We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Positano is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to in my life, and our stay at the Hotel California couldn't have made the experience better.

I'll start with Maria. My fiance and I felt that we had known her our entire lives, even moments after meeting her. She cares about her customers as if they are family. We had three days in Positano with no particular plans, and she guided us to the best food, excusrions, etc. for each day. You really can't put a price on having a local who actually cares that you get the most out of your stay. If it weren't for her we wouldn't have seen half of what we did.

Considering the relatively low price of the hotel, it is an astounding value! I had looked at several high-priced properties such as Le Sirenuse, but couldn't justify the splurge with the bad Dollar-Euro exchange rate. Although Albergo California isn't a 5-star resort, it has such charm and character that I wouldn't care to stay anywhere else.

Our room had a private terrace with a table where we had a wonderful breakfast every morning (with cappuccinos delievered to us directly!). The room was huge, and had every feature a 3 star european hotel would have. But the terrace made it worthy of a 5 star (we were actually next to Le Sirenuse and had the same views others paid thousands for!). It overlooked the beautiful sea and the hillsides of Positano.

I really can't say enough great things about this hotel. The service, value, and views made it unforgettable.

  • Liked — View / Service / Value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    123
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
331
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Everyone’s review of this hotel was right on. We stayed one night there May 17, 2008 but wish we could have stayed longer. The Cinque family and especially Maria made you feel like family. They just couldn't do enough for you. We had a huge room with a domed ceiling and the coldest air-conditioning which was wonderful. Breakfast was great and it was so relaxing having drinks from their bar on the porch looking down over Positano and the water. I had asked Maria to arrange dinner for us at Ristorante La Tagliata and that is an experience no one should miss!

  • Liked — Wonderful room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at the Albergo California recently for our daughter's wedding in Positano. The entire wedding party stayed at this hotel. Maria (the owner) and her family treated us like we were one of the family. They greated us with warm smiles, talked to us at breakfast each morning, and were always around when we needed something. Maria helped with the arrangements for the wedding and the dinner afterwards. (She recommended the La Taggliata restaurant - Excellent!). The rooms at the Hotel California are quite spacious by European standards, with larger bathrooms and beautiful views. The terrace where you eat breakfast is terrific. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Positano (which I hope to).

  • Liked — The views and the family who owns the hotel
  • Disliked — Breakfast choices were the same everyday - maybe add some fruit!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

The Hotel California is clearly the best! It begins with the warm Southern Italian hospitality of it's owner, Maria. She greets you with her warm smile and will guide you with her suggestions on the what to do ,and how to do it in Positano in English and Italian! She will offer suggestions on where to eat and how and when to get there. She'll tell you about each and every event taking place in Positano. She can arrange excursions on land and by the sea! She told us to please not miss Amalfi while there and she was so right. We took a boat to Amalfi and a bus to Ravello , then returned on the Amalfi Drive to Positano by taxi. She served a delicious continental breakfast each morning on the veranda overlooking the spectacular sea and beach. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were luxurious and there was air conditioning. I only wished I could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

When you are here you really are family. The hotel was great, the people were friendly, and the views were stunning. Our room had a 14 foot ceiling, and a direct view of the sea. Positano is a beautiful town with some excellent restaurant. Many of scenes from the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun" were shot in Positano and some of the scenes were shot at this hotel, the bedroom scene was shot in room 62. When we return to Positano we plan to stay at the Albergo California.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing - Great Place
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Amazing terrace, great location, nice breakfast, incredible value. Our room was spacious and clean and had a wonderful view. It opened onto the terrace, which had an ocean view. The worst thing about the room was that it had thin walls, so we could hear the early risers in the morning. Overall, our stay was fantastic -- Maria was the nicest innkeeper, and gave us some advice for visiting the local sights. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel California for two nights the end of April. After travelling through Italy for two weeks - this was our favorite hotel. We actually cancelled our stay in Naples to stay here our last night and splurged for a taxi back to the Naples Airport. What can I say - the room, the view, Maria and staff were wonderful. I wish Maria would hire me so I could go back! It was breathtaking! I miss this place terribly - it's like being in a movie! Planning another trip next spring....

  • Liked — The views, the room and the host!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing