We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as nice as 10 years ago!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just as nice as 10 years ago!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This time we came only for lunch. The friendly receptionist welcomed us on telephone, sent the hotel boat to pick us up in Positano centre, and had reserved a nice table for us under the loggia. Very tasty food was served us by polite and friendly waiters, and without unnecessary waiting time. When my little kid did not manage to finish his pizza, they offered us a doggy bag. A few hours on the hotel beach after lunch made this a perfect day! Thank you, Pupetto - looking forward to next time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stoffern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    151
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
82
195
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was nervous going in, as I had booked 2 rooms for our family and read some mixed reviews. We absolutely LOVED this hotel. Very clean, amazing location... I think the best location in Positano... and just a wonderful place to stay with kids. We knew about the 350 step climb down, and that was a fun adventure. A few times a day I would walk with one or more of the kids over to town, while my husband and other kids stayed on the beach- the flexibility was great.
The beach bar next door- Ferdinand's- was fantastic too. We had a great meal at C'era una volta at the top of Positano- the hotel arranged a car from the restaurant to drive down and pick us up in town. I actually think this hotel is a deal for beach front in such an amazing location. Our rooms were 222 and 223- loved them, a clear view over the flowered arbor to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jksdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The best things about this hotel are its location and its staff. Be warned that Positano is very hilly so if you arrive by bus from Sorrento or Amalfi you will need to need walk quite a way downhill to get to most places. For Hotel Pupetto I would suggest you arrive by ferry then walk around the path from the wharf to the hotel because there are no stairs. This was a lovely way to get to the Positano main shopping area each day but it was delightful to be staying away from the mayhem of all the tourists that flock to Positano itself.
Pupetto has its own beach and restaurant. The staff on reception were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room was booked by a tour operator so we were couldn't select it and it was at the end of the building with a sea view from a small balcony off the side of the room. We dined at the hotel restaurant each night and the service was excellent and the view peaceful especially as the sun was setting over the water. Local wines were available at a reasonable price.
If you are leaving by car then you need to climb over 200 stairs up to Hotel Victoria then a few more to access the road. Reception organised a porter to carry our bags for a fee.
The wifi was not available in the room but could be accessed in the reception area and restaurant.
Breakfast was adequate with the usual small selection of cereal, a range of 2 or 3 fruits, and plenty of sweet pastries, cakes and biscuits if you have a sweet tooth first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we were so happy to be back! The staff treats you as guests in their own home and the location right on the beach is amazing. They have a snack shop and bar right on the sand and on the terrace they have a restaurant with great food, wine and a perfect view! Just a short walk to the busy side of town for shopping and more restaurants but we ended up canceling our dinner reservations and having dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights. We also ate lunch both days at the restaurant! We have two small daughters and they were also treated like family. We can't wait to visit Positano again and will surely stay at Hotel Pupetto for the third time!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SbSpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel San Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our family had a great experience at Pupetto this summer. Beautiful beach (and right on it) and a very warm, friendly atmosphere.

This isn't a five star, formal kind of place, but rather a very genuine, warm and immediately comfortable environment. Whether it's the fun bar right on the beach (and nice bartender), the lounge chairs you can reserve right on the water, or the super helpful staff, we found it super inviting and relaxing. While being just 5 minutes from the heart of great downtown Positano (or 10 min from the higher road and many top restaurants).

We loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a fantastic experience at pupetto, on the beach hotel with views and relaxation combined to make a holiday of a life time. Staff and service is excellent, they organized help with luggage which would be a daunting task on your own from either the road or port. Hotel restaurant is excellent, good value and no real need to walk into Positano central to eat. On the beach also you have a choice of bars. As the beach is 400m from positano central it pretty much clears by 4:30-5 when the sun drops behind the sheer rock face and serenity is with you, reminding me much the Rottnest Island feel you get back home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for lunch as we were staying at Sorrento. The lunch was delightful and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food very fresh and tasty, fish amazing and Aubergine parmigiana amazing. Good choice of local wine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#2 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing