We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel which was as good as it looked”
Review of Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vittoria
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A group of six of us was luckily enough to secure the three top floor balcony rooms with massive balconies, very large rooms and bathrooms and great views of the ocean, the town of Positano and the hills. And everyday we pinched ourselves.

The staff at the hotel Vittoria were the most amazing of people we met in Italy. Words like friendly, courteous, informative, receptive come to mind. From the front desk staff to the breakfast personnel to the room cleaners, we could not fault any. Nor had we cause to look for faults.

The Hotel Vittoria is located at the western side of Positano half way between the beach and the winding road down to the centre of town. Breakfast was clouding in our excellent priced rom rate and was always enjoyable. The hotel does not provide any other meals, but does serve coffee and tea on request. Below the hotel at beach level, there are a number of restaurants associated with the Vittoria. Also within 100m there is a large range of wonderful eating places, within 200m a lot more and of course further into the town centre on the beach quite a large selection to chose from.

Walking to the town centre can be done by a 1/2km walk down the main road or via the beautiful stairway descent to the beach and 300m walk along the beach path.

Highly recommended. For us the icing on the cake for our stay in the beautiful part of the world. The group of us stayed for 10 nights and enjoyed every one.

Room Tip: Being off season the room rate was open to negotiation. To the benefit of all.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Vittoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel - the location is great only a short bus ride to the city centre or a short walk, the views are stunning, even with the partial sea view room. The staff is more than excellent and were more than happy to help out.There is a lovely restaurant in front of the beach just down the steps and you get a discount!! We are so pleased with our stay and are coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaberlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked a room with a balcony and view. Parking is 200m up the road but a porter will bring and take your bags. You need to give 1 hr notice to retrieve your car. Helpful staff,good breakfast and very clean.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a room with a view and balcony - it's worth it to sit out at the end of...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife, 4yr old daughter and I recently stayed at Vittoria.We stayed there on a recommendation from my wife who stayed there 8 years ago. Our room was right on the corner with a massive balcony overlooking the ocean on one side and the hillside on the other. The room was a good size with a large bathroom. Rooms were always kept very clean. Breakfast every morning was very good with a fantastic view. You have to walk up or down a fiew step to get to the street or beach, but thats the nature of Positano.
We will defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arriving at Vittoria our driver called reception to ask them to send a porter to assist with our bags (as the hotel is not directly accessible from the road). Our driver was unhappy with the response from reception; they would 'see what they could do'. In the end we carried our own bags down the stairs.

The room is very sparsely furnished and the bathrooms are very old. No maintenance had been done on the rusting external door next to our bedroom. Nevertheless, the sea view in the partial sea view rooms is quite good. However, there is no privacy on the balcony and when looking towards the sea everyone's balcony is visible. Breakfast is from 8-10, even on weekends. I'm not sure why breakfast does not go later when the breakfast room is not used for any other purpose later in the day and all travellers are leisure travellers. The breakfast is continental but very limited. Putting aside pastries there are 2 cuts of meat and 1 of cheese.

Housekeeping began at 9am on the dot and there is no way to sleep through it. The staff rattle their trolleys along the tiled floors and slam the doors. Unfortunately the housekeeping still managed to miss things such as new soap and extra toilet paper. When we asked reception if some more toilet paper could be placed in our room we were handed a roll at the reception desk. At €135/night this is unacceptable.

When staying here previously there was a lift to the beach. This is now switched off. Asking around the town we were informed that this is the result of a family feud between the Vittorias and the Pupettos (who own a hotel on the beach at the bottom of the lift). It's a pity this cannot be resolved for the benefit of the guests.

After 6 nights in Positano I am adamant there is better value and more smiles available elsewhere in Positano.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IstanbulAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second time to stay at the Vittoria and I was not disapppointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the superior rooms are nicely decorated. The best part of the experience was the fantastic sea view from the balcony. Fornillo beach is 257 steps away and in my opinion is a lot nicer than the main beach (spiaggia grande). When I return to Positano I will stay at the Vittoria again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saorise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will be going back again. Its a clean comfortable hotel set away from the main beach area of Positano..so you havent got all the basts and tourist noise..your closest beach in Fornilla down about 300 steps and its a pebble beach. This hotel is not luxury ..the rooms are basic, sparse furniture with no amenties like a bar fridge or kettle..it has lovely tiled floors...even the single use only rooms have little balconies with views to the town. I really like this hotel because you can walk tot he town via the coastal path..once you get down those stairs ..its a 10 min walk..or you can wind your way down the streets approx 15 mins..there is no wifi in the rooms..only the lobby...I get around this by purchasing wifi from another hotel close by that pops up as in range when I turn my computer on. Breakfast is included and is basic..I have actually stayed in a few hotels in Positano over the years and find most of them are very basic..Positano is a very busy destionation and I think the sad thing about nearly all theh otels that are within a reachable price range for travellers..have not been updated for years..the demand for rooms makes some hotel owners a tad lazy as they know they will always get customers..thats really sad as oneday ..when other destiantions make more effort Positano may see its tourists start to go elsewhere...just a thought..so the wrap up is lovely views, basic rooms, lots of stairs..as the whole of Positano is..access to shops and cafes close by and a place I go back to each year!

Room Tip: The sea view side for sure big balconys.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#17 of 38 in Positano
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Price Range: $133 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing