We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Loved staying here. Great location, amazing views, above and beyond service in a warm family run atmosphere. Gianni is a wonderful person. Patient, helpful, always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat. Upon arrival we were shown to our room by his niece Maria and just after checking in we were warmly greeted by the other Maria. This is a hotel that is run a by happy, warm and friendly clan who make you feel welcome at every turn. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed exceptional. You can get a better price if you are willing to sacrifice the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    115
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
76
297
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had 8 wonderful nights at Hotel California. There was nothing that we asked for that was too much beginning with Gianni welcoming us as we arrived at 2am to check us in and carry our bags to recommending restaurants, assisting us with train and bus timetables and finally getting up at 4am to check out and help us with our luggage down to the car! Maria at reception was extremely helpful, lovely and friendly.

Our room on the second level was awesome with two balconies overlooking what must be one of the most picturesque views in the world. The room was large and spotlessly clean every day. We had a wonderful cooked breakfast each morning on the terrace where we were always warmly welcomed by the staff.

We slept with the balcony doors open every night and we hardly noticed the street noise and were woken each morning to the sound of the sea on the pebbly beach.

We have been back but 3 days and I am wishing we were still there! I will definitely go back to Albergo California if I was to return to Positano! It was truly delightful.

Room Tip: We had room 58 and would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove there and as soon as we stopped we were greeted and asked if they wanted them to park the car. They did and brought our luggage directly to the room. Check in was fast and friendly. While we were there any questions we had on the area were answered with much information. All of the staff was quite friendly. The room was spotless and the view amazing. WE spent four days there and wished it could have been two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted Positano to be and our stay at California Hotel was everything I had dreamed of. Maria in reception was so lovely and helpful and everything ( including restaurant bookings, shuttles, transfers) was organised without a hitch. If you are unsure about where to stay in Positano, this hotel was perfect - not too high up as some of the others may be - it's about mid way up the main part. The view was so good we kept looking out and laughing in disbelief and joy!

Room Tip: Room 52 worked well for us but it is the first room on the main terrace so could be noisy with guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We returned to Positano with friends to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and this time stayed at Albergo California.
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely taken outside on the terrace overlooking the sea. The only downside was that, probably due to all floors being tiled and no carpets to deaden the noise, the hotel was very noisy when people moved around, closed doors etc.
We'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnOpinion14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

we spent 7 great days in positano. at the end of may 2014 a wonderful family run hotel ,we were a bit worried about noise as we were on the ground floor,but we needed not have worried sea views are terrific ,lovely room ,great having breakfast looking over positana and the ocean.would not hesitate to recommend ,fantastic place and family. love to come again,robert and carole salomons

Room Tip: we loved our ground floor room, no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful family run hotel for 5 nights and I cannot say enough good things about it! When our stay was up we were sad to leave. The family that runs the hotel is very nice and helpful. Maria was wonderful checking us in, Giuseppe helped with a dinner reservation at La Terra( a must .. Great views and food) and John ( the 5th) was always pleasant and took time to see if we were happy and if we needed anything. Our room was immaculately clean and the AC worked great.. We had a lovely balcony with fabulous views that we enjoyed sitting on in the evening. Breakfast was perfect for getting us started plus you could order off a menu if you desired more but what they offered as a continental breakfast was fine for us. We used their beach towels .. Very nice touch to have those. We spent a day at Fornillo beach .. Cheap chairs and umbrella there plus great little beach places to eat.. It's a smaller local beach and a little farther from hotel but we are in our 60s and handled the walk just fine. We loved Bruno's , Tre Sorelle, da Vincenzo , and chez black ...loved Positano and Hotel California ! This is a great location and we cannot wait to return!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#2 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Property: Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing