We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Little Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant Little Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hotel California is a Old but Beautiful small boutique hotel, with an amazing patio with pretty flowers and vines, overlooking the ocean. The location is great, being close to all the local shops & restaurants. The hotel has free WIFI, and you can sit on the beautiful terrace while you catch up on your mail. The room has a fridge, no Tea & Coffee facilities. Safe for 2 Euro a day. Everything is very clean. Breakfast is adequate, and held on the beautiful terrace over looking the ocean. We did find being on the ground floor (with ocean views ) you did get the road noise, and when you where sitting on your patio, you became Joe Public, with other guests passing by.continually - you can reach out and shake their hand. You can for a few Euro more get moved to a higher floor and this will solve the problem. Try going direct to Hotel California when booking. TIP. When coming to Capri, try keeping your luggage light, as most Hotels have steps to climb and unless Hotel knows when you are arriving they wont be able to help you get up the steps. Also some wonderful walks to take, and a day trip to Capri is a must.

Room Tip: Book direct, not through booking portal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qld_Aussie_Expat_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    124
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
84
335
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We spent a week here and would go back in a second!
Positano itself is just an amazing, beautiful place, although a bit touristy when we went in July.
Albergo California is at the top of Positano, about a 5-7 minute walk down to the water. We did it at least 3 times a day so bear this in mind as there are some steep sections.
Every room has a water view, so I could almost stop my review there! But the rooms are simple and clean which is good, as the only time we spent there was to watch the sunset before going out to dinner.
Breakfast is... interesting. A selection of cereals, yoghurt, stewed fruits and some cakes. All very sweet so we were crying out for some eggs on toast (or anything savoury) toward the end.
The hotel also had free wi-fi for guests.
In all this is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed for three nights in this lovely hotel run by a passionate family of hoteliers. They couldn't make our stay more confortable. It is a heritage building so some of the comforts that you find elsewhere may not be there but on the whole a great experience. Could do with providing a snack menu or a room service delivery from surrounding restaurants as the Terrace location has an outstanding view and ambience. A dirnks menus is provided.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_McNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

All the other reviews have said it. Incredible views from the rooms, easy to walk anywhere in town, everyone who works there and especially Maria is professional and you absolutely feel at home. Good breakfast, big rooms, spotless clean. Don't hesitate to reserve here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricfromParis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Has to be one of the best views in the world. This clean, well-run hotel is about a third of the way up the mountain in Positano and our room (and I think all of them) look directly out at the sea and the town below. Room was large and perfectly charming for the setting with tile floor and high vaulted ceiling. When you open the large dark wood shutters, the view just knocks you off your feet. Bathroom is large with tub and shower and plenty of hot water. There is a big and spotless tile patio with many plants where you can sit and enjoy the view or have breakfast. The breakfast offered was light, have had better in Europe but on par generally. Service is very helpful. Maria runs the place and its been in her family for years and she's full of recommendations - be sure to go to the family run restaurant at the top of the mountain she recommends, both in the view and the quality/quantity of the food it is one of the most memorable meals we've ever had. There are fancier and more expensive places in Positano, but I can't imagine you get anything more - certainly not a better view. Location is great for walking through the town, too. Highly recommend, will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Upon our arrival at Albergo California, we were upgraded to a corner room, which meant we had two spectacular views of the Positano hillside. The hotel is operated by the family who owns it and really goes out of their way to accommodate guests, such as making special arrangements for dinner, recommendations for excursions and day trips, extra towels, pillows -- whatever you need, they are glad to help. They offer a lovely and relaxing breakfast on the patio. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evening with a bottle of wine or some creamy limoncello each night. I think there are better values in Positano, but our stay was very comfortable and the staff was very gracious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tygertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Been to this hotel twice. It's has the best view I've ever seen. Large gorgeous marble bathroom, Fantastic food. Very Clean. Service is typical europeon. A place to go for a very romantic special event.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiebyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 39 in Positano
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing