We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, later than expected, and needed immediate assistance with stowing our rent car (The road is in front of the hotel is narrow and one way) the staff came right away to assist and help us up with our luggage. Check-in was a breeze and we were taken to our 3rd floor sea view room.
The view from our room was breathtaking! The room was large, clean and nicely appointed, the décor was simple, but very elegant and very Italian. (And had great AC!)
The hotel is perfectly situated with an 8-10 walk to the beach, and easy access to all ranges of great dining options. Positano has great shops, from clothes to pottery all nearby.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel as though we were staying with friends and family.
My only complaint is the provided Wi-Fi was very slow and only available in the lobby/courtyard area.
Positano is amazing (AMAZING!) We plan to return and we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a sea view. There can be a lot of traffic, but it was never terrible during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsvlbimmerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    121
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
325
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early July and were greeted by Maria at the front desk as well as Antonio. They were very friendly and patient with as as we had 1000 questions about restaurant recommendations, hiking information and bus schedules. Our room was overlooking beautiful Positano. The room is simple and elegant. Very clean and had plenty of toiletries so we didn't really need to buy anything. My husband and I love to shop at local grocery stores and do some self catering on certain nights which they were very willing to help accommodate with plates, a wine cork, glasses etc. Every morning they provide a lovely breakfast and made to order cappuccino or espresso. If I am ever in Positano I would not hesitate to stay here. What's even better is that you share the same exact view as La Sirenuse up the street which is priced over $500 euro per night. Albergo California is a lovely place- do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopgirl1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Albergo California and were greeted by Maria and shown to our large room on the ground floor. We were given information about cost and trips which Maria was happy to book.

Every time we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff who were interested in what we had done and happy to impact any more information we needed.

My husband and I enjoyed sitting out on the verandah for our breakfast.

For us we enjoyed where the hotel was situated - a short walk to the bus stop and just a bit longer to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel only to be told that they did not have a reservation for us and had been turning away clients with Getaroom.com reservations for the past two months. There is some kind of fundamental breakdown in communications between getaroom.com and this property, whereby the hotel is not receiving any information or payment from getaroom.com, even though getaroom charged our card in full at the time of booking. According to the owner, they honour only venere.com reservations - this means that even if you are directed to getaroom through tripadvisor, the reservation will not be honored. We were offered a standard room anyway but were told we would have to pay for it. As we were expecting a room with a view, we opted to stay elsewhere instead.

The family seems very kind and the owner's granddaughter was an absolute dream in terms of setting us up at another property, which turned out to be absolutely amazing. All in all, the situation resolved itself marvellously, but I wanted to make this information available to the many honeymooners who might unknowingly find themselves in a similar situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Hotel California was a fantastic place to spend our honeymoon. While not a luxury hotel by any stretch it had fantastic views from every room and a very friendly staff. They even went so far as to have my phone charger sent to me by ferry to Capri when I accidentally left it behind. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Mama Maria & family and staff made the Perti family from Philly Pa. Feel right at home. I can not say one bad thing about this Albergo. It's a must Place to stay all 6 family members Loved it. We will be Back next year.

Luigi

Room Tip: Any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouPerti81662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing