We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent service, outsatnding location and wonderfull views, Imposible to ask for more. The room was just perfect in size and the balcony overlooking the ocean and the town was breaktaking. In the morning the complementary breakfast was excellent with unlimited expressos fresh made. The Hotel is located in the main street with in walking distance to everything, Positano is an special town and Hotel Savoia will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGICJUAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    222
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
161
354
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were so fortunate to get the last available room at this charming hotel. The staff was very helpful as we made plans and changed them, asking questions repeatedly via email.
The location was perfect! There are no streets for cars near the beach, but at the top of the pedestrian alleys and stairs sits the Hotel Savoia!!! Many hotels are far from the shopping so be careful choosing where to stay as you will be walking up or down stairs and streets. Nothing is flat in Positano except at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muvsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed 7 nights in this hotel, it is in an excellent location, I had a single room and so had a garden view rather than ocean views but still a comfortable room, modern bathroom facilities and the breakfast was good and had a good range of food.The staff could not have been more helpful and were always friendly, this included reception , bar and breakfast, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I found this hotel to be located in a perfect position near the centre so I was able to walk to the shops and down to the beach. The staff were always helpful the room was clean and also spacious enough for 1 person it had a little balcony which overlooked beautiful positano.
After saying all of above I did find little things with the hotel which could be looked into, eg: it does say the hotel has wifi but does not specify that the only place you can get wifi is in the foyer and level 1
The hotel does not have an iron (I know we are on holidays and we should not have to iron) but when you have linen garments with you that need Ironing I could not locate a place that would just iron my garments unless I had them laundered!
Another "little"thing was that the toiletries that they supply you with in the hotel they only supplied shampoo there was no body wash, no conditioner and also no body moisturiser.
In my personal opinion a hotel of this standard should have these little things that I have mentioned above.
After saying all of that I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all there rooms have a room that overlooks beautiful positano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I just returned from a four night stay in Positano. We chose Hotel Savoia from other reviews and agree with the good ones. The location is great. It's a hike to and from the beach, but not too far. We had a quad room which was big, clean and the bathroom was large. The terrace had a great view of the hills. The staff,many family members, were friendly and helpful. We hired a driver from Rome and the 3 hour trip was easy. A bit expensive, but with 4 people it is affordable. I would stay there again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel Savoia was perfect! Four friends traveled to the Amalfi Coast, and stayed four days at the Savoia. The location was fantasitic! Located in the heart of the town, but high enough that we had spectacular coastal and town views from our balcony! We had two suites -- both were beautiful, but different -- each with gorgeous colors, stunning tiles, and beautiful and comfy furnature. We felt like we were in a little slice of heaven. The lobby and breakfast area are both gorgeous, as well. The breakfast area has fabulous views, and tables inside and outside -- just charming as can be. The breakfasts were delicious, and customer service was superb. Furthermore, we could not get over thed price, considering the lux accommodations.

Room Tip: Both of our suites were spectacular -- rooms and views. My sleep quality was excellent, but I rated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnpilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I just left the hotel today and I couldn't take another minute there.

Pros
The breakfast was pretty good, the wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The women at the front desk were always smiling and very nice. The AC was great and the room was big.

Cons & Misc. Info
If you are an early riser and don't plan on spending any time at the hotel then maybe this hotel will work for you. I was on vacation to relax and sleep in past 8. Every morning I woke up to loud footsteps in the hallway, the cleaning service yelling to each other, the sound of moving furniture skidding across the tile floors and heavy traffic zipping by the street below.

The neighboring room's shower and toilet sounded like it was ours, right by the head of the bed. The walls are beyond paper thin, the shower doesn't get past warm, the decor is out dated. I read the reviews and thought, oh people must be over doing the complaints, it can't really be THAT bad, not the case. The exhaust from the street was very pungent and made sitting out on the balcony unappealing. If I were to visit the Amalfi coast again I would stay in Ravello or Priano.

The bed was very uncomfortable, and it was actually two twins pushed together, which is common in this area for some reason. I could feel the springs digging into my side when I woke up in the morning. The pillows were old, flat and

The beach in Positano was inundated with tourist, great for younger people (late teens and early twenties), single people and families, but definitely not a relaxing romantic getaway. The Buca de Bacco hotel on the water looked like it had a great view and it was away from the noise of the main road, also the Hotel Palazzo Murat was very serene when we walked in and checked it out. If you read about steps to get to a hotel, that is a good thing, that is ensuring you will be off the main noisy street.

The commute to get to Positano is quite far. We flew into Naples and took the bus for 10 Euros each to Sorrento, then we took the Sita bus for just about 4 Euros to Positano. It took about 3 hours to get there from the airport. On the way back we took the train to Naples from Sorrento that was a bit faster, we used our SITA art card. You can buy an "Art Card" in Sorrento at the magazine shop on the bottom right hand side of the train station for 32 Euros. It will get you three days of unlimited train, bus, and (restricted) boat transportation throughout the Amalfi coast. The card also gets you FREE entry into any museum in the area, we used it for Pompeii. The hotel was about a ten minute walk down the hill from the bus stop, It's the second stop in Positano. The first stop is Positano upper, you don't want that one. Be careful if visiting Sorrento at night, the last bus leaves for Positano at 10PM, the taxi's wanted 75 Euro to take us back to Positanto and they didn't drop us off at the lower part of the city, which is a twenty minute walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevator or the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GlobeTrotterCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing