on a tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 10 day trip to the Amalfi Coast. After doing considerable research on Trip Advisor we decided to stay at the Marincanto. We could not have been more pleased. The Marincanto has every amminity one could ask for and the entire staff went out of their way to accomodate our every need. We booked a superior double(228) room. It was quite spacious and had a balcony that overlooked the sun deck with a unbelievable view of the sea and entire town. The grounds are georgeous with multiple terraces and a infinity pool with jacuzzi.The morning breakfast buffet was great with an extensive variety of meats cheeses,cereals,yogurt,eggs,pastries and juices. I especially enjoyed simply sitting on the breakfast terrace over a cappuccino or two watching the boats coming and going on their daily excursions. My wife is already planning a return trip in 2014 and we will definitely stay at the Marincanto.

Room Tip: While the balcony was small you could't have better unobstructed views than 228
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmax43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went to Italy in April to celebrate a family anniversary. It rained every day while we were in Positano so we were not able to use the pool or lounge area outside. However the grounds at Hotel Marincanto were beautiful and the view was amazing. The hotel does have a supply of umbrellas to loan out too. We had a double room and a suite next to one another. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Breakfast was excellent-delicious and the breakfast staff was wonderful and very welcoming. We ate dinner at the hotel one evening. The waitress was wonderful and the food was good.

It was a bit of a walk to go to downtown Positano for the shops and for meals (especially in the rain) but there is a bus that loops around town that is easily accessed and drops you off steps from the hotel.

We did take the steps down to the hotel beach. It is quite steep and winding-I think we counted 250 steps. Not for the faint of heart but beautiful. Internet access was inconsistent due to problems so don't count on it.

Don't miss going to the restaurant La Tagliata. You will need reservations and they will come to pick you up. There is no menu and a fixed price. It was by far the best meal we had in Italy!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of Positano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyloveschocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing