We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property in Positano!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence La Dolce Vita
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best property in Positano!!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

La Dolce Vita was an amazing place to stay! From the delicious cappuccinos in the morning, made by Vincenzo, to the stunning views of the sea - this place was a dream come true. The rooms are incredibly spacious with lovely new bathrooms, decorated with blue ceramic tile. The showers have nice hot water and excellent water pressure. Breakfast is served each morning with delicious fresh fruit or tomatoes depending on the season. I can't say enough good things about the hotel and Vincenzo the host, who is very gracious & kind. La Dolce Vita is well-worth every stair!! The best part was hearing the sea lap against the shore while you sleep with your doors/windows open. A little piece of heaven!! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: As all the rooms face the Sea, you really can't make a bad choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at la dolce vita. Our room was beautiful with a large balcony looking out to the sea. The owners were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on activities and restaurants that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. We would definitely recommend staying here to explore beautiful positano. There are quite a few steps to the hotel, but if steps are a problem for you, then you shouldn't visit positano!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband son and I spent a delightful night and wonderful conversation over breakfast at La Dolce Vita thanks to Maryse and Vincenzo (who makes a great cappuccino l might add)! Regret that we only stayed one night. Most comfortable stay we've enjoyed so far! Fitness center? Those stairs will have your glutes tightened up in no time!! No swimming pool just the beach front with lovely blue ocean and marvelous view.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all rooms face the ocean. The rooms we had, (without special request) both had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here our first two nights in Italy, very charming, Positano right outside your door, the view was fantastic. Maryse and Vincento were very gracious and helpful, our room was huge, and the breakfasts were fresh and delightful. Should have stayed much longer...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at La Dolce Vita in late September and thoroughly enjoyed it. Maryse is a charming hostess and the room (with the bougainvillea over the outside sitting area) was large, clean, and well-appointed. The Fornillo beach is a pleasantly smaller beach just around a point of land and perhaps a 10-minute walk to central Positano. If arriving by car, one uses the Ma Cri parking facility about halfway down the one-way main street from SS163. It is over 300 steps down to La Dolce Vita (LDV), but a porter (on salary from LDV; Maryse says no need to tip) carries your bags down and back up when you leave. I noticed that one of the main hotels advertised that it's only 900 meters from the beach; at LDV, you listen to waves gently breaking on shore! Don't be put off by the steps down; your every move in Positano will necessarily involve continuous climbing up and down anyway. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The room with the bougainvillea on the pergola is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a real luck to find this wonderful place to stay. The room was surprisingly - quite large and decorated with taste. Compared to other hotels that offer smaller rooms at triple the price, and adding the breathtaking view, it was the best possible choice.

The hotel is located just over the smaller beach, and easily accessible by stairs from both directions up and down. Not being located right in the center of Positano, you get absolutely no noise; all you can hear is the waves and some occasional boat horns. We had the best sleep, even though we kept the window open all the time.

The beach is a few steps away, and our favorite "da Ferdinando" beach bar is just steps away.

We only stayed 3 nights in Positano, but we plan to come back next year and stay longer.

Doru & Alexandra

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moisadoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This holiday was a surprise to my boyfriend for his birthday. It was difficult because a lot of the hotels and b&bs were really expensive... Positano is the most magical place I have ever been too,so I was not surprosed about the prices! However, when I saw La Dolce Vita, it was in my price range, right next to the beach and sounded perfect. It didnt have many reviews as it had only just started out, but I thought I would take the risk. And I am SOO happy I did! Maryse owns it with her husband and they are the nicest people... the hospitality was incredible. I asked for rose petals for the room and when my boyfriend open the door to our room on our arrival, there were rose petals on the bed and champagne waiting for us. This whole experience will be one that I will remember for a long time. And I hope to return there soon... possibly a long way in the future on my retirement? You will enjoy every moment. Do not hesitate to book there, it will be well worth it! Enjoy x

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccap186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#16 of 39 in Positano
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Dolce Vita

Property: Residence La Dolce Vita
Address: Via Fornillo 31, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Dolce Vita 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenery is amazing, the beach of Fornillo is set between steep mountains green hills and the beach. The house used to be a simple fisherman's house,once the only one on the beach. Now, the house offers 6 comfortable bedrooms on two levels,facing the sea, full south, with balcony or terrace or garden, bathroom with shower, fridge, air conditioning and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing