We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return again”
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Will return again”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Gabriella was kind enough to take our short notice reservation, room as just what we expected, nice and accomodating staff, good restaurant. This is probably the place you want to stay at in Positano, as it is right on the beach.On the last day they gave us a room for free for about an hourjustfora shower after the beach, before ourdeparture. Positano is a very steap town, reaching the beach can be a long hike, but the walk back to your hotelcan be real pain! Will return again, grazie.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hatet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    168
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
95
229
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel Pupetto is right on the beach, one bay over from the main beach in Positano. We rally enjoyed our stay here - the rooms a basic but good and clean, and perfect for a hotel where you walk out the front door and are on the beach. The hotel restaurant was really good, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The walk around to Positano only takes about 5 minutes, and it was nice being away from the hustle and bustle at night. We had a transfer booked to leave Positano, and the staff were very helpful and arranged for our bags to be delivered to the pick-up point, which was about 25 minutes walk up the stairs / up a lift / up more stairs. There is no vehicle access down to the hotel, so the walk in from the road is a bit of a hike, but it is easier from the ferry in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agluyas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lovely place to start our holiday- staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are pretty basic, but being on the beach makes up for it. It's a 5 minute scenic walk into the port at Positano. Only issue would be the crowing rooster which didn't seem to want to sleep, ever.. Though a few limoncellos erradicated the problem

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffgirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights for a first trip to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. The room was spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the sea. The balcony had a small table and two chairs where we drank cappuccino and ate breakfast while we took in the view. The view was awesome. We could see the mountains, towns and sea all in a glorious panorama. The staff was very helpful especially Veronica and Gabriela, the owner. Breakfast is included and served in the hotel restaurant overlooking the beach. They don't have room service but you can take your breakfast to your room. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening. The food is excellent - check the prices so you're not surprised by the bill. The hotel overlooks the Fornillo beach which is smaller than the main beach. Beach chairs have to be rented at 10E daily - a bit much. We traveled to Positano from Naples taking a train to Sorrento and a ferry to Positano. The ferry is the best way to get to Pupetto since it's not far from the ferry landing. Also you can take a day trip from Positano to Pompeii easily. We signed on to the Path of the Gods hike. Our guide, recommended by Veronica, was Lucia, www.zialucy.it. She was very knowledgeable about the fauna and we enjoyed the trek and views (although we were sore afterwards). We enjoyed our time here and plan to stay at Hotel Pupetto when we return to Positano. One trip is not enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amber9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This place is brilliant. It is a complex with its own private beach and bar/restaurant, and we had a room right in front of the sea with a little balcony and could hear the waves lapping on the shore of an evening. However there is double glazing so it doesn't bother you if the restaurant is noisy at night. Because it is a little off the beaten track slightly away from all the other shops and restaurants of Positano, it is not so touristy and is very peaceful. They have their own parking which you have to pay for, and you have to walk down a lot of steps to get there (about 417, the parking guy told me), but you can go down part of the way in the lift in their sister hotel, Hotel Victoria, and they have a porter who carries your bags up and down for you. Of course this means you have to go back up the steps to go out, apart from the main part of town which you can reach around the headland. However Positano is probably not the best place for a person with mobility issues at the best of times! The hotel is a little down at heel, but perfectly clean and comfortable, and the price is very reasonable for something so close to the sea. It seems to be a family run hotel and sometimes there was no-one at the desk, which is a bit of a worry when your key is behind the counter, but people were very friendly and helpful and when I asked for a lower pillow it was provided no problems. Also, I had one of the cheapest, best meals I have eaten in the whole of Italy at the restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our stay in Positano was wonderful and relaxing. We stayed on the second floor with the most wonderful view of the ocean and beach...each night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves and awoke to the sounds of birds and the ocean. We could not have had a more perfect location for a peaceful and relaxing stay. We stayed 4 nights and found that the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. We ate every meal at the hotel - not only was the food fabulous but, it was the most affordable dining for the quality and quantity that we could see. We had such great and friendly service that we chose not to even seek out other dining opportunities. The buffet breakfast included in our hotel rate was awesome - fresh and delicious. Our room and the hotel were very clean. Our bed was comfortable, bathroom and room large.
We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony as well as the hotel patio watching the sun set and the fire flies light up - it was romantic and magical! We will definitely be back and will recommend this delightful hotel to our friends and family!

Room Tip: Any room with a view is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Pupetto for 5 nights in August 2010 and had an absolutely wonderful time. The courteous staff, the view, the beach and most importantly, the food were the cherry on the top of a magical Italian vacation. Something about the sea air gently infiltrating your room each morning helped to reinvigorate me after a rather hectic travel schedule. Hotel Pupetto is roughly a kilometer walk from port from which most visitors disembark in Positano, which may be a tough hike for some, but I believe Taxi’s are also available.

The stony beach that extends the length of the property is mainly private and affords direct sunlight all day in the summer for those looking to sit back and soak it up. There is a little bookshelf down near the beach with a variety of gently loved books left behind by travellers so don’t feel like you need to pack the classics. Also, leave your euros in your safe, the beach bar and dining area allows hotel guests to charge everything back to their rooms.

Now to the most important part, the food. I successfully ate my way across the beautiful Italian countryside but I found my favourite culinary experiences all originated from the kittens of Hotel Pupetto. The menu, which changed each day allowed me to sample delectable themed dishes from each region of the country, with daily specials that were out of this world. The wine selection is fantastic because, after all, you are in Italy, and suggestions are offered depending on your dish.

If you visit Positano, even for a day, you should very seriously consider Hotel Pupetto. And if you do, seriously, try the homemade calzones, they are to die for.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the water, maybe ask for a room on the higher level so you have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing