We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good position, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good position, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is a very short walk from the bus stop and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was served in a comfortable dining room and it was adequate but the pastries (especially the shell shaped ones) that we enjoyed with our cappuccino were absolutely delicious! Do not miss out on them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writer006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    216
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
148
342
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just a five minute walk to the beach. However, what make this hotel stand out from the many others I have stayed in is the wonderful staff. They were friendly, helpful and in general, superb hosts. I will always have great memories of my stay in Positano, and much of it is due to the fine stay at the Hotel Savoia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, some rooms have multiple balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedeparted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved this hotel!
Perhaps it reminded me of my first trip abroad when I was ten. The cool, painted tile floors, the candlestick bedspread and the smell of soap in the air! Yes, it's old school, but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. Everything was absolutely spotless. The rooms were basically decorated, but incredibly clean. We had a balcony overlooking the valley, leading to the sea. It was fascinating to watch the weather change over the top of the mountains.
We were treated to a bottle of Prosecco on our arrival, which was a lovely surprise. All the staff were friendly and helpful and although the evening restaurant was closed for the season, breakfast was a standard, but sufficient affair. Fruit, pastries, eggs, yoghurt and toast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's fairly central location and cleanliness. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJH190576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I was pretty satisfied with our choice of booking this hotel as it was close to cafes and restaurants and the fact that its higher up on the cliffs gives you lovely views of the coast and the rest of the colorful town. The rooms were ok, not really modern but clean and a decent size, specially considering how little time we spent in it. I would have loved to have a front facing ocean view balcony but they were all booked. However, we still had a side slice view of the coast and great cliff and town views so I was happy with that. The staff was nice and helpful and made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looks a lot like it's pictures, but it is not 500 metres from the beach (unless it is measured straight up) it is a winding walk, uphill, about 10 mnutes. don't freak out when guys on little motorbikes with a little luggage cart on back take your luggage. (make sure cart says it's from the city of positano) they are NOT from your hotel, but they ARE from the city, they don't even give you a receipt, then they disappear under a tunnel with your stuff. they are legit, but it is scary, keep your computer bag and purse, and really, it's not such a bag walk up to the Savoia, so if you are wary, and you have wheels on your suitcases, keep your stuff. p.s. it is not free, like 4 euro per bag.
thye are friendly here and helpful, and the breakfast room is beautiful, and so is the breakfast. i would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the hill and ocean there was a loose plate in the road under my room, and they ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gigicleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. We absolutely loved Positano and were made up with Hotel Savoia. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel extremely welcome and the ladies at the Reception desk gave us plenty of advice on where to eat and day trips etc. When we arrived at our room we were surprised with a knock on the door and a bottle of bubbly as a little gift from the Hotel as it was our honeymoon. The views from the balcony were stunning and the room was spacious and very clean. The location of the Hotel is ideal and you can easily access the town and the beach as well as boats to take day trips to Capri, Sorrento or to a small bay in the rocks. Perfect!! Breakfast was great and there was plenty. We even enjoyed breakfast brought to our balcony one morning which was fantastic. We were sad to leave Positano and Hotel Savoia but we know that we will most definitely be returning soon. An all round wonderful Hotel, we would thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimplyCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Positano for 4 nights as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy and we would say by far this was our favourite spot. The hotel was incredibly clean and the view was second to none. Emila, at the front desk was absolutely wonderful! She helped to arrange a trip to Capri for us and every day would give us recommendations on where to eat dinner - all of the restaurants she suggested were fantastic. She certainly added to our wonderful Positano experience. This hotel is located on the main street within walking distance to the beach and lots of shopping. Breakfast was very tasty and offered lots of variety. Thank you Hotel Savoia and Emilia for ensuring that we will definitely be back to stay at your hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#6 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing