We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & lovely staff”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & lovely staff”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early July and were greeted by Maria at the front desk as well as Antonio. They were very friendly and patient with as as we had 1000 questions about restaurant recommendations, hiking information and bus schedules. Our room was overlooking beautiful Positano. The room is simple and elegant. Very clean and had plenty of toiletries so we didn't really need to buy anything. My husband and I love to shop at local grocery stores and do some self catering on certain nights which they were very willing to help accommodate with plates, a wine cork, glasses etc. Every morning they provide a lovely breakfast and made to order cappuccino or espresso. If I am ever in Positano I would not hesitate to stay here. What's even better is that you share the same exact view as La Sirenuse up the street which is priced over $500 euro per night. Albergo California is a lovely place- do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopgirl1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    123
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
331
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Albergo California and were greeted by Maria and shown to our large room on the ground floor. We were given information about cost and trips which Maria was happy to book.

Every time we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff who were interested in what we had done and happy to impact any more information we needed.

My husband and I enjoyed sitting out on the verandah for our breakfast.

For us we enjoyed where the hotel was situated - a short walk to the bus stop and just a bit longer to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel only to be told that they did not have a reservation for us and had been turning away clients with Getaroom.com reservations for the past two months. There is some kind of fundamental breakdown in communications between getaroom.com and this property, whereby the hotel is not receiving any information or payment from getaroom.com, even though getaroom charged our card in full at the time of booking. According to the owner, they honour only venere.com reservations - this means that even if you are directed to getaroom through tripadvisor, the reservation will not be honored. We were offered a standard room anyway but were told we would have to pay for it. As we were expecting a room with a view, we opted to stay elsewhere instead.

The family seems very kind and the owner's granddaughter was an absolute dream in terms of setting us up at another property, which turned out to be absolutely amazing. All in all, the situation resolved itself marvellously, but I wanted to make this information available to the many honeymooners who might unknowingly find themselves in a similar situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Hotel California was a fantastic place to spend our honeymoon. While not a luxury hotel by any stretch it had fantastic views from every room and a very friendly staff. They even went so far as to have my phone charger sent to me by ferry to Capri when I accidentally left it behind. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Mama Maria & family and staff made the Perti family from Philly Pa. Feel right at home. I can not say one bad thing about this Albergo. It's a must Place to stay all 6 family members Loved it. We will be Back next year.

Luigi

Room Tip: Any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouPerti81662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful reception and service at this family run hotel. Delightful greeting by Maria who I assumed was the matriarch of the establishment. Bags carried to our room without hesitation or expectation of reward.

The hotel is in a great location. Ten minutes to the main beach area and a ten to fifteen minute walk up the hill towards some good restaurants. A couple of hundred metres to the bus stops.
We occupied two rooms;one double with a sea view and jacuzzi (not requested or used but only room left for the period we stayed) and a triple sea view. Both had private balcony.
The rooms were freshly painted, bright and airy and really spacious in comparison to the smaller "closets" we'd experienced in other parts of Italy. Bathrooms clean and well equipped. The hotel is very well maintained.

One big plus was the presence of a fridge in the room. Kettles and fridges are lacking in Europe but this was a welcome treat. Also drinks supplied by the hotel in the fridge were so reasonably priced. Soft drinks were EUR1.50, a beer was EUR3-4.

Breakfast was adequate with good coffee and some fruit which is not always on offer in European hotels. Second coffee was charged and if you wanted eggs that was extra too but only about EUR3. Didn't eat at their restaurant but drinks were affordable in the bar.

Information on buses, tours, restaurants etc. was delivered with pleasure and nothing was a problem. Beach towels? Straight away we had five. Locked out of the room. Within 1 minute someone was at the door to let us in. Maps, timetables all at the ready upon request.
If I had to add any negative it would be that there is a bit of traffic noise from the road but a couple of ear plugs blocked most of it out.

I loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again as it was not just a place to sleep but also a wonderful experience. The Cinque family make it so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing