We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived and found the position and the room great. The staff were all very helpful at all times and nothing was any trouble. The breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed the bar at night as well. The distance to the beach was an easy stroll and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a value for money experience.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to have the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    206
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
144
323
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Positano in June. We researched a lot of hotels and settled on the Hotel Savoia. I cannot express how satisfied we were. Everybody was so helpful, going beyond what we expected on so many occasions. They arranged our transfers from and back to Naples; transfer from Ravello late at night. We have visited Europe many times and our room here was easily the best we have had. Spacious, balcony overlooking the town, great bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious and offered many items and lovely eating on the balcony.
On our trip to Positano our driver told us that our hotel was family owned, one of only a few in town. He told us because of that, they did not tack on a 10% surcharge on the fee, (which many other hotels charge and pocket for themselves). Another example of wonderful service provided by the hotel.
We hope to return to Positano in the future and when that happens, we will stay at the Hotel Savoia.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cugi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend Susie and I had stayed in Positano and decided to return...as we loved it so very much! We had remembered seeing this hotel and thinking the location was so perfectly located. Once we stayed there...we realized it absolutely was and what we didn't know was the VIEWS from the rooms were gorgeous!! The hotel had done such a nice job of making beautiful Junior Suite bathrooms with arches and so you could fully take in Positano's beauty. Each floor has different tiling which was really beautiful. We had two rooms - one a double and the other a Junior Suite. The Double was very nice - and the bathroom was quite big too. The Junior Suite - was quite roomy and really was lovely...the space was much appreciated after traveling 2 weeks. The breakfast was great and the view of the street and Positano was quite nice. The Staff...the FAMILY was very helpful and fun. It really was a quintessential Italian experience...and the hotel has been in the family for years and you feel the "welcomeness" to their home by everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

great hotel that is perfectly located- providing easy access to the beach and all of the shopping in this beautiful town. we had two rooms with balconies that both overlooked the ocean. magnificent. parking is just steps away. very nice breakfast. free wifi. an ideal combination of price, value, location. perfect. the front desk people were super helpful. i would repeat here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clayton j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights in June 2014. The Hotel Savoia is located just above the square with great access to all of Positano. The room was delightful with a great balcony overlooking the Med and the city Coffee on our balcony each mornin gis about as restful as you can get. The staff, both duingn our trip and in emails before arrival were tireless in trying to provide the ultimate vacation visit including planning our 40th wedding anniversary dinner at Caffe Positano (a gem). Reasonably priced, clean, well located and friendly- what more can you ask for.

Room Tip: You need three days (minimum) to do the Amalfi Coast the right way (slow & relaxed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hays
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last week with my three grown children. We had a quad room which was plenty of room for the 4 of us (even the bathroom was large and had 2 sinks). We had a balcony with a beautiful view of Positano. The absolutely best thing about this hotel was the staff! They were helpful in every way...ordering taxis, recommending restaurants, reserving tables at restaurants, etc. They have a breakfast buffet and a bar that is open till 11pm which was nice at the end of a long day. The hotel is located about half way up the cliff which means it is a bit of a walk to the beach but it is mostly on an incline surface with a few steps (and shopping all along the way). If you are in reasonable shape and take it slow when necessary, it's not so bad and definitely worth the difference in price between Hotel Savoia and the hotels located on the beach. Thanks to all who helped us at Hotel Savoia! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Their staff was most helpful during our independently planned reservation process. Lots of emails in order to get us exactly what we desired. They arranged parking with perfect directions. Parking <50 meters from hotel. Quite the find in the very center of Positano (which is the center of the Amalfi coast). Staff was also most helpful for restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. We upgraded to junior suite in order to get sitdown balcony - actually two balconies with French doors and sea and city hillside views. Room was huge with beautiful floor. Antique trunk for spreading luggage. Whirlpool tub under picture window with view (can you say bubble bath?) and also separate shower for apre beach. Only drawback is that it is on the only drivable street so the balcony and especially the breakfast balcony has motorcycle noise and fumes.

Room Tip: Elevator makes it easy to ask for higher floor. Suites are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing