We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Prisco Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is good, with a short walk into the pedestrian area and onto the beach.

For the price of the rest of Positano, then it could be considered reasonable value, and there isn't a minimum two night stay clause either. The staff were friendly and helpful and the loan umbrellas at the front door are needed in the downpours!!

However, the hotel lacks warmth and charm with sterile decor and clinical finishings; marble hard floors and cold tiles in the bedroom. The breakfast could do with improving, I was expecting something hot (other than toast).

I will most likely try somewhere else on my return here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisox9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Royal Prisco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I are staying here at this beautiful hotel right now, the views from our room/balcony are amazing, we are loving everything about this place, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast (which we chose to pay extra €5, was delivered to our room) is a lovely continental breaky, great location, close to beach but far enough up the hill to have a great view, we leave to tomorrow sadly but will definitely return !!

Room Tip: We had the second floor, room 3 ...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent three nights here in October 2012. Clean room and wonderful service with delicious breakfast. My hosts were wonderful, friendly and interested in me as a person. I was even upgraded for part of my time. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a balcony. It adds to the occasion.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbmadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is in such a convenient location just up the hill (gentle slope) from the main town shops and bus stop. The whole hotel is pristine, so clean from the moment you step inside. We were in room 10 and appreciated the generous room size, the lovely bed and especially the views! The bathroom shower did lack a solid water flow, which the management said they'd look into as the shower was a bit on the 'dribble' end of the water flow spectrum. But that didn't stop us totally enjoying the hotel and the very friendly staff. The breakfasts were to die for. So much choice! Real coffee made to your liking. Great cereal, fresh fruit, pastries and jams, juices, etc. Honestly - don't look past this hotel. It is such a great place. The Internet connectivity is good although you do need to request a new code for every 3 hours Internet usage you use - which is acceptable. There is no charge of this so it's all good. Be sure to complement your stay with the discoverpositano.it walking cultural and food tour. For 25 euro it is great value and will give you a great perspective of the stunning little fishing village.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A lovely hotel with comfortable rooms, a perfect location, and great views. The staff is especially helpful in finding places to eat and otherwise enjoy Positano. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank scs-sherdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A great place to stay and we couldn't recommend it enough. It is so well situated, not at the top but half way down and just a few metres from the pedestrian part and the shops, so you don't have the massive up hill walk back. There is a garage round the corner where you leave the car and the hotel has a reduced rate with them.
The staff were lovely and very helpful and informative. Nothing was too much to ask.
The room was beautiful, large with a great bathroom and jacuzzi and balcony. The balcony was huge and had great views down to the sea below and a perfect setting for breakfast for an additional €5, well worth it. The air conditioning was very good.
Breakfast in the bar area was a good selection of continental breads, croissants, fruit, jam, yoghurt and very good cappuccinos but have it on the balcony! There is an awning that provides shade but it is controlled by reception, so just ask and they will open it by remote.
The only small thing I would hesitate to mention but a small amount of work would achieve perfection is that there was some black mould around the bath seal, it looked unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived late at night and within 10 minutes the night porter (Pascal?) found us a bottle of proseccco and some nibbles for our balcony. A brilliant start to a brilliant holiday. The hotel is well located being half way up and is run by a very friendly crew (ciao-ciao, Maria!). We were especially impressed with the standard of cleaning. They've also got a bathroom you can change in if your flight is a while after check out. If we went back, we'd go for a superior room as the balconies look huge :)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank teresacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bougainville
Hotel La Bougainville
#19 of 38 in Positano
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $127 - $1,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing