We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with beautiful terraces and views!”
Review of Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vittoria
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with beautiful terraces and views!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This place is awesome! We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! We enjoyed our terrace so much--such a beautiful view at night, with twinkling lights and stars. The room was clean and just as nice as our room at the second hotel we stayed at, which had a higher star rating and price. This place has a nice breakfast and beach access. The walk to the beach is beautiful--a lot of stairs but that's what positano is all about!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryMarie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    73
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
146
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hotel in good location, be prepared to do some walking to get to beach (447 steps). Great views from room. Bar and restaurant at beach. Very friendly staff .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights early July 2011 in one of the “side sea view” rooms. The room was very large, nice and extremely clean – I’m pleased we went for the upgrade. The rest of the hotel is nice enough. WiFi while we were there was free, you just needed to obtain a passcode for the day. The hotel is not much more than an impersonal B&B though with your normal fair breakfast for the area although nothing hot/cooked and not much in the way of any other services.

Not sure what is going on with the lift. While we there, we were told it didn’t work for going down to the beach, thus giving you quite a lot of steps to go up/down to get there. However on our last night after a few bottles of vino I did press the beach button and low and behold it went down to the beach – I didn’t venture out though for fear of being stuck down there and having to make my way up 160 steps which in my current state would have been unwise. It would be nice to see whatever arrangement fixed as this is surely a big selling point for this hotel.

The hotel is well positioned to easily get to some of the more interesting restaurants in Positano rather than the tourist traps that are down at the port.

The hotel offers excellent value for an expensive area and I would happily return to it again. It was very peaceful after being in Capri.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunkylover53__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Vittoria for a week and our experience was fantastic. The rooms are quite large, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is adequate and rather more generous in variety compared to other Italian hotels. The best part of the hotel is the amazing sea view from the balcony and breakfast terrace. Fornillo beach is a 5 minute stroll away albeit down a number of steps but drinking in the lovely views helps to keep the mind off the walk and also helps control the pasta belly! The hotels location at the top of Positano gives easy access to (in my opinion) the best restaurants in Positano. Our overall experience was so enjoyable that we will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saorise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Gorgeous rooms, gorgeous food, bit of acwalk down to positano but worth the walk, very friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adnyl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Vittoria and overall, enjoyed our stay.

GOOD POINTS
- We chose a Superior room with a sea view which was lovely. The room had a private terrace which was definitely worth the extra cost. It is quite a walk down to the beach, and having the terrace meant that we could lay out on the sun loungers on our terrace if we preferred. The room had both views of the hills with the houses, and also the sea.
- The room was very large, as was the bathroom.
- The facilities were VERY CLEAN, which in my opinion is very important. It was absolutely spotless.
- Service on the front desk was very friendly.
- It is relatively easy to find from the road.
- Rooms have very good air conditioning.
- The beach near the hotel is very nice (albeit grey and pebbley), and has a nice, reasonably priced restaurant. The cocktails were six euros each and delicious.

BAD POINTS
- We were led to believe that the hotel included a lift that took you right down to the beach (valuable in a town where there are hundreds of steps). This appeared out of order when we were there, and when we mentioned it upon checking out, were told that the hotel was under new management and THE LIFT IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. Apparently they have updated their website to reflect this, but I had been going on the Tripadvisor reviews which obviously talked about the lift, and this had influenced my decision to stay at the Vittoria. It is pretty exhausting climbing the steps back up to the hotel from the beach, but it is still manageable. Just a shame the lift is no longer in use as this was a major plus point.
- We were kept awake one of the nights by the occupant of the next room being sick all night long. It sounded as if he was in the same room - that's how thin the walls are.
- Positano is not somewhere to go if you are looking for complete peace and quiet. With all the houses being positioned on the hill, sound is amplified, and there was quite a bit of drilling going on in nearby houses.
- Breakfast is very basic - yoghurt, cereal, cold meats, biscuits and pastries. I would have preferred more fresh fruit or pastries/croissants that weren't filled with jam in the middle. The terrace you sit on is very lovely and has great views.
- The hotel has computers in the lobby but charges for internet. In this day and age, I find it ridiculous when hotels don't include free wifi.

Recommendations:
- Pupetto restaurant on the nearby beach is very nice, with great cocktails and you get a 15% discount if staying at the Vittoria. The caprese (tomato and mozzarella) was delicious.
- Chez Black on the main Positano stretch has lovely seafood and is reasonably priced.
- Request a parking space when you book with the hotel. It is a 5 min walk to the hotel and costs 14 euros per day.

We loved Positano and the Hotel Vittoria was a basic but clean and friendly base. It is reasonably priced compared to other hotels, but it is still a very expensive area when it comes to accommodation.

Room Tip: As for superior room with sea view & terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

comfortable, spacious, quiet, excellent service, beautiful ocean views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#32 of 38 in Positano
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#16 of 38 in Positano
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 38 in Positano
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Property: Vittoria
Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing