We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff”
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Prisco Hotel
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were so happy with this hotel, it was spotless and the staff were exceptionally helpful. My partner speaks Italian which helped but everyone was sweet to me too. The location is fantastic. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonandHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 420 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here early September, 2013. This hotel was part of a package, so I was expecting mediocrity. What we got was an amazing room with an amazing view, great service, and excellent location. Positano is on a cliff, and this hotel is in the middle of the town, halfway up the cliff. This is great, because you can only go up or down, and many restaurants are at the top, while the beach is at the bottom. The room was not luxurious by North American standards, but was large, with tons of old world charm and decor, and we had everything we needed. The view from our balcony was amazing - a great place to sit and enjoy a bottle of Prosecco. Maria and Angelo, the owners, were very helpful in every way. We only hope we can go back some day! Thanks Maria and Angelo for making our stay in Positano wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was recommended by my cousin to stay at Royal Prisco and I was not disappointed. The balcony view is wonderful, the beds are great and the breakfast was very good.. Actually the staff made the best cappuccino I had in Italy.
Regarding the position of the hotel, for me it was very important to be able to walk everywhere and not rely on buses..however, his hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the beach and all the restaurants…If you were staying much further up the hill some people may have to rely on the buses. We did notice lots of people struggling to walk further up the road,.. or waiting at bus stops. We had to do neither.
The position, the hotel staff and the other points I have mentioned make this an ideal place to stay in Positano.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawthorne4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Royal Prisco is a fantastic hotel in a great location with a view of the ocean in Positano. The staff were fantastic, the cleaners did a superb job and the breakfast was very good. For the price this was the best hotel my wife and I stayed during our 3 week honeymoon in Italy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vanman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks break in Positano, having enjoyed our stay at the Royal Prisco Hotel. The Hotel is small friendly and immaculate. It is ideally positioned for the beach and also some of the better restaurants up the hill. Each and every member of staff were very friendly offering great advice, as to what the area offered booking trips and if asked gave their opinion on certain restaurants in the area. Clean towels every day and fresh sheets 3 times in a week, reasonably priced mini bar which was stocked up daily. All in all we had a fab stay at the Royal Prisco and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is really nice. There are spacious rooms, with a beautiful ocean view. The breakfeast in the room is worthy. If you are arriving by bus, you will need to walk around 10-15 minutes, downhill.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdv1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A spacious, well appointed room, a magnificent large balcony, a stunning view. We're off to a good start. The hotel is just above the main square and many rooms offer a magnificent view down the valley to the ocean. The hotel is scrupulously clean and the maid service...fastidious. The only slight criticism we could make was that the breakfast room was a bit cramped and the food, although more than sufficient, was a bit lacking in imagination. It wasn't quite in the same class as the hotel itself. The staff was most helpful, particularly when it came to arranging a car to take us back to Sorrento. Crowds, heavy rain and limited Sunday morning service had us looking for options to the Sita bus, and the hotel arranged an excellent car transfer at a reasonable price.
As many reviewers have commented, Positano is very pricey. We made excellent use of the the deli in the main square area, and brought simple, but delicious meals back to the hotel to enjoy on our wonderful balcony. The fridge in the room was a bonus for us.
Be aware that if you arrive in Positano by ferry, there are a number of steep stairs before you reach the "square" and the hotel is a fairly short inclined walk beyond. One needs to be quite fit if you have any amount of luggage, or you need to arrange a luggage transfer. There is a town bus that connects the Sita bus route (the Amalfi drive) with the town square. Moving luggage from the town square to the hotel is neither far nor onerous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $183 - $1,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing