We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better location”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Hotel California. After taking two trains and a bus to get there, my partner and I got off the bus in Positano with our heavy bags and was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was just down the road and we could easily walk. Great location, nice hotel and Maria and her family go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. Not to forget, views to die for as well. Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    123
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
331
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stop searching for a hotel! You found it! There absolutely is no better hotel in this price range in Positano! The location is excellent with views over the town and ocean. The hotel has a lot of character and is family run. The rooms are huge, comfortable and squeaky clean! We adored our little balcony and spend a lot of time there with a few bottles of Italian wine. Very romantic indeed! It also helps when you know that the love scene in "Under the Tuscan Sun" had been filmed there!The hotel also offers free parking which is very rare to find in crowded little Positano. Breakfast was nothing special, but the view from the breakfast room and the cappucino's made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stay in Positano at this hotel for 3 nights and had a very comfortable stay. It has a fairly central location (not exactly where the shops and beach are located) but within approx. a 6-10 minute walk. The rate per night is partially reflective of the fact that the hotel is not directly adjacent to the shops or right near the beach. It also does not have a pool which many do (however, this isn't necessary as the beach is close by). Maria and her family were very welcoming and were quite helpful in providing information and recommendations to us. Breakfast is a good selection considering the rate per night and provided fruit, juice yogurt, pastries, and cereal. We loved the cappuccinos made for us each morning (coffee was very good). The only disappointment was that we did not get a room on the second or third floor as the view would have been much better. However, in saying this, our room was spacious and clean. Maria can be quite suggestive of which tours to do or which restaurants you should eat at. We visited a recommended restaurant the first night we were there and were pleased but were not overly impressed. We spent time on trip advisor researching restaurants ourselves in order to make a more educated decison for the duration of our stay and this worked out better for us. As mentioned by another traveller, feel free to book excursions your own way as there are plenty of options (located online and on the beach). Overall, we would definitely return as the value for the hotel was great and we were very pleased with the service.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get the best views. Road runs in front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great. The rooms could use a bit of updating, some loose tiles here and there and the shower is a little hard to use, but the view and service more then make up for it. Drinks are great value! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here on the reccomendation of a friend who has been many times. Positano itselfis a magical place and the staff at the hotel made the stay so much more enjoyable. They welcomed us warmly and carried our bags to our room, we had a room on the third floor with a magnificent view. The room was immaculate and very spacious. The breakfast was excellent and even though we came down late one day they were still happy to accommodate us.
I would highly reccomended staying here, Maria was wonderful.
My only tip would be close the windows after sunset or take mosquito spray as I got some bites.

Room Tip: Request second or third floor - but only if you don't mind stairs there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Everything everyone says good and bad is true...so as a seasoned traveller always have your wits about you.

Pros
Value for money
Perfect large room clean
Close to medieval center of town
Views to die for
breakfast adequate and included in tariff
All rooms on upper floors are beautiful request second or third floor, corner rooms are bigger with 2 balconies.

Cons
On main road so some road noise
Yes..it is true Maria does profit from all her suggestions and her powers of persuasion are strong! So be careful...you don't have to go to the restaurant she suggests or have your washing done or book your trip to Capri through her! There is an element of Italy Bali style here....

However the other family members were lovely pleasant friendly and polite. Yes I would recommend this hotel as overall we had a fabulous time !

Room Tip: Top floors only Romm 58 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Maria and her family could not have made our stay any more comfortable. They helped us organize all of our activities and restaurants. The hotel is in a great location, close to the beach, but high enough to enjoy amazing views during breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing