We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
$433
$421
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
$320
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$400
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Reginella(Positano)(Great Value!)
$278
$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
$316
$307
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia(Positano)(Great Value!)
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
$1,771
$1,483
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Gabrisa(Positano)(Great Value!)
$437
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
419
130
17
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
130
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalbergo californiaunder the tuscan sunamalfi coastperfect locationroom was largefamily owned hotelthe busamazing viewsentire familyfamily runeach morningthird floorbeautiful terracewonderful hotelwonderful stayoverlooking positanoloved positano
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 582 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at the Albergo California with my partner in June 2012 and had a great stay. Positano would have to be one of the most amazing places I have been in my travels. So the California:

The Good - Positano is a town of amazing views but the view from our balcony was the best of them all. The Service was exceptional. The people at both the hotel and in the town were very friendly and helpful. Wifi Service was good, Breakfast and Coffee were great. Clean. Mini bar prices were cheap.

The not so good - The bed was somewhat uncomfortable. No kettle in the room. Depending on your health and fitness the walk back from the beach may be tough. Personally I loved walking through the town on the way back.

A great hotel that I can recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for the old wing and upper floor for a great view. (You'll have to climb the stairs though)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

As previously noted, Maria is very helpful and really goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need. Her staff are incredibly nice and helpful as well. Beautiful views from the room balconies as well as the common outside eating area. The drink and food prices in the common outside area were very reasonably priced, which was a nice feature - it made us actually want to sit out there and enjoy the view. The only downside is the noise from the traffic as the road through town is right below - it's not constant, but it's noticeable. That being said, many hotels face the same issue, I think hotels with views on the other side of the road would be more peaceful in that respect, but am guessing also much more expensive.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We chose this place because we wanted to travel around the Amalfi coast and find somewhere central to base ourselves.

The hotel is quite basic in terms of amenities and the price is reflective of this. Breakfast was included in the price of the room but was very basic (e.g. muesli, cornflakes, pastries and yogurt) but it was ok for us.

It's not a modern hotel in terms of the decor, but very traditional. The room we stayed in was very spacious with lovely views from the balcony. The room lacked some amenities (it had a safe but this cost €2 per day) but items in the minibar were reasonably priced for the Amalfi Coast. The bathroom didn't have a proper shower, so you had to sit to have a shower which could be awkward(!) or have a bath.

Sleep quality was ok but given the age of the hotel the walls were very thin and you could hear everything at times, even the person coughing next door!

Location of the hotel was very good. The centre of Positano & the beach were just a few minutes away, as was the bus stop for Amalfi & Sorrento.

Our room was cleaned each day but I don't think the bed linen was changed everyday that we were there.

Wifi is free on the hotel terrace. The terrace itself is lovely and great to chill out on after a day of walking.

We would recommend this hotel if you would like a central base, with wonderful views.
I give this hotel a four star review because its a lovely (if somewhat basic) family run hotel with friendly staff. A special mention for the owner Maria. She was very friendly and always said hello and checked that we were enjoying our stay whenever she saw us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We enjoyed a two night visit here as our first stop in Italy. The view from our room was spectacular and magical when nightfall came. The staff was always attentive and friendly. The breakfast was very good along with the view. A shower was a little challenging with no shower curtain and a hand held sprayer, but the water pressure was good and there was never any lack of hot water. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were quiet . We would definitely return and easily recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planandcramtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just completed a five night stay at Albergo California Positano and have nothing but great things to say about it. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is outstanding, and the view from our room (and the terrace) is breathtaking. We'd love to come back soon!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews