We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Highlight of Our Italy Vacation!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swirl The Glass

Swirl The Glass
Ranked #12 of 42 things to do in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swirl the Glass, private wine tasting experiences. Share the well-kept secret of Italian wines from local and lesser known vineyards with a professional Sommelier.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Our Italy Vacation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our family traveled throughout Italy for two weeks - but by far our favorite day was traveling with Cristian to the wonderful “Tenuta San Francesco Tramonti” winery. Cristian was beyond knowledgable about the various wines, and the family owned winery made us feel right at home. The family cooked us course after course of delicious authentic italian food to pair with our amazing wine.

A wine tour with Cristian is a DEFINITE MUST!!!! We will remember the experience for years to come.

Thank you Cristian!!!
-The Alvino Family

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAlvinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a wine tasting at Mamma Rosa with Cristian and we loved every second of it. Cristian professionalism and knowledge is just incredible. We learned so much...Thank you:)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

My Husband and love leaning about new wines and enjoy tasting them more obviously. We came across Swirl The Glass and Cristian by asking in the local wine shop in Positano about any wine tasting we could do during our stay and she recommended Cristian. Well I have done a number of wine tastings in Australia and in my travels across the world and the wine tasting Cristian took us through was by far the best we have ever done. I have never met anymore more knowledgeable about not only his own country and regions wines but he also knew all about all other wines across the world including Australian wines and regions, from grape varieties, best year of make, how the wine makers make there wine including the type and shape of the barrels they use to age the wines.

It was such a fun afternoon, we asked so many questions and he was friendly, progressional and so helpful in everything. We did the wine tasting course in a restaurant before it opened and it was just my husband and I, three wines from Campania, antipasto to try the wines with and Cristian one of the best things we did in Positano. If you are into understanding all about wine or just like drinking it this is a great experience.

Plus, I also asked about a cooking class and Cristian organised for me to do a cooking class with the local chef in his new restaurant before it opened and that was also an fantastic experience, if you are planning a trip to Positano look up CASA MELE it should be opened by the end of the month.

Swirl The Glass is a do not miss when in Positano.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect addition to Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I arranged a wine tasting with Cristian during our stay in Positano. We tasted three different wines--a sparkling Prosecco, a crisp regional white made with extremely rare 200-year-old vines not susceptible to phylloxera, and a spicy regional red made with Aglianico grapes. Cristian did an excellent job of sharing information about the wines we tasted and the region's winemaking tradition. He encouraged us to ask questions and answered them with care. He obviously loves his work, and he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience not just because this is his job, but because he knows and appreciates Italian wine and he wants to share his knowledge and appreciation with others. Cristian's wine tasting was among the best we've had (and we've participated in wine tastings all over the world).

A couple of days after the wine tasting, we arranged to go with Cristian to a nearby buffalo mozzarella farm and a vineyard practicing organic wine-growing and making. It was a fascinating day filled with friendly people eager to share what they do--produce outstanding products on a relatively small scale with an eye towards sustainability. After visiting Viticoltori De Conciliis and tasting the Naima, I have a new favorite red wine. Again, Cristian went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience. It was a real pleasure to spend a day with him. All in all, our time with Cristian made it difficult to leave Positano. We came to love the region the way Cristian does.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tramonti wine tour was highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We contacted Cristian Fusco on Saturday and he pulled his strings with local wineries to arrange a tour the very next day. We had a private tour of the Tenuto San Francesca Winery with the owner Giordano whose passion for the land and the wine was very evident, and made for a special day.
Highly recommend...but don’t skip breakfast!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyGizzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swirl The Glass also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Swirl The Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing