We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and sophisticated B&B”
Review of Casa Buonocore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Buonocore
Ranked #19 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Elegant and sophisticated B&B”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Casa Buonocore is exquisite. From the moment we arrived I felt like we had walked into a local’s summer villa or walked on set at a luxury homes magazine photo shoot. If you were to stay in another hotel, yes it can be luxurious but it is still a hotel full of tourists and you feel like a tourist. The ambience of Casa Buonocore is very different and therein lies the charm. It is elegant and sophisticated, secluded and peaceful. The service is still 5 stars but instead of being one of 200 guests, you are one of a select lucky handful of discerning travellers. Our hosts (particularly the lovely gentleman that greeted us warmly each morning at breakfast) were very friendly, polite and helpful without being intrusive and their attention to detail was very impressive.

Breakfast was simply stunning. The owners are gourmands and clearly enjoy the finer things in life and their guests certainly benefit from that. The selection was extensive, homemade, fresh and only the best quality produce was used. And the patio where breakfast was served was peaceful and relaxing. Shaded by lemon trees and beautifully scented flowers along with a little herb garden (the herbs used in my omelette were handpicked straight from the garden!). Potted plants and several lanterns were scattered beautifully all over the outdoor patio and furniture and ran up the stairwell and it was quite magical returning home of an evening and arriving at the candlelit Casa Buonocore. Very special.

We stayed here for 6 glorious nights (4th-9th August, 2013). We also stayed 3 nights just up the road at the Hotel Marincanto and 2 nights at the Hotel Minerva on the island of Capri (please refer to my other reviews).

Casa Buonocore does not have a pool or the quintessential postcard view of Positano but it more than makes up for that in every other way to make your stay here a very memorable experience. We stayed in a standard room with a small balcony. The room was impeccably clean with beautiful bed linen and simple designer décor. It was perfect for our needs. The B&B is exactly as described on the website. It surprises me that you can actually find such an elegant and sophisticated B&B at this price point in Positano. It is worth every cent. A lot of the other hotels are more expensive and you pay a high premium for the view, having a pool, a gym, a spa etc etc but if you don’t need those why pay for them? And many of the hotels in Positano sell themselves on old world glamour but in reality that translates as outdated and tired looking rooms. Casa Buonocore is different. It is contemporary but still steeped in tradition.

For a touch of the dolce vita lifestyle without feeling like a tourist I would highly recommend Casa Buonocore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobram, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are reading this review then congratulations on finding Casa Buonocore. My advise would be to stop looking any further and book this beautiful B&B as it will not disappoint. It is an absolute gem in stunning Positano.

I have to admit I was a little concerned about staying at a B&B rather than a hotel but Casa Buonocore feels more like a beautiful boutique hotel than a B&B. In fact I have stayed in a few 5 star hotels which don't even come close to the standard here. Sure there are no restaurants or spas but the personal experience here more than makes up for that.

The renovated house is absolutely gorgeous as are your hosts. Rooms are spotlessly clean, superbly decorated and serviced daily with varying levels of size and view. If you want a sea view then be sure to book the larger upstairs rooms as very little sea view from downstairs rooms. Ours was downstairs as upstairs fully booked but it was still very lovely with spacious private terrace.

Breakfast served daily on the terrace was superb with so much effort put into it.

Sandra and her team are all an absolute delight and were more than happy to help us in anyway possible way, from restaurant recommendations, organising tours, drivers and even laundry. Thank you so much to all at Casa Buonocore for the beautiful memories of Positano it has left us with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Of all the places in France, Spain, Greece, Turkey and Italy we've stayed in over 6 weeks, Casa Buonocore is the highlight of our trip and by far the best.
Do whatever you can to stay here, it's worth every penny. Haven't seen any real value in Europe but Buonocore's manages to make every moment count. The rooms are sensational. The interior design bewildering and makes coming 'home' a pleasure, location can't be beaten, breakfast - you have to be kidding if you have had better. There is no better breakfast in Europe.
Little touches that go a long way like a beach bag with two towels in the closet for your use when you go to the beach, loved it, the fruit bowl in your room with beautiful fresh fruit replenished every day, loved it, bowl of sugared almonds, nice touch and towels smelt sensational too.
Owners are lovely people and clearly know how to do things. They have taste and obviously care about what they do.
So so SO happy we stayed here at the end of our trip as they have set the bar high ad definitely given us an stay worth remembering.

Room Tip: Request rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spadeaspade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Casa Buonocore for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the terrace was a lovely place to have breakfast or simply enjoy a drink! The hotel is in a great location, very close to the shops, main beach, and bus stops. The owners and staff were lovely and were more than happy to give recommendations about restaurants and sights. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Our room was closest to the terrace and it was a little loud in the mornings, so best to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Buonocore for 5 nights in a double room with an extra large terrace and 2 sun beds. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our very friendly hosts and a magnificent glass of freshly squeezed pear juice, infused with lime. Our room was tastefully decorated as is the rest of the property (there must be an keen internal designer in the family). The room was clean and the bed and sheets were exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, a large spread of quality local products; the best we have experience to date. The best part is that the family live there, so they come and go as do their friends and you get a real sense of what it is like to live in Positano. Many a times as we were on our way out to dinner, we would walk past the entire family fussing about in the kitchen preparing their dinner, it made you want to be apart of it. My advice, skip the big hotels and try something smaller and perhaps even more a little authentic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZJTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A beautifully restored luxury villa in the center of Positano near everything (the beach, shopping, restaurants). The attention to detail is evident everywhere, the antiques around the villa and in our room amazing. Our room was large (a large sitting area about twice the size of the bedroom, a small balcony looking out to the sea, a large and comfortable bathroom) with high ceilings and plenty of light. Breakfast was served on the villa's intimate veranda and was both of excellent quality and plentiful (and the owners can make eggs or almost anything you'd want that's not on the buffet). Speaking of the owners and staff, absolutely the best: Friendly, knowledgeable and discreet at the same time, they were the perfect hosts. There is no parking but the villa has a special rate for its guests at a nearby parking garage (parcheggio di giovanni, about 60 meters down fom Casa Buonocore) and it worked fine for us. Just a word of caution, the steps up to the villa, about 3 flights, would be a challenge for some (as would Positano overall, though).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmousiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked our trip to the Amalfi coast on summer and most of the hotels were fully booked when we were making our reservations.

After searching and searching again, appeared to me Casa Buonocore as an option (in guesthouses and B&Bs) but it still didn't have much reviews or comments about it. My husband and I decided to take a risk, since all the few reviews were great and the website was well designed and had beautiful pictures of the decoration.

Arriving at Casa Buonocore was such an amazing surprise, its a small estabilishment, taken care by a family, with lots of beautiful minimum details all around, excellent service, happy, helpful and loving staff!

The decoration is beautiful, the breakfast is from other planet and you feel cozy and well treated all the time! The location is great and you can find some of the items of the decoration in their store on the street level.

We were really amazed with everyting!!!
Hope we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebalbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 38 in Positano
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Buonocore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Buonocore

Property: Casa Buonocore
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 77, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Buonocore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing