We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, wonderful service, amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel - Albergo California Positano to your Saves list
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C Colombo, 141, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, wonderful service, amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in the end of June. It is a great location since you are a little away from the crowds. We got a room on the 2nd floor with a small balcony and amazing view of Positano! The balcony was a little small. If your neighbor was out on theirs you could have a conversation with them. But they have a large terrace on the first floor that makes up for the size.

The service is great! Everyone that we spoke to was very nice, friendly and helpful. The breakfast changed daily and had a nice variety. You could pay extra if you want a larger American breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon). We never tried it since their selection was enough. The bonus was that the bar is open non stop so you could get wine or espresso anytime if the day. We enjoyed a house bottle of wine for only 12 euro and sat on the terrace and enjoyed the view before we went to dinner.
There are 2 things that they could improve on, thus the 4 rating and not a 5.
1) wifi is SLOW!! You couldn't send iMessages or any form of texting. It was annoying since our friends were staying at a different hotel. It took an hour to post anything on Facebook or Instagram.
2) the hair dryer is horrific. It did nothing for my hair. It looked like a vacuum tube contraption.

Overall, I would stay here again just because the price is right. All of Positano is very expensive. I did enjoy my time here but now I know to bring a blow dryer and expect the wifi to be slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove-europ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed at Albergo California for three nights and was extremely impressed. It's high enough up the mountain to give you gorgeous views of the coastline but not so high as to make it tedious as you get down to and up from the the beach for activities and the ferry. The hotel staff was courteous, friendly and extremely helpful and the room was spacious and superb. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel fr 6 nights and loved every moment - and will definitely return there ! Our room was large, with a terrace overlooking the Amalfi coast - it was living in a dream !! All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful - and the bar was open at any time !! Just a wonderful place to stay - highly recommend to anyone who wants a boutique hotel, within walking distance of everything in Positano !

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level, with our own large terrace - it was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Positano for 4 nights and was the first stop of our 2 week honeymoon. We booked a room at Albergo California and we are so happy we did. We loved everything about this place! The staff was so helpful and nice and assisted us with luggage upon arrival and when again we left. This place felt like home. The breakfast is basic but good to start the day. The location is perfect and close to everything especially the beach. We had a balcony room overlooking the water and it was amazing. Wine is priced the best at this hotel and very good. If I were to ever come back to Positano I would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjenny099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Loved staying here. Great location, amazing views, above and beyond service in a warm family run atmosphere. Gianni is a wonderful person. Patient, helpful, always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat. Upon arrival we were shown to our room by his niece Maria and just after checking in we were warmly greeted by the other Maria. This is a hotel that is run a by happy, warm and friendly clan who make you feel welcome at every turn. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed exceptional. You can get a better price if you are willing to sacrifice the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had 8 wonderful nights at Hotel California. There was nothing that we asked for that was too much beginning with Gianni welcoming us as we arrived at 2am to check us in and carry our bags to recommending restaurants, assisting us with train and bus timetables and finally getting up at 4am to check out and help us with our luggage down to the car! Maria at reception was extremely helpful, lovely and friendly.

Our room on the second level was awesome with two balconies overlooking what must be one of the most picturesque views in the world. The room was large and spotlessly clean every day. We had a wonderful cooked breakfast each morning on the terrace where we were always warmly welcomed by the staff.

We slept with the balcony doors open every night and we hardly noticed the street noise and were woken each morning to the sound of the sea on the pebbly beach.

We have been back but 3 days and I am wishing we were still there! I will definitely go back to Albergo California if I was to return to Positano! It was truly delightful.

Room Tip: We had room 58 and would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove there and as soon as we stopped we were greeted and asked if they wanted them to park the car. They did and brought our luggage directly to the room. Check in was fast and friendly. While we were there any questions we had on the area were answered with much information. All of the staff was quite friendly. The room was spotless and the view amazing. WE spent four days there and wished it could have been two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Address: Via C Colombo, 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing