We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Grassi Junior - Positano Boat services
from $112.14
More Info
from $672.86
More Info
from $672.86
More Info
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
65
9
2
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
9
2
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grottos green grotto day trip nice trip swim stops marina piccola paid euros highly recommend this company an amazing experience these guys private tour highlight of our trip skipper caves towels ciro coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

We rented a Grassi’s boat for 7 hours for a total of 340 euros. At a first glance, the boat was very old and gave us immediately a sense of instability and insecurity (e.g. tape applied to the engine, no fire-extinguisher on board etc.) Additionally, because of a tiny 3 hours autonomy of the boat (out of 7h for the rental), we decided not to navigate too long to avoid being stucked in the sea with no fuel. We hence stopped in a beach next to Positano where dozens of other boats were parked. After a few hours, a black smoke came out from the boat, we immediately panicked and we demanded the boats nearby for some help. Luckily, a guy got on our boat and removed the tank of fuel avoiding any contact between the fire and the gasoline which could have provoked an explosion. Afterwards, we called the owner of the Grassi’s boats to come rescuing us. Once the owner arrived, he blamed us for what happened and for having parked the boat at less than 200 meters from the coast (that was a no sense statement because 30+ boats were parked at the same distance and we were the ones liable for any potential fine from the Italian Navy). After he realized that the wires of the boat were completely destroyed he finally understood that we had no responsibility. Moreover, instead of asking how we were feeling or apologizing for the huge risk incurred, he was only capable to say: In 25 years I never experienced such a problem. In the end, he brought us back to Positano encouraging us to arrange the situation with the ticket office. We therefore demanded the personnel of the office to receive a full reimbursement for what happened, receiving a negative answer and, once more, not a single word of apology. After several complaints, we received an insignificant refund for the time we couldn’t terminate the boat rental, and, when we asked to talk with the owner we have been told to come back in the evening. (impossible for us because we had a ferry to catch). Moral of the story, we spent a lot of money for an extremely poor and dangerous service, and, if it wasn’t for the prompt intervention of that person that got on our boat to help us, I don’t want even imagine what could have happened.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank carlorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise55819824985, Public Relations Manager at Grassi Junior - Positano Boat services, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are a serious and reliable rental company and we operate in Positano with a fleet of 15 boats since 1950.
The boat in question is rented every day from March to October and we have never received such negative reviews ... indeed it is among the most requested and appreciated boats.
As for the rental on August 17th we specify that:
- the boat was booked full day (7 hours) by the gentlemen who, however, requested to stay less time before leaving, which is not possible as it was already booked for the whole day. Perhaps they were already biased and willing to ask for a refund or return earlier?
- The boat had fuel needed for a full day rental and customer fears were unfounded
- the technical failure that occurred (extraordinary event) could also depend on the incorrect use of the boat that the customers themselves made (we found some cut wires that at the start, when we delivered the boat, were functioning properly).
- We have an efficient geolocation system of our fleet and at their request for help we promptly intervened, also finding irregularities: they were less than 20 meters from the coast, even if we had told them to keep at a safety distance of 200 meters, as per legal provisions.
- Customers were quietly taking a bath ... they were not in any dangerous condition when we intervened.
- We have not requested any compensation for the technical damage to the boat ... indeed we have also reimbursed them despite having returned only half an hour before the regular return.
We honestly believe we have done everything possible to ensure a quality service and the unexpected technical failure occurred, we intervened within 15 minutes (in the middle of August) restoring the vehicle and guaranteeing a safe return.
We also granted a refund despite the damage received ... what should we have done more?!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We very much enjoyed our sunny trip from Positano to Capri with Grassi Boats. The captain was friendly and knowledgable about the area and we had two swim stops and several views of the beautiful grottos. Unfortunately the Blue Grotto was too crowded to visit. This is a great way to travel to Capri and see the amazing coastline. Once at Capri we had leisure time for lunch and shopping. I would highly recommend this small group excursion by Grassi boats from Positano to Capri.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank PPSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

Perfect way to explore the Amalfi Coast from the water, we enjoyed cruising from Positano to Amalfi with several swim stops along the way. Loved the anecdotes from our skipper Gabriel as he recounted tales of growing up on the coast and learning about the history and significance of prominent landmarks. Ended a perfect morning being dropped at Da Adolfo for lunch,

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank MMJJJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

We enjoyed a sunny day at sea with our captain and fellow vacationers. We stopped to swim and got a good peak at a few beautiful grottos. We had time on Capri for lunch and shopping. The piers in both Positano and Capri were very busy so there was some waiting to dock, but that is what you would expect in the summertime.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank michelemjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

We had a wonderful time on our boat ride! We left out of Positano and traveled along the coast. Our captain was an excellent driver and drove us into a cave on the water! Despite the choppy water, we felt completely calm and enjoyed our experience. Our captain took us to a nearby town in Amalfi that was absolutely stunning. Incredible experience and one of the highlights of our trip!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank dctalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews